We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff really went that extra bit further”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staff really went that extra bit further”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 for a weekend break to Madrid. We had a disastrous journey resulting in Easyjet losing my baggage and when we mentioned that to the reception staff they immediately offered to liaise with the airport to get the bags delivered to the hotel once they had arrived in Madrid and even upgraded our room and gave us an emergency overnight kit with toothbrush, shaving kit etc. I think it helped that my husband is a loyalty card holder but even so, it was a nice touch.

The hotel is really nice, even by intercontinental standards with a glamourous marble lobby and pianist playing in the evenings. We stayed in a room on the road side of the building but were quite high up so hardly heard any traffic. The junior suite we had was nice and had a really great selection of toiletries - very important when your washbag is lost somewhere between Toulouse and Madrid!

Only slight grumble was the cleaning staff forgot to give us towels one day, but one call to reception and they delivered us new ones in a matter of minutes.

The location of the hotel is not in the absolute centre of town, but I preferred it being slightly quieter. You can hop on the metro which is fewer than 100m walk away and be where you want to be in seconds.

We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, as we thought it was overpriced, but enjoyed sitting outside a little cafe in the city centre in the sun with a glass of fresh orange juice and some Seranno ham and eggs - perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smorgasbord_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. We are delighted to know that your experience with us was very enjoyable and that we were able to make up for the lost luggage.

We know that loosing luggage is kind of a nuisance, so we try to make our best to help the guest out anyway we can. Guest satisfaction is one of our most important goals, here at the InterContinental Madrid. That’s why it’s such a pride for us to receive these kind of reviews about our staff and services.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Kind regards,

J.C Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    494
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
274
628
93
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a good traditional quality hotel with elegant decor and big rooms. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom commodious, and the service very pleasant, and I liked the spanish cheeses and ham with breakfast. Overall I enjoyed the stay.

I have some minor reservations however:-

- the reception desk area is small and could easilt lead to delays
- there was not enough hot water in my room for a comfortable shower either in the morning or the evening
- the room had no view but looked out into a small triangular area

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr. Richard,

We are very happy that you had a great experience with us at the InterContinental Madrid. We have read your suggestions on how to improve our service and we sure will take them under our account.

If you would like to keep updated with our promotions for future visits to Madrid you can do so by joining us on facebook or following us on twitter.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just to keep it shortly as we are coming back to this place for over fifteen years now regularly we want to stress that this place amazes us how it keeps its standards.
We usually always get different rooms on each occassion but it is always so clean and well maintained that it really amazes us how they manage to keep it as the hotel did not went through any major refurbishment through the years. Even smoking room which we received last time due to high occupancy and our request for upgrade (being nonsmokers) was clean and not so disturbing in smoke smell.
What has changed though over time is the service which we feel is constantly improving for Madrids standards and is now very good and friendly.
As we always find a good deal and being IC guest program members we definitely do recommend it for any stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your stay with us has been great and that we have been your hotel of choice for over fifteen years, hoping that we still will be for the years to come.

If you want to keep updated with our promotions and offers we can suggest you to follow us on twitter or facebook:

facebook.com/intercontinental.madrid
@icmadrid

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was a late winter holiday, traveling down from Finland seeking a bit of warmth... The hotel building, fixtures and fittings are about average for an Intercontinental, maybe a bit better than New York, not quite as good as the ICs in Vienna, Malta or Beijing.

We had a non-smoking Club room (854) on the top floor facing into the courtyard... nice and quiet for sleeping, but a very dull view. Couldn't make use of the room's balcony as it rained most of the week.
King size double bed was very comfy, pillows were a bit soft.
Toiletries decent, water was pressure pretty poor and during one shower the water cut out for 30 seconds.
WiFi in the Club rooms is complimentary, but not very fast. Fast enough for e-mail and checking the news.
Not very many power sockets in the room, with 2 phones, PC, tablet and camera to charge we could have done with more sockets on the desk as we had to use one behind a chair and the shaver outlet in the bathroom too...

What makes this hotel worth a stay is the Club Lounge. We booked a Club room, on arrival we were escorted to the Club lounge for check-in and had some drinks and snacks whilst our room keys were prepared. The lounge has either food or drinks and nibbles available from opening at 07:00 practically until half an hour before they close at 23:00.

Breakfast in the Club lounge is excellent, staff are attentive & helpful, they will order down to the main restaurant for omelettes / tortilla on request. We stayed 7 nights and had breakfast in the lounge on 5 of mornings. The other 2 mornings, we went to the main restaurant for a buffet breakfast, slightly wider choice and also pretty good.

We had dinner just once in the hotel restaurant towards the end of the stay, the paellas were excellent, as was the service, but €40 for two green salad starters is a bit steep.

Rooms service food is a bit hit and miss - on the final evening we ordered whilst packing, my wife enjoyed the lamb tagine / cuscus dish, but my pizza appeared to be straight out of the freezer (I'd deliberately asked when ordering if they made the pizza fresh - I was assured it was :-/ ) ... €22 for a Dr Oetker style pizza is a bit steep.
A room service coke was €9!!! Not that I bought one.

The concierge guys were also very helpful, we got tour bus tickets and stamps from there, loaned umbrellas, had advice on which Metro and bus routes to use to the various attractions.

The hotel is in a business area of Madrid, so not there's not much in the way of shops, restaurants or cafes nearby, just bank and insurance company offices. There's more to see on the Calle de Serrano which runs parallel to Paseo de la Castellana one block East.

In summary, a good hotel if you take a Club room, excellent staff, but their restaurant / room service is overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank mhbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest,

We are thrilled that your stay with us has been that good. That is really what we aim for and that's what our staff is here for.

Our hotel is very well located, being very close to a metro station and several bus stops as you can see on our concierge video on our website.

We are hoping to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Booked the Intercontinental via Expedia on a last minute Easter break to Madrid. I wrote to them asking if they could make sure our time there was memorable and they did not disappoint!
We were relatively budget travelers, but had an amazing room, almost a suite, with a complementary bottle of Cava on ice as we arrived in our room! The bed was bigger than my house!
We asked the concierge if he could get us last minute tickets to see the Real Madrid v Valencia match, and he did everything he could and managed to get us some ;-)
No hidden charges, very good service.
Yes a little out of town, but very close to the Metro, straight into the centre of Madrid, plus Metro almost right on the line to airport for our return
Thank you very much to all at the Intercontinental, our romantic weekend in Madrid was nothing short of amazing, thanks to you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank E18MMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is fairly modern. A little tired in places, but overall to a soldly high standard.

Upon arriving late, we were given a twin room rather than a single bed. Then moved to a room with a very very loud aircon rattle. Room 3 was a smoking room. Just before going back to the aircon rattle room (with the advise to turn it off and open the door) they discovered that a fourth room was available. It turned out to be tiny - clearly a single person's room. We moved back to the squeeky room the next day after the aircon was repaired.

Over the course of the 4 nights we also had room service walk in unannounced twice. At 4pm and 8am - very strange.

The bar was lovely and huge, but horribly horribly overpriced for a city with fabulous, plentiful and cheap quality drinks.

The room we ended up with was large, clean, plush, with a lovely bathroom.

TV was fine - while we had 10 English news chanels there was no movie channel.

Overall staff were friendly and helpful. Especially concierge and the door staff.

A tip though, get them to empty out the fridge and stock it yourself. It's automated, so if you pick up that power adapter - boom EUR10 goes instantly on your account.

Location is handy to Serrano for shopping, and Chueca which is a great area. It's also on the metro line to Sol and Opera for Old Madrid. And just a 20 min walk down the lovely Castellana to the museum district.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room with the king bed. All views we had were internal so not great, but the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatWhiteCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear GreatWhiteCloud,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you had to move rooms multiple times, but am happy to hear your final room accommodations were acceptable. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great location.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27755309
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world traveller
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Now one of my favourites, clean, classy, modern, convenient, and close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank TheMoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#11 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#28 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing