We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice surprise in madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #33 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
274 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“a nice surprise in madrid”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

intercontinental hotels are generally good but this property offer more than the usual one can expect for this category of hotel.from the moment you stepout of your taxi you are being greeted by a very warm wellcome from the doorman.the recption is very polite and attentive and if you stry in the club room you are provided with a very nice breakfast and a very good concierge service.the spa is also very good. all in all a very nice stay and very competitively priced for 5 stars hotel

Room Tip: suite 760 a very nice two bedroom suite with a very nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yosef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Yosef L,

We would like to thank for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We are very happy to know you have really enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    498
    158
    37
    24
See reviews for
278
635
94
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I recently treated the current Mrs Kinder to a weekend break in Madrid and it seemed a good time to use up those IHG points. I arranged a car to meet us at the airport ... which was waiting and our evening Check in was an excellent welcome and extremely efficient. As a Platinum IHG member we were upgraded to a n executive room which faced the inner courtyard on the 5th floor. The room was very clean and all facilities provided and thevroom was quiet as it faced the courtyard.
Service and coutesy especially in the Club lounge was superb and sipping cocktails in the main lounge listening to a piano playing was divine.
The hotel is not in the main tourist area but in the business district , but the Madrid City Tour bus stops nearby and taxis are plentiful .... or have a gentle 40 mins walk along the central promenade.
Courtyard of the hotel shows its age ... but the superb staff make this a hotel I would recommend to all.
Mike Kinder


T

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear MrMikeySwindon,

We would like to thank you for your comment on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay, our location and staff.

Lookinfg forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental for my birthday celebration and it was simply wonderful.

Our room was spacious with every amenity, the bed and bed linens of the highest quality and soft comfortable pillows to dream on.

The breakfast buffet is of super quality with lots of choices. Pastries that were as light as a feather, I probably had more than my fair share! Everything was delicious and the chef kept the food stocked up at very frequent intervals.

The very best thing about this hotel is its superb staff, each and everyone of them contributed to making our stay a delight. Nothing was too much trouble, every request delivered efficiently with a smile. It is for this reason the intercontinental Madrid is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We had a room with a small terrace overlooking the courtyard below. It was lovely and quiet at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mercury50,

We would like to thank you for your positive comment regarding your last stay in our Hotel.

We are very pleased to know you haave enjoyed room and hotels services, but we are really happy to know it was our staff who make the difference.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed there for two nights on business. The hotel is very welcoming and it;s main asset is its staff. Front of house to room service and not forget the guys at the bar who never keep you waiting.

The food and service is excellent too.

Room Tip: My room was clean and comfortable - no complaints - but I guess that is to be expected from this cha...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WhickerSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear WhickerSmith,

Thank you very much for your comments about our people!

We hope to welcome you very soon again.

Regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Professional and well mannered Staff, exellent breakfast! Good room comfort and sound-proofed, housekeeping service perfect. Well located near the city centre but not in the noisy down town area.
I'll come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangrande R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Roberto C,

Thank you very much for sharing you experience with us.

Very pleased to know you have enjoyed our breakfast. We have just renewed it some weeks ago!

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

With kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, USA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on a business trip. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff stood out above all else – from doormen, to concierges, to bar waiters, to room service servers, everyone had a smile and an eagerness to help and please the guests.

Room was a bit crowded, comfortable bed, traditional furniture style. Bathroom was roomy with more of a modern style. The con in the room was the closet. It didn’t have space to hang long pieces, such as coats or dresses as the safebox was in the way and the ironing board/iron were also blocking the only space available for long items.

Breakfast was varied and complete, good selection of cereals, cold cuts, fruits and hot items. I dined at the bar once, had a small soup which was ok.

Hotel is located in one of the best areas of Madrid, so it was safe to walk at night. It’s about a 10-15 min walk to the shopping street areas.

I recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vero_PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Vero_PK,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay with us. We pleased to know you have enjoyed our services and our location.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked it as a Lastminute secret hotel, so the price was really good value.

Stayed here for 4 nights in January and had a really nice stay.

The hotel is located about 100m from a subway/metro station, so it's easy to get around the city. Although a lot of the city is within walking distance (15 minutes) being that most things are centrally located.

I was really impressed with the room. The bed was huge and comfortable. You also get the choice of 8 or 9 different pillows from the Pillow Menu. The room itself had a charm to it also. Didn't feel like many other 5 star hotels. It had it's own individual style.

I couldn't justify eating there. I wanted to try the breakfast, but at around £30/$50 i just couldn't do it, when there are so many great places to eat in the city.

The Bathroom was also really nice, with the toilet in a separate section to the showers and sinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Napoleon_Ultra,

We are very pleased to have been your "Last Minute Secret hotel" and to acknowledge that it was a nice surprise for you!

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.


Kind regards

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing