We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magnificent hotel in Madrid, perfect for business or tourism.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A magnificent hotel in Madrid, perfect for business or tourism.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Madrid Intercontinental Hotel is a luxurious and comfortable place to stay in a beautiful city. The rooms are spacious and modern with all the amenities. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. I visiter during a strike and got excellent help with dealing with any disruption. You are well located to visit the Prado or the Palace.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid. We are very happy to know that your recent visit has been very enjoyable.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    487
    158
    36
    24
See reviews for
273
619
93
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stroud
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend break in Madrid and as usual stayed in the Intercontinental hotel. It's a beautiful hotel slightly away from the busy tourist areas but still within an easy walk or short bus or metro ride from everything you'll have on your "must see" list. All of the staff, without exception, are both very professional and very welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are quiet and tastefully decorated, the bar and lounge areas warm and comfortable, the food good, and the restaurant and courtyard lovely areas for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank serenagreentrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid and it's staff.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is really rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire staff as a reinforcement to continue with this line of work.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

A peaceful but busy hotel in Madrid. You won't find it in the centre of the city but just north in a financial/residential area next to a subway station (Gregorio Maranon) offering easy access to everywhere. Aside from the main road the hotel sits on (PASEO DE LA CASTELLANA) the area is quiet and has a few bars/cafes to visit - including Hard Rock Cafe (via a 15 min walk).

Our room had a balcony (without a great view) and the room was plenty big enough for the 2 of us. 20 minutes or so from the airport and only a few stops from all the key sights.

The staff were most helpful in providing information about things to see and do and arranged a late check out without any fuss.

Well worth a stay if in Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dharri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write this nice review about the InterContinental Madrid and it's staff.

We pride ourselves in knowing that we made such a good impression on you that you would recommend the InterContinental Madrid to other customers. It is really rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire staff as a reinforcement to continue with this line of work.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind regards,
A. Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife of one year and I returned to Madrid for a quick trip to celebrate our 1st anniversary back in early October and really enjoyed staying here. We had a room on the 8th Floor which was good size and had a nice balcony. The club level accommodations were very nice and we found our concierge, Laura, to be so helpful in making sure the short time we spent (4 days) was maximized. We were lucky enough to get to know the staff in the lounge a bit and they took every opportunity to make us feel as comfortable as we would if we were regulars in a neighborhood bar. David, Jose' (The Grandfather), and Jose' (Pepe) recognized that we were celebrating our anniversary and went out of their way to make it special each night that we saw them.
The hotel is located on Paseo de la Castellana which is essentially a main drag that runs north to south through the city and provides access to many of the neighborhoods you would want to visit. All in all, i give this hotel 5 stars because every aspect of the stay met or exceeded our expectations. The staff, room, location, and service were all right up there. We will likely visit a different part of Spain next year but if we make it through Madrid again we will call the Intercontinental first.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank crb617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. Guest comments like yours really make us feel that all the hard work that we put into every guest visit, pays off.

We are thrilled that your experience with us has been so good resulting in an amazing overall experience in Madrid.

We sure will pass along your comment about our Club staff. I realized you have really made good friends in Madrid!!


We hope to welcome you back very soon to our hotel,

Kind regards,

A. Fernández & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Madrid Intercontinental is a luxurious five-star hotel in the center of Madrid. The lobby area exudes luxury. The bar area is inviting. The breakfast buffet is extensive and the food is delicious. Service is exactly what one would expect from a first-class five-star hotel.

The bedrooms are charmingly decorated and the bathrooms are comfortable. Internet is available in the rooms for an extra cost.

I stayed at the Madrid Intercontinental twice in September, the first time for 3 nights and the second time for one night, and would definitely go back in the future.

The only caution I would make to prospective guests is that the location is more suited to business travelers. While on the main boulevard in Madrid, it is a long walk to the museums. The area is very nice and has many restaurants in the area, but I believe that the major tourist attractions are a long hike away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that your experience at the InterContinental Hotel Madrid has been magnificent. We take pride in knowing that thanks to your recent experience you would be likely to return, and that you recommend us. Guest satisfaction is our most important goal.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice review about us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,

A. Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I travel a great deal internationally for business on a somewhat restricted budget. I have consistently found this hotel, over several stays over the past two years, to be well-appointed and comfortable and well-serviced for its price class. The rooms are well maintained and kept very clean. The hotel bar is well serviced and very comfortable for both business meetings and after-dinner drinks. I have also been to Madrid on vacation and stayed at two boutique luxury hotels for much more money. If I went to Madrid again for vacation, frankly I would stay at the Intercontinental rather than returning to those luxury hotels. Overall, the value here is much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback and positive rating. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Madrid in the near future.

With best regards,
A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel is clean and the service was fine but the facilities were poor, no pool, the rooms I must say were just average. The bar was so expensive that we only bought one drink and then drank locally.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask or a double for single occupancy as the twin rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthamptonRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Executive Office at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are sorry that our bar prices have not meet your expectations, but we really hope you have enjoyed your stay and also our services and atmosphere which is very important for us.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon

A.Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#42 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century palace was the inspiration for this emblematic hotel in Madrid, situated on one of the city's most famed thoroughfares. Culinary delights include El Jardin with an exquisite menu overseen by renowned head chef Miguel de la Fuente. Bar 49 serves fine local wines and the city's signature tapas. Ideally located in the cultural and business district, the hotel is minutes from the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Real Madrid Museum and elegant Serrano shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing