We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VP EL Madrono
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$109
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$132
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
SLEEP'N Atocha(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$85
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
404
246
40
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
246
40
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiego de leonmetro stationmini kitchenspacious roomnice neighborhoodcoffee tablelots of bars and restaurantsbig bathroomblackout curtainssitting areawalk in showerminute walkcoffee makerper dayquiet areaearly checkinternet access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in July 2014. It was easy to access from the airport via the tube with only one change needed. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by an extremely helpful receptionist who could not do enough to advise us on where we should visit and eat in the short time that we stayed in the city. The hotel was clean, rooms large and modern and had everything that you needed including a toothbrush. The nearest tube station was a few minutes walk. We did not eat in the hotel as there was an amazing bakery just around the corner on the way to the tube station in which we preferred to pick up some breakfast on the go. The hotel is reasonably priced and the fresh flavoured water which is placed in reception each day was a nice touch. In short I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CBelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at VP EL Madrono, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,
Many thanks for the excellent opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you found convenient our location and that our staff was nice and helpful to you.
Thanks for pointing out details such as the size of our rooms, the toilet amenities we set in our bathrooms and flavored water we offer for free at our reception.
It will be a pleasure to meeting you again at our VP El Madroño.
Best Regards,

Sandra Serrano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We checked into the hotel, & WOW, the room far exceeded our expectations for the price we paid, the staff were friendly and helpful and despite it being a little way from the centre, its easily reached by the excellent metro system. The nearest station being about a minute away at Diego de Leon. Its also easily reached from the airport, about 30 minutes away with one change. Breakfast is optional at an extra cost, there's various choice and they will even cook a traditional English Breakfast on request, rather than it standing on a hot plate like some hotels. If i had to mention one negative and it is very minor, the Bathroom doors which are glass, are quite heavy and may prove difficult for an elderly person or child to open. I would have no hesitation in staying here again if i visit madrid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 009140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at VP EL Madrono, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear customer,
We like to thank you for writing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. We are celebrating that our spacious rooms could exceed your expectations and that you have highlighted the friendliness of our staff. Moreover we are happy to read that you have pointed out the great situation of our establishment in Salamanca neighborhood, very close to metro station “Diego de León” from where you reach the city center with a direct line and the airport within 30 minutes. Thanks for mentioning the excellent quality of our breakfast buffet with a big variety of fresh and homemade products and the possibility to order hot plates to your liking. Regarding your comment about the bathroom door, we regret the inconveniences we may have caused. The proprietary has been informed about it and will consider it for future improvements.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at VP El Madroño during your next visit to Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks in May while working in Madrid. I had a very nice big room, good wifi, small stove and a fridge. The room was very new, and spotless.The hotel is in a very nice area of Madrid. Safe at night, good restaurants, bars, shopping etc. A 4 minute walk (tops) to the Metro. A large (private) garden behind the hotel. The staff was very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay there and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at VP EL Madrono, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great honor for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms with free wifi and a small kitchen, very useful for families or longer stays. Moreover we thank you for pointing out the great situation of our establishment in the Salamanca quarter, a quiet neighborhood with good restaurants and shopping facilities. As you have mentioned the metro stop “Diego de León” with direct line to the historical center of Madrid is just a few steps away.
We are looking forward to see you again at VP El Madroño next year.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We came upon this hotel through the TA and thought it would be a good deal given the location. It is closely located near the Diego De Leon subway station so getting here from the airport is only a one change and costs about 5 Euros each person.
Hotel is located off a side street in a mainly residential area so not much going on at night but some local cafes. The front desk staff were mainly friendly but they never really welcoming each time we returned back at the end of the day. In fact each time we walked into the lobby, the front clerk would never even look up at us when we walked into the lobby but continued working on his computer. This should be a concern as anyone could easily walk into the hotel without being questioned at all.
The noise in the rooms are terrible where you can hear a terrible echo from other room doors slamming at all hours of the late evening into early morning hours. The floors are also very thin as you can hear people above you walking around. Dont count on getting much sleep unless you can sleep through a wild party. The other guests who seemed to be either local or knew how to speak spanish came back at all hours of the evening. We were glad to leave and get some rest in another hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top floor but that will do little to mitigate the door slamming that happens at all hours.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaywL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Public Relations Manager at VP EL Madrono, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with our Tripadvisor readers. We have carefully read your opinion and are really sorry for the bad experience you had at our hotel.
We have checked our records and have noticed that during your stay we had a group of university students that made too many noise in their rooms, disturbing some of our clients. We are sorry that some of those disturbed clients was your case. It is not very common for us to have complaints regarding noise, but sometimes we cannot control how noisy some clients may be. We are so sorry for this unfortunate incident.
I remain at your disposal for anything you may need.
Best Regards.

Sandra Serrano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Rooms - We booked the recently renovated rooms, which were spacious and very clean. In our booking, we requested for a quiet room on a high floor. When we arrived, the staff asked whether we preferred a single or double bed. We chose single and were allocated a room on the third floor facing the street. It was only later that we realised we were originally allocated a garden-facing room on the sixth floor, but because we chose a single bed, they changed our room. It was a pity because we would have much preferred the quieter garden-facing room.

Food - Breakfast was okay, not exceptionally good or bad, just average.

Location - The hotel was a short walk from the Diego de Leon metro station, and you can pretty much travel to most places via the metro.

Staff - Do not seem as friendly as other hotels' staff, but mostly polite.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank showerofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at VP EL Madrono, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for the time you took out of the day to write your opinion about our VP El Madroño at Tripadvisor. It is a great honor to read that you liked our spacious and recently renovated rooms. We regret the inconveniences we may have caused about the situation of your room. We always try to fulfill all the requests of our guests but if the establishment is fully booked unfortunately we are not able to please all of them. Regarding your comment about our breakfast, we like to inform the readers of Tripadvisor that VP El Madroño offers a big variety of fresh and homemade products during the breakfast buffet and that you can prepare hot plates like scrambled eggs to your liking.
Thanks for highlighting our excellent location in the quiet Salamanca quarter, very close to metro stop “Diego de León” including a direct line to the historical center of Madrid.
We also apologize that our staff could not satisfy your expectations and we have already informed the person in charge about your comment to offer in future a better service.
Thanks again for sharing your opinion and we hope to welcome you back again at VP Hoteles.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews