We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Month Experience.”
Review of El Madrono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
El Madrono
Ranked #38 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3 Month Experience.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

People often only spend a night or two in a hotel, and the positive or negative experience in this very small sample determines one assessment of it. I had the opportunity to spend three months in El Madroño. This allowed me not only to fully enjoy the hotel but also the excellent service and the Salamanca neighborhood as a whole. My stay was perfect, from check-in in Nov/13 to check-out Feb/14. Staff very attentive to my needs.

The rooms are modern and functional, exactly what you see in the photos! Breakfast was delicious, with various Spanish and International favorites. The location is great with the Diego de Leon subway station close by and at least 10 restaurants in a two block radius.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ecutrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for taking your time in writing an opinion about our VP El Madroño. It is an honor for us to read that you had such a pleasant stay during this long period in Madrid. As you have mentioned our establishment is a perfect choice for longer stays due to its spacious rooms with kitchen facilities. Thanks for highlighting our professional staff that made you feel like home and the excellent situation of our hotel, close to a big variety of restaurants and the metro stop “Diego de León” from where you get to the historical center in about 10 minutes.
We hope to welcome you back at VP El Madroño or in one of our other hotels in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    214
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
154
246
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Excellent service and very helpful staff speaking both spanish and english.
The rooms are spacious, around 35 m2, and has a little kitchen with microwave, a stove and the most essential kitchen utensils for making your own meals.
The hotel have a fantastic breakfast for under 10 euro. Lots of local cheeses, different pieces of ham, fresh fruits and lots of pastries. Its is also possible to get a tortilla of your choise.
It's located in the center of Madrid in the "barrio" Salamanca. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants nearby. Also there is a Metro-station (subway) just 100 m from the hotel.
Free internet in all rooms, but it can be a bit slow sometimes.
Nice, clean bathroom with a shower. Cable-tv. Air condition was a bit noisy sometimes.
It was overall a very pleasant stay for 13 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjornHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for your excellent opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms including a modern bathroom and kitchen facilities. Thanks for pointing out the variety of our breakfast buffet with the possibility to order a hot plate of your choice and the situation of our establishment in the Salamanca neighborhood with a direct metro line to Gran Vía just a few steps away.
We hope to see you again at VP El Madroño during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very clean and neat room. The room was big and comfortable allowing me to settle in comfortably. The window towards the street was quite large allowing the rooms to be brightly lit during the day. The kitchenette was efficient and quite handy, though I only used the fridge and microwave. I drink tea, but they only had coffeemaker - I would have preferred a boiler - but no big deal. I had been given an iron and iron board to use for the duration of my stay for no extra cost. Internet is free - at times weak, but works and is easy to connect to. The staff are very attentive and efficient. They are fluent in English and are very willing to help and give advice and assistance regarding Madrid. It is easy to approach them. As I was on a work visit, I found it to be quiet, clean and relaxing. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I chose a classic room facing the street - I liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omima o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing our opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay in our spacious and comfortable rooms with its kitchen facilities, very useful for families with children or longer stays. Thanks for highlighting the efficiency and friendliness of our staff because it clearly shows the effort we make day by day to satisfy our customers.
Hopefully we can welcome you again at our VP El Madroño, your establishment in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights in El Madroño, in the Salamanca district in Madrid. Nice to get away from the busy area of Gran Via and Plaza Mayor, with their expensive hotels with tiny rooms. El Madroño offers great value for families, especially for a couple with a small child. All rooms have cooking facilities, good for those on a budget. Bed really comfy. Only downfall was the noisy central heating/air conditioning in the room. Also the hotel has no restaurant or bar, but there is a nice cafe close to it and several restaurants nearby. I would recommend El Asturiano just to the right corner of the hotel when you come out. A great asturian beef, chips and a bottle of cider for €20.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipayay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you had a wonderful stay with your family in our spacious and comfortable rooms including a small kitchen. Thanks for pointing out the quiet situation of our establishment in the Salamanca district, close to several restaurants and a metro stop with direct line to the historical center of Madrid.
We apologize the inconvenience you had in your room and at the same time we are very thankful for your opinion because it helps us to improve it as soon as possible.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in one of our VP Hotels in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at VP Madrono for 6 nights.
The staff was really helpful and always available.
I was really impressed with the room; really spacious, and the bathroom was great.

Great value for money

I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank westindies97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your excellent opinion at Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your week in Madrid in our wide rooms including a small kitchen and a modern bathroom. For all our future guests we like to inform that you can find the best offers and discounts on our web site.
We hope to welcome you again at VP El Madroño and like to thank you for recommending our establishment.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Clean, spacious room, not very expensive, friendly staff! The kitchen is very little but anyway it is no use to cook, just go outside and eat tapas somewhere! The hotel is a little outside the city centre but close to the metro. Nice restaurants in the neighborhood too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chrisdeveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear customer,
We are very grateful for your comment at Tripadvisor. For us it is a great pleasure that you had a wonderful stay in our spacious rooms and that you liked the situation of our establishment, close to the metro stop Diego de León and plenty of restaurants in the Salamanca neighborhood.
Hopefully we can welcome you during your next stay in Madrid at VP El Madroño.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Have traveled the 4 corners of the world and appreciate a good hotel when I stay in one and this is one of them. It is not a 5 star hotel but a good 4 star apartment hotel with cooking facilities but does not feel like an apartment. The cooking facilities is well hidden when not in use. Room is clean and very spacious. Bed is great for a good night rest . They have free wireless internet which actually works. Toiletries is provided and shower stall has the rain-drop shower as well as the regular shower head and water pressure and temperature is adequate to enjoy a nice warm shower. In addition, this is one rare hotel to provide fridge full of free drinks (water, pop and a small wine) with refill to cost extra. The last experience I had of free drinks from the refrigerator is at the Le Meridian in Vienna.

There may be limited personnel at the reception but the folks are real friendly and attentive. Beside the hotel is a hugh parking and folks like us who drive around Spain appreciate readily accessible and available parking even though we have to pay Euro$16 per day for it. Being in downtown Madrid, finding a decent parking on the street is literally impossible ...like many large europe's major city downtown, parking a rental car can be an experience ... not only rare to find on the streets but when one find one, be prepare to exercise your parking skill to ensure you still get 6 inch clearance in the front and back of the car within a very tight confine space. Behind the hotel forming part of the hotel is the restaurant and the garden.

Location of this hotel is a bit off as it is a 30 minutes walk to the main museum, palace and Retiro park.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-TravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for taking your time to write your outstanding opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you had a wonderful stay in our spacious rooms with an American kitchen, very practical for longer stays or families with children and a modern bathroom. As you have mentioned, we offer to all our guests as a special welcome service free soft drinks in the fridge for the first night. Thanks for pointing out the friendliness of our staff and also the parking in the proper building with special prices for our customers. With this service it is not necessary to bother where you can leave the car during your stay in Madrid.
We are pleased to inform all our future guests that the hotel is located close to the metro stop Diego de León form where you can reach the main tourist attractions in about 15-20 minutes.
Thanks again for your commentary and we hope to see you soon in one of our VP Hotels in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#54 of 436 in Madrid
532 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 436 in Madrid
1,291 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Madrono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Madrono

Property: El Madrono
Address: Calle General Diaz Porlier 101, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Business Hotel in Madrid
#28 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Madrono 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged location of the VP El Madroño in the heart of the Salamanca district and the virtually direct access to Barajas Airport and the Exhibition Centre (Ifema) make the VP El Madroño one of the best choices for enjoying Madrid's iconic museums and monuments, its unique cuisine and incredible shopping. Our establishment's spacious rooms adapt to your every need, whether for long stays, business trips or family vacations. The VP El Madroño has its own 24-hour monitored parking lot with special prices for clients staying in the hotel. Our establishment is, without a doubt, the perfect choice for a business trip or for enjoying and getting to know the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Madrono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Madrono Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing