We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Madrono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Madrono
Ranked #34 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

A huge room, very comfortable, new and clean. There is a small kitchen in the room as well.
The breakfast was wounderful and highly recommanded.
It is a wounderful hotel, but a little far from the center of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amir1972_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our comfortable and spacious rooms including an American kitchen, very useful for families or longer stays. Thanks for recommending our breakfast buffet with its big variety of fresh products.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at our VP El Madroño.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    202
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
146
234
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The facilities are new and very good, the service is great, the bed and bathroom are very comfortable, it has parking and a great breakfast but the wall are too thin and you can hear everything that happens in your neighbor room.....so if you have a light sleep or a above the average noisy neighbor be ready

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you liked our comfortable rooms with its facilities like free soft drinks for all our guests at arrival or free Wifi connection. We also greatly appreciate your comment about our breakfast buffet with a big variety of homemade products and apologize at the same time the inconvenience you had during your stay. We are very grateful of your opinion because it gives us the opportunity to improve our facilities and services.
Hopefully we can welcome you back in one of our VP Hoteles in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel was a very nice surprise in a good location. It's close to the metro.
Has spacious, clean and comfortable rooms, even a kitchen inside with everything you need.
Staff is helpful and friendly, ready to help you in any problem.
Loved it, recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely comment about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are sincerely grateful for highlighting our great location in the Salamanca Neighborhood, very close to restaurants and metro stop “Diego de León”. Moreover, we are happy to read that you received a nice surprise by staying in our spacious and comfortable rooms including a small kitchen with free soft drinks during the first night for all our guests.
We like to thank you already for recommending our establishment and hope to see you soon at VP El Madroño.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Free wifi, complimentary soft drinks in the fridge, a large spacious modern room with mini kitchen and air con, what a fabulous hotel. Also very near the diego metro, so easy to get around.

Breakfast is fantastic, will cook breakfast to order (omelette, bacon and eggs etc), loads of fresh bread and fruit.

Friendly and helpful front desk. We really enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommended and good value for money. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBear43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and modern rooms including free Wifi for all our clients and a small kitchen with free soft drinks for the first night. We are grateful for your highlight on the quality of our breakfast buffet with the possibility to order hot plates to your liking. Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. This shows us the effort we make day by day to offer a professional service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at VP El Madroño.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in El Madrono with my husband when I worked in IE Business School for 10 days. The location of the hotel is very well for business travels. It is in the center of a very busy center. The rooms are big and very comfortable (compared with business hotels). There is a small kitchen where you can cook, make coffee, etc. It is very good for business trips for more than a few days for which you look for a little bit more space and home feeling. Although there is a coffee maker, there is no tea maker or kettle in the room so be prepared - hot water is always needed. Staff is nice and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImgeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for writing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have chosen our establishment for your business travel to Madrid and that you liked the lovely Salamanca neighborhood where we are located. It is a great pleasure for us that you mentioned the amplitude and comfort of our rooms with its kitchen facilities, very useful for longer stays or families with children. We have taken note of your commentary about a kettle and like to inform our future guests that in the kitchen you will find a microwave to heat meals and water.
We hope to see you again at VP El Madroño and check always our website for special offers and the best rates.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel was perfect for short stay in Madrid. We have never stayed in such a large room in Europe! The front desk staff were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. Close to a couple of metro stops. The breakfast was also nice with lots of choices. Great pillows and thick towels are something I take for granted in my travels and this hotel had both!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlaAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and that you got surprised by the amplitude of our rooms including its facilities like free soft drinks for the first night and the pillow menu. We are glad to read the commentary about our professional staff which shows us the effort we make every day to improve our service. Thanks for pointing out our great situation close to metro stop “Diego de León” with direct line to Gran Vía and the breakfast buffet with a big variety of fresh products.
We hope to welcome you back again at VP El Madroño during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very good and clean hotel, spacious room, excellent location - just on the edge of Barrio Salamanca, with metro station just outside - good connection to every part of Madrid. Good choice of the restaurants arround. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Just be aware that if you like to take a longer sleep on vocation - you hear your neighbours thru the walls and cleaning staff starts to make noise from abou 08.30 in the morning. I will book this hotel again only if I will be garanteed the room on 6(top) floor).

Room Tip: Ask for the room on 6 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you liked our spacious rooms and that our professional staff was able to help you with all your inquiries. Thanks for highlighting the great situation of our establishment in Salamanca neighborhood with a big variety of restaurants in the area and very well connected to the airport and historical center of Madrid by bus or Metro. We regret the inconveniences you had during your stay. Our cleaning staff has been already informed to be more careful in the mornings.
We are looking forward to see you again at VP Hoteles.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Jardin Metropolitano
#52 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Arguelles
Sercotel Suites Viena
Sercotel Suites Viena
#22 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#3 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Madrono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Madrono

Property: El Madrono
Address: Calle General Diaz Porlier 101, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Business Hotel in Madrid
#28 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Madrono 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged location of the VP El Madroño in the heart of the Salamanca district and the virtually direct access to Barajas Airport and the Exhibition Centre (Ifema) make the VP El Madroño one of the best choices for enjoying Madrid's iconic museums and monuments, its unique cuisine and incredible shopping. Our establishment's spacious rooms adapt to your every need, whether for long stays, business trips or family vacations. The VP El Madroño has its own 24-hour monitored parking lot with special prices for clients staying in the hotel. Our establishment is, without a doubt, the perfect choice for a business trip or for enjoying and getting to know the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your El Madrono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Madrono Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing