We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel,location-best trip i've had for years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2012

went on inpromptu trip to madrid for a few days on august 24th and it was one of the best trips i have ever been on...my first visit to madrid and the city is amazing - but what made it perfect was the hotel we stayed at - the intercontinental - which was amazing in every way. From the moment turned up the staff were attentive without being overbearing. The room was perfect in every way - good size, comfy bed, all the facilities you would ever need and the most beautiful balcony i have ever had in a hotel. I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure and have never spent so long in any hotel room in my life - it was because the experience was faultless, perfect and the room / balcony was superb. We spent most of the trip sunbathing in our room (on balcony) during the day then taking a short metro trip in the evening into sol (about 15 mins journey / metro stn only 3 mins walk from hotel) to walk around this magnificent city....we did once go swimming in campo park but most of the the time we just strolled around the city in the evening..best way to explore madrid - i am already looking at spare dates in my diary so i can go back to madrid / intercontinental - will definitely be back within the next 2 months and there will only ever be one hotel i will ever stay in madrid now - if the rest of the intercontinentals are as good as this one in madrid i will only be staying at intercontinentals when i travel anywhere else.....perfect and cannot compliment the experience enough - want to thank all the staff for making our short break out of this world

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank clapton4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write such a nice review regarding the InterContinental Madrid.

We are delighted to know that you had such an amazing time at the InterContinental Madrid and that you are looking to come back. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. We will share your comments with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Madrid a better hotel.

Hoping to welcome you soon,

Kind Regards,
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not ideal for a tourist visit as it is on the edge of the city centre. A positive point is that it is very close to a metro station. Overall the hotel gives a feeling of luxury but rooms, in particular bathrooms, are relatively small. Amenities are not generous: 1 mini bottle of shampoo for 2. In fact nothing in the hotel is generous. The AC is quite noisy. Breakfast is very expensive, even by Intercontinental standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid and for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experiences with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not at your entire satisfaction. I would like to profusely apologize for any discomfort you may have had experienced.

Having a customer leaving the Hotel without having been able to meet his expectations is a real frustration for us and we will do our utmost to gain your confidence again if you let us.

Looking forward to welcoming you.
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Not my first visit to Madrid but first timer in the InterContinental Madrid.
I stayed there the weekend from 24th to 26th of august. Upon arrival in the hotel I was immediately escorted by the very helpful staff to the club lounge for the check-in which went flawless. After receiving all helpful information relating to the hotel I was assigned room the clubroom 654 and yes, it had a balcony :).
The location of the hotel.. ok, it wasn't quite right next to Grand Via or Sol but if you familiarize yourself with the Madrid subway system, it's no biggy because the hotel lies only about 2 minutes walk from the subway station Gregorio Marañón taking you in about 10 minutes to the places that matter. Madrid airport was less than 30 minutes. I rather preferred the more quiet location.
The room was spacious enough, furniture in great condition and cleanliness was spotless.
Breakfast was included and there was plenty to choose from, everything looked well prepared.
All personnel I encountered during my stay were very pleasant.
Special thanks goes out to the club room attendants, you were simply great.
During my entire stay I didn't find anything I could be complaining about.
Keep up the the good work InterContinental Madrid.
I will be back ones I happen to be in the area.
Thank you all for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank SmooveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review regarding the InterContinental Madrid.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Madrid a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I visted Madrid for the first time in July, and wanted a affordable, clean hotel that was centrally located. The hotel itself was affordable, clean but at least a brisk 45min walk from the attractions e.g Grand Vie, The Prado Museum and The vibey city nightlife that Madrid offers, so the location was not as convientent as I hoped. However the hotel breakfast has a excellent variety( accept when u ordered a fried egg you have to be very patient as it could take at least 15min) The hotel bar (lounge) area service was very good although the English was not great they had a could do attitude.
However I found the conciege not very helpful which was a shame, and did not promote things to do in there beautiful city during our four day stay. Oops and no pool, was a shame.

Room Tip: We had a Standard double which was very small, with a back view, if you can afford try and get a exe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding the InterContinental Hotel Madrid.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not at your entire satisfaction. I would like to apologize for the discomfort you had experienced. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. But we appreciate you taking the time to prise our staff. These kinds of comments make us work even harder to be better and thrive.

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We wanted a luxury hotel in a quiet but central location and that is exactly what we got. The hotel meets the usual Intercontinental high standards. We were given a room with a balcony, which was a nice touch. Staff very helpful and the hotel is spotless. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Mandy014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write such a nice review of the InterContinental Madrid. Customer satisfaction is our end goal so we are very happy to read that you had such a positive experience with us.

Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Service overall is of high standard. Room service is fast with high quality food. Staff at concierge and reception is very friendly and efficient, and so is the phone operator (instant service) who seems to know everything and answered instantly on all questions that I asked. The breakfast buffet was good, without excesses in variety, but good enough though, and the service is outstanding. My room was comfortable, the curtains really close during day time allowing you a dark sleep, the bathroom is good and well equiped, the bedroom is very cleand and comfortable, the only problem being the outside traffic noise during the night, so you should request a quiet room. The gym is also high quality and free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ALEXANDRE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding the InterContinental Madrid.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Madrid a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in august in this hotel witch is 2 minutes away from the metro station Gregorio Maranon and have also the autobuses that passes in the front of the hotel. ( also by night, every 20 minutes).So, first of all I was vell impressed that I was recognised as Platinum member and get the Internet for free in the lobby and Also in The room for me and my friend that I was with. The hotel is very nice, and if you go to Intercontinental as usual is quite the same. They were offering me the king size bed room at the first floor, but they were also very king and when I asked for a room with balcony with the street view, they were offering me The one that I asked for. Even if is a bit smaller than the first one and the furniture was a bit old than I was expected, the view was perfect and wasn't that noisy! If you close the doors at the balcony you will not hear any outside noise. The only problem that I had was when I get the invoice at check-out. I found myself with 2 nights of parking, even though I didn't had a car, and didn't asked anything about parking. But when I complained, they immediately modified and paid the sum that I expected to pay.

I will definetely go again in an Intercontinental and this aslo!

Room Tip: Choose high floor 7th floor with balcony even is the rooms are smaller. I had 722 room street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoriT_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest,


Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding the InterContinental Madrid. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,
A. Fernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,482 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 438 in Madrid
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,058 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#37 of 438 in Madrid
1,949 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 438 in Madrid
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £137 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing