We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Anniversary in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent our anniversary in Madrid. The hotel was fabulous! My husband is a gold member, so we received a double upgrade and enjoyed a wonderful suite. The staff was always helpful and went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable! We wished we had stayed longer in Madrid! We'd most certainly stay here again and will highly recommend this hotel! Taxi service from the hotel was excellent and quite reasonable to all the beautiful sights that Madrid has to offer. Thank you for making this anniversary quite memorable for us!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
21 Thank Avon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are really pleased to know you have enjoyed such an special day in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you very soon again in Madrid.

Best regards,
A.Fernandez

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    492
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
274
627
93
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a very pleasant though not perfect stay at the hotel.

On arrival we were quickly checked-in and as a platinum Prioirty Club member I received a room upgrade which was greatly appreciated. We were given a room with a balcony, which was quiet as it faced the inner courtyard and enabled us to sit out in the evening as well as provide an additional source of breeze during the warm nights.

The room was of a decent although not large size, with good facilities and clean. We never got the hang of the lighting system as we could have both bedside lights on, or both off, not one on and one off. The shower "curtain" (a piece of glass) had a design flaw which meant that the floor always got wet - a very basic error.

Service was generally excellent throughout the hotel. The only let down was when I asked for the shaver point to be fixed on day 1, it still had not been by day 5 when we left.

I have marked the hotel down by one star for continuing to charge for wifi which these days is a basic utility service. This is sheer greed and profiteering, rather like charging for electricty when it was first introduced. Additionally you had to be careful with the TV controls as there is a charge menu option for TV before you get to the free to air TV stations which were more than adequate.

The hotel is a good mile from the tourist areas, and we were happy to walk to them. Some people will find they prefer to take a taxi, which are both plentiful and relatively cheap (compared to London) (and bluntly if you can afford to stay at the hotel you can afford a taxi).

Overall a good hotel living up to the Intercontinental brand, and while more a business hotel it is perfectly acceptable as a tourist hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parseltongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit and kind comments.

Our hotel is located very near to the most amazing shopping area in Madrid... Serrano Street!!! and your comment explained taxi or public transportation are at the hotel door.

We really would like to have the opportunity to welcome you very soon.


Best regards,

A.Fernandez
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Excellent room, very spacious and clean, quiet, good decor. club facilities are really useful in the hot summer days. Club is room late in the evening with snacks and drinks. Slightly far from Town centre, though well connected my Metro. Airconditioning had to be supplemented with room fans due to hot summer

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank LiverpoolOrthodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our hotel and city.

We would like to thank you for such a wonderful comment posted at trip advisor.

Thank you very much.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here one night in Madrid, as it was an easy connection from the airport and near a
Metro stop. We also got a good deal from lastminute.com secret rooms. The hotel probably is more popular with business travellers - but it is still a great hotel. The staff were friendly and quick to check us in. We stayed in room 440 which was quiet and had a large balcony overlooking a courtyard. Some of the furniature in the room was showing its age, but on the whole it was clean and comfortable. As we only stayed one night we didn't see much of the hotel - but we certainly enjoyed our brief stay

Room Tip: There is a busy road outside the hotel, rooms overlooking the courtyard may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afairley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

With best regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

It was a while ago since I was in Madrid and in those days we stayed at the Crowne Plaza on Plaza Espana (now closed, and I don't know what's happening with that gorgeous building)... so I was somewhat more excited than was called for to stay on the Castellana. Not at all disappointed, quite the contrary. The neighbourhood is sublime, a spit away from Serrano, and given that the Paseo is so evidently located it is idiot-proof to navigate your way from there to anywhere in Madrid. And wherever you want to go, it will be a lovely walk. Got a room with a balcony, which is a must in Madrid so it's worth the extra cost to have that luxury... the view over the Paseo is breathtaking and it's such a great feature to have during any stay. Another little luxury we enjoyed is what the InterContinental calls Club Lounge, where you have breakfast and there was also drinks/nibbles in the evening before you go out. Extremely friendly staff, very helpful when we needed assistance.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, it will make such a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank rispolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid. We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable. I will pass along your comment about our staff being very helpful. That’s what we are aiming for, guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at the IC Madrid. The hotel very much caters to business travelers and is in the business district, so as a result the service is amazing. Everyone is friendly and says hi. The Concierge is very knowledgable and willing to help. We had a 7th floor room with a terrace overlooking the main road, which was fantastic. The hotel is well maintained and the lobby is gorgeous. There is also a very nice courtyard out back that is great for dinner and breakfast. Top notch.

The location is great too. While you are further north from the downtown sites, there is a subway stop only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The surrounding neighborhood has nice restaurants and bars, as well. The hotel is about a 30 euro taxi ride from the airport, or you can also take the subway.

The only downsides I can think of is that wireless is not free and drinks at the bar are very expensive. Since they most cater to business travelers I guess I shouldn't be surprised.

If you are coming to Madrid for business or pleasure, I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms with a terrace
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank KelleyMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your experience at the InterContinental Hotel Madrid has been magnificent. We take pride in knowing that thanks to your recent experience you would be likely to return, and that you recommend us. Guest satisfaction is our most important goal.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review about us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,
Executive office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Had a very nice room on the 5th floor at this IHG hotel, but the very special where the staff and excellent Concierge and Front office Manager who did there best for our trip. The area was good with all the public transportation very near, but also around 30 minute nice walk to downtown. At my future visit in Madrid it is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Gina064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid. We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable. I will pass along your comment about our staff being very helpful. That’s what we are aiming for, guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#11 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing