We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of El Madrono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Madrono
Ranked #37 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms - We booked the recently renovated rooms, which were spacious and very clean. In our booking, we requested for a quiet room on a high floor. When we arrived, the staff asked whether we preferred a single or double bed. We chose single and were allocated a room on the third floor facing the street. It was only later that we realised we were originally allocated a garden-facing room on the sixth floor, but because we chose a single bed, they changed our room. It was a pity because we would have much preferred the quieter garden-facing room.

Food - Breakfast was okay, not exceptionally good or bad, just average.

Location - The hotel was a short walk from the Diego de Leon metro station, and you can pretty much travel to most places via the metro.

Staff - Do not seem as friendly as other hotels' staff, but mostly polite.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank showerofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for the time you took out of the day to write your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great honor to read that you liked our spacious and recently renovated rooms. We regret the inconveniences we may have caused about the situation of your room. We always try to fulfill all the requests of our guests but if the establishment is fully booked unfortunately we are not able to please all of them. Regarding your comment about our breakfast, we like to inform the readers of Tripadvisor that VP El Madroño offers a big variety of fresh and homemade products during the breakfast buffet and that you can prepare hot plates like scrambled eggs to your liking.
Thanks for highlighting our excellent location in the quiet Salamanca quarter, very close to metro stop “Diego de León” including a direct line to the historical center of Madrid.
We also apologize that our staff could not satisfy your expectations and we have already informed the person in charge about your comment to offer in future a better service.
Thanks again for sharing your opinion and we hope to welcome you back again at VP Hoteles.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    215
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
156
249
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here in mid-June for $117/night (at 1 euro = $1.36) (IVA incluido) , and the good news is I wish to associate myself with all the favorable earlier reviews. The staff was superb -- helpful and courteous.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It's quite near a Metro stop, and the Madrid subway gives fast, comfortable and economical transportation. The hotel is in Salamanca -- a lovely, up-scale neighborhood without the all-night zaniness of downtown Madrid (downtown is a half hour's walk at a modest pace). The neighborhood must have a score of restaurants serving tapas on the sidewalk. Good restaurants are open for breakfast -- no reason to pay the hotel's price of $40 for two per day.

The bad news is the HVAC system. I complained about the room being too warm which was promptly investigated. The problem is, the hotel engineer told me, was that the system is unable to cool a room below 23 degrees (73-74 F). The windows open and provide some relief because Madrid nights are dry and cool except in high summer. There is also a heavy shade you can draw down over the window during the day. If you need 68 degrees, stay at an American chain, you'll not be happy here,

Room Tip: Sixth floor facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beechmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for sharing your comments about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you are joining the favorable opinion of earlier reviews and that you qualify our professional staff as superb. The policy of our chain is that our guests feel welcome at all times. Moreover we thank you for highlighting our location in Salamanca quarter of Madrid, a quiet neighborhood with a big variety of restaurants or shops and well connected with the historical center and airport by public transportation.
On the other hand we regret that the air conditioning in your room was not as you expected. We have informed the company of the HVAC system about your comment and they will check the installation as soon as possible. We also like to inform our future guests that the air conditioning in all our rooms is only working while the keycard of each customer is inserted in a small electricity box inside the room and with all the windows closed.
Thanks again for writing your opinion and we are looking forward to welcome you again at VP Hotels.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is the Salamanca Barrio, which is the safest area in the City of Madrid. We chose it based on reviews on Tripadvisor and it lived up to our expectations. The decor is very sophisticated, clean lines and spotless. Rooms are very comfortable and large.Request rooms facing inside and not on the street for the noise can be loud, especially if you open the window.
There is a superbly designed garden that you can spend time in relaxing. Buses and Metro stations are 1 block away. There is a direct bus to Atocha station which is where you can catch the Renfe.
The breakfast is superb and very reasonably priced. The staff helpful in the extreme. It was a pleasure staying at this hotel and will stay there again if we visit Madrid

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakirak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are celebrating that you have chosen our establishment because of its good reviews and that we could fulfill your expectations. Thanks for pointing out the decoration and cleanliness of our comfortable rooms which have been recently refurbished. We are very grateful to read that you qualify our breakfast as superb and that you have mentioned our great location, very close to bus and metro stops.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at VP El Madroño, your establishment in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean 3 star hotel in Salamanca, near to the Diego de Leon metro stop. Convenient on the metro to get to most major sites. Rooms are large and clean with nice bathrooms. There is a kitchenette are nicely concealed in the room as well. Wi Fi is also free, did not try room service or the restaurant. No Pool.

Overall a clean hotel, definitely a 3 star and not a 4 as described by some hotels. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_JRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you liked our spacious and clean rooms with kitchen facilities and free Wi Fi for all our guests. Thanks for highlighting our great situation in the Salamanca quarter of Madrid with a big variety of restaurants and cafés.
We hope to welcome you back again at VP Hotels.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved this hotel! We were in Spain for just under three weeks and stayed at five different lodgings, ranging from pensions/hostales to higher end full service business class hotels. El Madrono was our favorite, providing the best features of all the lodgings in which we stayed. It is a smaller hotel, so has the intimacy and relaxing atmosphere of a hostal or pension. Yet it also had virtually all the amenities one would expect in a larger high-end hotel. Rooms have a modern and well-appointed decor, as one would expect to find in a boutique hotel. Staff were professional, responsive and friendly--volunteering suggestions as to other sites to visit based on our interests and goals and welcoming our attempts to speak Spanish. Breakfast was absolutely fabulous. Served from 7:30 to 10:30, it meets the needs of persons traveling for either business or pleasure. The seemingly endless selection allows one to choose a hearty meal more typical of northern Europe or the US (including made to order hot entrees), or lighter fare more consistent with an early morning meal in Spain. The location is close to two metro lines and the intermodal transport station from which one can take the city bus, national buses, buses serving the Madrid airport, and the metro. El Madrono's location is far enough away from the busy Madrid center that one gets a feel of the neighborhood, yet so convenient to anything you would want to see. Again, the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our VP El Madroño. It is wonderful to hear that our establishment was your favorite during your trip through Spain. We are delighted to read that you liked the decoration of our spacious and in summer 2011 refurbished rooms. Moreover we like to thank you for your comments about our professional staff and our delicious breakfast buffet with a great selection of fresh products and the possibility to order hot plates like scrambled eggs to your liking. We also loved to read that you have highlighted our location in Salamanca neighborhood, well connected by metro or bus to the airport and the historical center of Madrid.
Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at VP El Madroño.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meeniyan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the El Madrono for four nights at the end of three weeks in Italy,France and Spain - this hotel was a very pleasant surprise for a place in its price range - the best value we had on our trip.As well as value ,its a nice hotel- rooms are very large,clean,nice decor,kitchenette,quiet location except room doors are a bit loud,staff very helpful,good dining nearbyl,breakfast in hotel good,pleasant garden out back,Metro nearby,20 minute walk to the Prado;hotel has 30 euro taxi deal to airport.We recommend El Madrono and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to write your fabulous comments about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that we could surprise you with our spacious and in 2011 refurbished rooms. Thanks for mentioning its facilities and cleanliness and our beautiful garden, a green oasis in the heart of Madrid. We are also very grateful for pointing out our excellent situation in the quiet Salamanca quarter, well connected to the historical center and the airport.
Thank you very much for recommending our VP El Madroño and we are looking forward to welcome you back again.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Hotel's location is just 5 minutes away from the center with the Metro.
The rooms are spectacular and the kitchenette is very helpful.
I loved that there are speakers all over the room connected to a radio system which has the controls near the bed.
Perfect!!! nothing else needed to say.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Madrono, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are celebrating that you qualify our rooms as spectacular and that you have highlighted their facilities like the American kitchen including free soft drinks for the first night. We hope to welcome you back again at VP Hoteles during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 435 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Jardin Metropolitano
#59 of 435 in Madrid
544 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 435 in Madrid
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Madrono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Madrono

Property: El Madrono
Address: Calle General Diaz Porlier 101, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Business Hotel in Madrid
#28 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Madrono 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged location of the VP El Madroño in the heart of the Salamanca district and the virtually direct access to Barajas Airport and the Exhibition Centre (Ifema) make the VP El Madroño one of the best choices for enjoying Madrid's iconic museums and monuments, its unique cuisine and incredible shopping. Our establishment's spacious rooms adapt to your every need, whether for long stays, business trips or family vacations. The VP El Madroño has its own 24-hour monitored parking lot with special prices for clients staying in the hotel. Our establishment is, without a doubt, the perfect choice for a business trip or for enjoying and getting to know the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Madrono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Madrono Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing