We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Estoy en casa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Estoy en casa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

An absolute perfect stay, location is ideal for work and pleasure.
Rooms are large, clean and well maintained. Club lounge is a delight and food in El Jardin very imaginative and great quality.
I cannot wait to return

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sam M:

Quisiera darle las gracias por sus amables en nombre de todo el equipo de InterContinental Madrid.

¡Estamos muy contentos de saber que con nosotros se siente en casa!

Esperamos recibirle de nuevo muy pronto.

Muchas gracias y un cordial saludo,

Manrique Rodríguez
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    492
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
274
627
93
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just came back from the Intercontinental Hotel in Madrid. I love staying at this hotel for various reasons:

1 - The Staff can't do enough to ensure that your stay is memorable. I was blown away by the fact that when I walked through the door, the Doorman, recognized me, and welcomed me back to the hotel.

2 - The hotel is a block away from the Metro, which if you have an issue paying 30.00 Euros vs. 4.50 Euros to get from and to the airport like I do, it is more than convenient. To me it is a no brainer. If you want to go towards the “Centro” Chueca, Gran Via, etc. The Ruben Dario Metro Station is 2 blocks from the hotel. The Gregorio Maranon Station is one stop away from Renfe’s Nuevos Ministerios is 1 block away from the hotel. This place is definitely well located!

3 - Always ask the front desk if they are offering the access to the Club lounge at check in. The free breakfast and afternoon cocktails and hors d’oeuvres are worth the access upgrade!

4 - The location is one of the best, and safest of all Madrid and if you don’t mind using public transportation to go everywhere, this hotel is perfectly located for that.

5 - Rooms are comfortable, the marble in the bathroom is gorgeous, the rooms are quiet and the bed is extremely comfortable. The selection of TV Channels for whatever time you are in the room is great and the internet service is FAST!

I go to Madrid at least once a year, and for me, there is no other hotel in the city. This hotel is the Jewel of Madrid!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about an upgrade access to the Club Lounge, breakfast, afternoon cocktails and ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Carlos Xavier M,

Thank you very much for sharing you nice experience with us on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to know how much you liked our Club Lounge, location and services of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The location of the hotel is very convenient, to catch the Metro or the local buses… The check-in to the hotel was very easy, typical check-in process. The rooms are nice, I stayed on the 7th floor, my window and balcony faced the road ( If you have a choice, get a room away from the main street). The bed is comfortable, the pillows are a mix of soft and medium. The T.V. typical flat screen, the bathroom had a separate toilet room (which I like), the shower was nice and the bathroom had a towel warmer….. Iron and Ironing Board in the room….. The Breakfast buffet each morning is great, the servers are nice and take care of you…. I didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel.. the hotel bar is nice, expensive, but nice...

The hotel room did have an issue with the temperature….I couldn't lower the heat, so at night, I had to open the window/balcony door to get the room cooler, but the road noise, made it difficult to sleep… Spoke with a couple of fellow visitors and they had the same issue….So, if you like your room "Hot", then this isn't an issue….Overall, a nice place to play and I believe I would stay here again…..

Room Tip: Get a room away from the Main road…...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear TravelingKnome,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion.

We are happy to know you like our hotel, services and its location.

We are sorry about the heat problem, we are going to check what happened in roder to solve it.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Last week marked my 5th stay here, at roughly one year intervals. That much by itself speaks volumes. It's so comforting to walk up to a hotel and have the doorman greet you with a big smile of recognition and offer a genuinely warm welcome.

It's much the same level of cordiality in the cozy, attractive club room where one of waiters recalled the details from a chat two years ago as if it was yesterday. And the food! The chef there is a true artist with both the breakfast buffet and the evening canapes. She gladly shared her secrets for a few dishes that were real masterpeices.

Located on the major north-south thoroughfare of Madrid, this hotel is very well placed for both business and leisure. Two metro stations and two bus stops are just minutes away, and the concierge was most helpful in helping us to plan some day trips.

This hotel is certainly NOT for the budget traveler. But if your circumstances permit you to experience this level of luxury then you just can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Though our room overlooked the bustling Paseo de la Castellana, it was remarkably quiet with no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomInAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear TomInAtlanta,

We would like to thank you for your fidelity to our hotel.

We feel really proud to acknowledge how you are always welcome by our people.

We hope to welcome you very soon.

Kind regards
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I can say that from 2013 travels this business travel to Madrid was "the ONE".
The atmosphere, the way everyone talked to you, the whole experience was at the highest level possible. And remember that we did not had any premium class room or travel package, they told me that's how they always treat the guests in "IC Madrid".
I had free bar, free internet access. Some of the room service was also included, they went crazy with us (me and my fellow colleagues).
Also dont forget to hit the spa, it will change you 180'.

Room Tip: just tip the guy at the front desk; or if is one of the nice ladies just "be a man", remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValentinKBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear ValentinKBL,

Thank you very much for your sharing your experience.

We feel happy to you have enjoy your business trip on our hotel and that all your needs were fullfilled.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Regards,
Manrique Rodruiguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Good location, excellent price to quality rooms

Have been there for years and always found a warm welcome here appreciating to deal with a very stable staff.

A special mention for the executive floor where I always find a very pleasant and helpful staff

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Philippe K,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are very happy to know that in all your visits you feel at home.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is fine, we got a penthouse with terrace,
THe GYM is in perfect shape, well equiped and not tiny like The Grand in Paris.
The location is not near the center, although you can arrive easily with the metro (take the Miguel exit).
I was dissapointed with the sauna, it was turned off when i wanted to get it after my GYM session. I had to turn it on by myself and wait like 30 minutes till it was hot enough (sec sauna).
There was not a vapeur.
Despite that, this hotel is fine enough if you dont care not been in the very center.
Cheers

Room Tip: Try to get the penthouse with terrace, and order ice with a nice champagne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeManInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear PeManInLondon,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on trip advisor.

I would recommend you to use better Ruben Dario Underground Station, which is only 4 stops to Gran Via, in 10 minutes you will be in the main center of Madrid.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#11 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing