We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Madrid on a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good option for Madrid on a business trip”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Comfortable, spacious and well-appointed room. Speedy, consistent WiFi, good room service options. Did not use fitness center or pool. Nice breakfast and cocktail service in lobby restaurant. Good service at desk. Quiet room.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    492
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
274
627
93
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is one of the very best hotels I have stayed in. Although its location is slightly off centre (not much), the fact that is virtually next to a tube station makes it all easy to go around. Everything about this hotel is at a high standard: rooms, public areas, facilities. Staff is very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. I would not stay anywhere else when in Madrid

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
21 Thank Sotiris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel, June 9-11. I wish I had had more time in Madrid and to enjoy this room. First impression when you enter the lobby is vey pleasing. I was given a room on the eighth floor with a very spacious balcony, city top view. The bed was very comfortable and the linens & towels were luxurious. I had the breakfast buffet negotiated in my rate. It was very substantial. The front desk staff and the concierge desk were friendly and communicated very well in English. I enjoyed lunch in the atrium/patio area. Food was above par and my only complaint of entire stay, is the menu pricing is high.
Very close to the metro stop and easy to take the metro to and from Barajas airport. On my next holiday in Madrid, this is where I am staying. I booked the hotel through British Air.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
21 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear gues,

I would like to welcome you to InterContinental Family!! and thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Hotel during your recent visit.

Your very kind comments about our services in the Hotel are very much appreciated, as it is the goal of every member of the hotel staff to welcome our guests with the high level of service for which InterContinental Hotels Group are known worldwide.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,
A.Fernandez


We really hope to have the honour of welcoming you and your wife very soon to your home in Madrid. Please do not hesitate to contact me as soon as you have chosen your dates at manrique.rodriguez@ihg.com I will be more than pleased to arrange everything to make your stay unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here back in November whilst over to see Elbow.

Didn't arrive till midnight, but could still check in, and grab a botlle of wine in the bar with some lovely snacks to nibble on.

Hotel room on the small side but perfectly ample for our needs. Club lounge was excellent. Really spacious with lots on offer - managed a few drinks and got talking to some lovely people - at times I find club lounges quite stuffy, but not the case this time.

Metro station within walking distance, that opens up the whole city. However, it's a lovely walk down to Cibeles if it's a nice day.

When I was there, there was some sort of American Navy function on, so security was high, but at no time did this impair what I wanted to do in the hotel.

I have been to other hotels in madrid, but will definitely return here for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Alistair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your experience at the InterContinental Hotel Madrid has been magnificent. We take pride in knowing that thanks to your recent experience you would be likely to return, and that you recommend us. Guest satisfaction is our most important goal.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review about us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Fantastic location with ease of access to great restaurants, bars, shopping, museums etc. Great staff.. thanks to Rita, Laura and Juan ! Great service !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank SunnyTheAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for this nice review of our hotel, especially those nice comments about our staff; It is really a pleasure for us to get these kinds of comments from guests such as you. We take pride in knowing that we fulfilled our goal of Guest satisfaction which is our number one priority, and we are really happy that your stay at our hotel has been very enjoyable.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us at the InterContinental Hotel Madrid again soon.

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Any hotel that thinks it is ok to put a guest in a room with a totally opaque window needs to think again. The opaque window blocked out a lot of the light - and of course, all of the view. Except there was no view. I opened the window to find that it overlooked a dirty roof and a lot of industrial scale ventilation pipes. The single bed was narrow and uncomfortable. The public areas are full of heavy, dated, unattractive furniture. This is not one of the great hotels of Madrid, let alone the world. If you choose to stay here, make sure they do not put you in a room like mine.
My visit coincided with that of a "VIP". There were guards in the elevator area on my floor, people milled around at all hours, and there was a lot of inconsiderate noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D j R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear guest,

In the first instance, I would like to thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Hotel again during your recent visit to Madrid and for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experiences with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not at your entire satisfaction. I would like to profusely apologize for the discomfort you had experienced.

Having an extremely valuable customer leaving the Hotel without having been able to meet his expectations is a real frustration for us and we will do our utmost to gain your confidence again.

We would like to offer you a complentary upgrade to one of our Suite Room, our Reception Manager, Silvana Lovelle will be more than pleased to assist you.

Looking forward to welcoming you.
Juan Carlos Caballero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

As would be expected o a major hotel everything was superbly done. We had an excellent room on the top floor (I suspect requested by my local business office that made the reservation) with a delightful patio, though because it was January we did not make use of it. The ground floor had a huge lounge, surrounding an inner garden courtyard, with the biggest orchid display of any hotel entrance, and a piano player in the late afternoon. The breakfast was just amazing (including champagne if you wanted it!). The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Thoroughly recommended (and the cost was lower than might be expected (possibly an off season business rate).

Room Tip: Top floor front have rooftop patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Gibberellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, PA at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your really nice comment about The InterContinental Hotel Madrid. We are delighted that you liked us so much that you recommend us. Our aim is guest satisfaction, so to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us, just make our job worthwhile.

We hope to see you returning very soon to The InterContinental Madrid.
Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 444 in Madrid
1,326 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#11 of 444 in Madrid
387 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 444 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
1,637 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#43 of 444 in Madrid
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, IHG, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing