We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charmed in Chamberi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Charmed in Chamberi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

i had always promised myself I would return to Madrid after an all to brief stay in 2007.

While not in the heat of the touristy action, the Intercontinental is perfectly located for those who like a bit of luxury in a quieter part of town. A short taxi ride or metro hop to the famous Museum Mile or Plaza Mayor, it's also a 10-15 minute walk to Calle Serrano which ahs several good restaurants and all the high end boutiques you could need.

The hotel is plush in an old school way, complimented by the charming and always knowledgeable staff. Travelling as a solo woman for this trip, from the moment I was collected at the airport through to check in at the Intercontinental's Club lounge and beyond, I was made to feel special. The hotel I suspect is one of the busiest in Madrid and during my stay hosted an international conference of government ministers, a wedding and a communion as well as other events over my four night stay, so there was always something happening in the lobby and around.

The rooms are large by European standards with big comfortable beds, a pillow menu, tea and coffee facilities and some like mine have a small balcony with chairs and a table. The bathroom is equally spacious with a proper bathtub and elemis amenities. A word about the bed and pillow - one word, sublime. I slept so well I almost missed an appointment one morning and as a habitual light sleeper, that's an achievement.

The Club lounge is seriously great. The compact breakfast buffet includes the usual cheeses and cold cuts, juice and coffee as well as hot items which change daily, but a supplemental menu allows you to order eggs any way (try the spanish omelette), bacon and grilled tomatoes and the assortment of pastries, muffins and donuts tested my diet resolve daily. Snacks are available throughout the day as well as a selection of wine and afternoon tea sees cakes and other morsels brought out. The traditional evening drinks (wine, sherry, cava) come later than most (it is Madrid after all) with a selection of tapas and other items. The Club team from the desk staff through to the waiters were very helpful.

Back to the services, I tried the spa, which I was told was in a temporary location until a new one is built. The young Argentinian therapist was knowledgeable and well trained and soothed some of my tourist-related foot problems. The gym attached to the spa is small but functional and for business travellers, open 24 hours.

I only had a chance to sample the bar on the ground level of the hotel which was excellent and quite lively at times. Being Madrid, I took the advice of the staff and headed out and about for sustenence. The concierge team recommended two excellent restaurants serving regional cuisine as well as several great boutiques and stores to satisfy my shopping urges. They even helped with booking tickets to museums and other advice.

They along with the hotel's GM Manrique Rodriguez and the rest of the team basically helped me plan my entire time in Madrid and made my stay truly memorable. I'll be back for sure...

Room Tip: Go for a club room with a view of the courtyard as the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank rachelannmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid. We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable. I will pass along your comment about our staff being very helpful. That’s what we are aiming for, guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    494
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
274
628
93
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Enjoyed stay here, Good Nice comfortable rooms, Location is very good just 2 mins walk away from Metro station and bus stop, very much near to good restaurants like HRC and starbucks for coffee, Reception was very good smooth check-in and check out procedures, room service was excellent you get your desired service within 5 mins, over all nice hotel would recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank travelworldismywish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel on your last stay in Madrid and for your nice comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Nice hotel
Good location
20 mins from the airport on underground
Breakfast lovely
Safe location of the hotel
Concierge very helpful
Reception can be very busy
Wifi very expensive
Rooms facing the garden quiet
Clean rooms
Clean facilities
Rooms small but fine for a couple
Tube stop 4 minutes away
Bus stop nearby
Overall pleasant hotel
Nice hotel
Would recommend it
Gym functional

Room Tip: Facing garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank avnipriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Intercontinental Madrid has a great location and it is in the middle of everything. It is easy to stroll to many attractions, great food and the upscale shopping area of Madrid. The Metro is close by and easy to navigate to go to other parts of the city. The staff is exceptionally friendly and provide the best clue that this hotel is rated a 5 star. The rooms were only adequate and did not live up to other 5 star hotels in Europe and probably is the lowest level of luxury of any Intercontinental Hotel we have stayed in to date. The view from the rooms is a dirty courtyard and other buildings. The location is just not one that will lend to an excellent view. One plus, there is a little mall a couple of blocks away with nice stores and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank asusd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid.

We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable. I will pass along your comment about our staff being very helpful.

That’s what we are aiming for, guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Best regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are well kept, clean and comfortable. Location is pretty good considering its in the business district, 15min walk to the shopping streets. The rooms are not that big though but good size already for a hotel in madrid. I must say, it was a good stay with them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blackmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We expected a better standard of room due to the 5* rating but it was tiny, however it was comfortable. This hotel is not very central but it is close to a bus stop for the open top bus tour which will take you to all the attractions of Madrid. Average hotel, nothing special at an above average price!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Absolutley magnificent.
Hotel was thoroughly cleaned throughout the day.
As we upgraded to the club room we had access to the club lounge which was great, drinks and food throughout the day, a lovely place to unwind and relax after a long day.
Breakfast in the restaurant was very very nice, sat outside, whilst the sun was rising eating lovely prepared fruit aswell as the full hot breakfast!
Would definatly return to this hotel.
I recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Nati18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, P.A at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your experience at the InterContinental Hotel Madrid has been magnificent. We take pride in knowing that thanks to your recent experience you would be likely to return, and that you recommend us. Guest satisfaction is our most important goal.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review about us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#11 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#28 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing