We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service,great staff,very nice experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service,great staff,very nice experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Pleasant experience,we had a nice,clean,quiet room with balcony,the staff was really helpful and friendly,everything we requested was sent more or less in 5 minutes.Liked the bathroom with separate door to the toilet.Nice location,metro station gregorio maranon very close.I wish we had more time to spend in the room,as we did sightseeing all day..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank elenip84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid.

We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable. I will pass along your comment about our staff being very helpful. That’s what we are aiming for, guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Kind regards,
A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    494
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
274
628
93
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstoneworth
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Splendid Club Lounge, very relaxed, with food and drink replenished available 11:00-23:00. Breakfast was taken outside, and was a fairly comprehensive affair, although some of the offerings had an unusual Meditterranean twist applied - baked bens with red peppers, mushrooms and asparagus ..... Standard of service good at all times, apart from Friday evening, when things seemed scaled down a little, perhaps because there were not so many businessmen to cater for/schmooze.

Had a one bedroom suite, which was a good size for the family, containing the usual amazingly comfy Intercontinental beds.

A fair distance from the centre of Madrid, especially in the August heat, but taxis are cheap and plentiful - taxi to Puerta del Sol is €6.40, so do NOT let taxi drivers add any spurious charges to this!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricOttershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

Kind regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

The place is a little on the older side, but is beautifully appointed and the service is amazing. The front desk, concierge and bar all made me feel really welcome and gave me directions wherever I needed to go. Its not right at the Plaza Mayor, but you can take a quick metro ride and cabs are cheap. Also easy access to the airport for a reasonable (30 euros max) cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank N1120A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

With best regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Intercontinental Hotel in Madrid has lovely common spaces and some of the rooms are very nice. However, the small details that one normally expects from a luxury hotel were missing on a recent stay. The first room offered reminded me of a new york city studio apartment with a poor layout and was far too small for a couple. The second room offered was much better but with twin beds that could only be brought together by rearranging the furniture. The hotel does not offer newspapers; the rooms lack full length mirrors and our room did not have a book of the services on offer at the hotel. Internet charges are 20 euros unless you sign up for the priority rewards program. Housekeeping forgot to leave shampoo or change the glasses in the bathroom. Small details make for a nice stay. Intercontinental would be very nice if it paid closer attention to the details.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest,

In the first instance, I would like to thank you for having chosen the InterContinental Hotel during your recent visit to Madrid.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was not at your entire satisfaction. Please accept our most sincere apologies the inconveniences. I can assure you that we have taken the necessary measures to avoid that this happen again.

Apologizing again for our shortcomings on this occasion, we hope that you will grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental as soon as your travel plans next bring you to Madrid.

Yours faithfully,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Pleasant, Made us happy.!!
Convenient location, great, friendly staff, fantastic bar/lounge. Good food. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Perfect stay!! Everything was great! great value for money.
The staff were always willing to help on all enquiries, wether it was regarding changing rooms, enquiring re restaurants, taxi, metro other tourist attractions, booking tickets etc.
Restaurant/bar tenders very courteous & friendly. Hotel was immaculately clean & fresh.

Room Tip: Not many views unfortunately, but If you are in madrid you would be spending most time out & abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay and we will pass your comments to our employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location, very close to the metro, and walking distance to many sights. The staff was friendly and the rooms are clean, but small. We had a double which was two twin beds pushed together. It was fine for our short, two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAWhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid. We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable. I will pass along your comment about our staff being very helpful. That’s what we are aiming for, guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

have just come back from a 3 nght stay at this hotel with my husband. I found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely with a nice big bathroom. I cannot comment on the the food as we decided the hotel was far too expensive at 9 euros for half a grapefruit! for breakfast. There were plenty of nice resturants and tapas bars around the surrounding area of the hotel. It is also cose to the metro so is a good base for travelling around Madrid. Would definately stay at this hotel again

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

With best regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#11 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing