We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in madrid .....pure class. Superb service by the team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #35 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best hotel in madrid .....pure class. Superb service by the team”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A superb stay here
Staff were great. Breakfast was awesome
Location a little out of centre but no real problem
Decor and open areas were all very smart

Stay here you will be happy and it's top notch .

Room Tip: No pool but you don't need one Loads to do in madrid Has a gym etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sst123,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are pleased to know you enjoy our hotel services, breakfast and our staff has meet your expectations.

With kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    504
    157
    37
    25
See reviews for
284
639
94
530
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice hotel. High standard provided.
Position is excellent, in quiet and green area, and with two underground stops in the nearby. Calle Serrano, shopping district and restaurant, is within walking distance
Rooms are big, very comfortable bed and very good bathroom facilities, especially shower is really good.
Classic hotel style, service are generally good even though the personell is not always helpful (i.e. to "kick out" client who just paid their drinks from the hotel bar because "there is an incoming event" is not exactly the best...).
Very good breakfast, especially the sweet part with excellent croissants.
Price is adequate for the standard provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Massimo R,

We would like to thank for sharing you comment about your experience on trip advisor.

We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and our hotel and services.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent venue for my business meeting, the location was perfect on paseo castellon with easy access to the finest shopping in madrid, i only stayed for 2 nights but the service was great and the food exceptional, highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indromen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Indromen,

Thank you very much for your nice comment regarding your last stay with us. We would recommend you to come back again just for leisure!

As you said, Serrano Street is just 10 minutes walking, also city center is 10 minutes by bus, metro or taxi. And you have just 5 minutes walking Museum Sorolla, which is really wonderful.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed just for one night, and for the money this is a very average hotel, it feels tired, old and really needs some freshness to the hotel. I checked in early, and front desk was helpful in trying to get me a room but I really do not like it when they tell you the only room available is next to the lift. Dark, small and noisey! So I ended up waiting until dead on 3pm for a second room to come free, but as I say the lady on the front desk was nice and polite. At lunch I ate in the bar, I did try in the garden area next to the bar but got told, no no no, you can't eat and sit outside which seemed strange as they had tables, umbrellas etc! Anyway service in the bar was cold and harsh. Food was average, nothing special, just expensive. The bedrooms are ok, typical intercontinental. Dated, tired and old. They are large rooms and clean but limited TV, bath, shower, two sinks, tea and coffee, air on which works ok and average views. The beds are hard and there is internet free of charge and plenty of lighting in the room. I used the gym which is well equipped for a great work out. The location is ok, nothing apical but it is very easy to get a taxi. Breakfast again is an average affair. The food was limited but service was good. Check out was quick and easy. Overall an average hotel, easy for business but not much more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Dragek,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are sorry that your stay was not at your entire satisfaction. Regarding your comment about our outdoor terrace I am no sure about what day was your stay, but we have been doing a renovation iin that area. Perhaps it is the reason why you was told not no to have lunch outside.

I am sorry for this inconvenience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome back very soon.

Kind regards,
Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Good base from which to explore Madrid. We visited as couple for the weekend. Managed to get a good deal via British Airways (stay 2 nights get third free). Very expensive drinks - a cup of tea and a bitter lemon (Schweppes mixer) cost 14.50 euros! Would imagine this caters mainly for business clientele who put most thing on expenses. We had a nice quiet room at the back. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Emily113,

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about your last stay in our hotel.

Thank you very much,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our first stop on a three city, two week vacation to Spain. It was a good first stop...the staff is very friendly, and it was the perfect location for what we were looking to do. You can walk to all of the museums, and there's some awesome people watching to be done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhea1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mrhea1325,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your last stay in Madrid.

We are happy to know you have enjoyed our staff service and our location.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

With kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here 4 nights last week, was not blown away. The room was small and not well laid out, the beds were not comfortable, room had no view, there is not a sundry store. On the plus side, the concierge desk was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is an easy walk from the park, Prado, Plaza Mayor, etc. Really liked the staff, but would not stay in this hotel if I were back in Madrid.

Room Tip: Maybe a room with a view of something other than walls would help the room be less blah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Eric B,

We are sorry to know that your stay has not been at your entire satisfaction.

We are really hope to welcome you again and been able to meet your expectations.

With kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#10 of 436 in Madrid
442 reviews
Hesperia Madrid
#14 of 436 in Madrid
1,376 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 436 in Madrid
2,049 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 436 in Madrid
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Madrid hotel is a cosmopolitan retreat that opens up the real charm and passion of this vibrant city. A sense of occasion takes over the minute you step into our marble-lined lobby, where a sumptuous brunch is served on Sundays. Fine dining, award-winning business facilities and a 24-hour gym make the hotel a destination in itself. Salamanca's high-end fashion boutiques are a short distance from the hotel, as are Madrid's world-class museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing