We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Ranked #36 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What you would expect....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent two nights here as we were traveling Spain.... Well located in Paseo de la Castellana very close to Bernabeu Stadium and Plaza de Castilla. Have to say that the fitness room is great and well equipped. Parking is difficult around the area if you are driving I suggest you use their parking services although seem expensive it will pay off on convenience and after paying parking meters you will probably come a head and no tickets! If you prefer the great public system there are two metro stations one to the right ( Gregorio Marañon) another to the left ( Nuevos Ministerios) depending the line you need. Go a head and submerge yourself in the neotapas restaurants around the area or just the classics like Jamon Serrano or Chorizo iberico!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynotforsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Ynotforsure,

Thank you very much for your nice comment posted on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed our hotel, city and wonderful tapas!

We will be very happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    487
    158
    36
    24
See reviews for
273
619
93
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely hotel , great staff, rooms very clean, really bad internet, not really close to attractions but very convenient metro station, special thanks to Housekeeping, i left a not requesting extra bath gel and the lady left some, that was really nice
Muchas Gracias

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanAG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear I A,

Thank you very much for your comment on trip advisor.

We are sorry about our internet service, we was suffering some problems days ago that are now solved.

Thank you very much for your feedback about Housekeeping, we will pass them your words.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good, not great. Noisy because of work at the moment and for some reason the entrance area was a bit smelly. Also do not love the fact that anyone can walk in and take the elevator without too much trouble. And the elevators got stuck several times. Hmmm. But classy business hotel, with good club for 'ambassadors' and decent breakfast. Room, bed, bathroom all fine. Nice work area. Wifi a bit bumpy. Good TV with solid options. Not a great area to walk around, or for shopping and restaurants. The metro connections pretty much all require changing lines at least once, but ample taxi's and on major Avenida. Pretty much as expected from an Intercontinental.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mbiz,

We are sorry to hear that your stay has not been at your entire satisfaction.

For a furture visit I will be very pleased to give you some tips regarding restaurants and shopping area around us.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Was staying with my wife at Hotel Inter Continental Madrid. Location was a bit too far from the old town, but if you like walking, no problem. The lux shop area was 10 mins away, good. Hotel itself has a step to take as the room was quite small and the club floor club food did not make any impression. The interior was nice and elegant.
Inter Continental head waiter José with nice grayish hair was excellent with old school style! In overall we would give 8 1/2.

Room Tip: Ask the room not facing the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tappis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Tappis2014,

We would like to thank you for having chosen InterContinental Madrid for you last visit to Madrid.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We checked I to this wonderful hotel last friday for a 2 night stay. The hotel was wonderful, with a beautiful club lounge, with great customer service. The rooms were lovely, clean and very quite. The hotel is a business hotel but you can still easily was to the tourist areas. I would recommend this hotel to tourist and business as it is a great hotel in a good location. Breakfast was wonderful. The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julieed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Julieed,

Thank you very much for your nice comment posted on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed five nights in early June, 2014. We booked two club rooms, and I highly recommend doing so if you stay. There is a separate check-in at the club lounge which, depending on how busy the lobby is, can speed that process. However, the best reason to book the club rooms is the lounge, which is open from 7am to 11pm and is always well stocked with breakfast foods or snacks, and a variety of things to drink. It's a quite large, very comfortable lounge, rarely crowded during our stay and if like us, you are not quite on Madrid time and can't wait until 10pm for dinner, it's a life-saver.

If you do decide on dinner there are, of course, great choices close by, but the hotel's Garden restaurant is also lovely, with excellent service and food. Service, in fact, is outstanding in general at the Intercontinental; there seems always to be someone nearby to help, and the maids seem to pop into the rooms anytime you are out of them to straighten up, refresh the linens, etc. Can't speak for any but the club rooms, and they are quite large and comfortable, with correspondingly large and well-appointed baths.

This was our 3rd stay over two years and the service and experience were consistently excellent each time. I don't know Madrid well, but this area is really quite nice, and also convenient to many of the attractions for tourists. The lobby can be quite busy - each of our stays coincided with stays of visiting dignitaries ( president of Mexico this last time, for instance ), but the rooms are peaceful and quiet. All in all, an excellent place to stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: rooms at front overlook the Paseo de la Castellana, and you will get some street noise, but I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Michael M,

We would like to thank on behalf of all our staff for your nice comment regarding your stay and regarding our team.

We feel really happy after reading that your experience has been wonderful!

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was fortunate to spend two nights in this great hotel. Every part of my stay was excellent and the staff were so attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble - they really made you feel like a guest. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. There is also a 25 inch HD TV which was very nice indeed. And the breakfast selection was superb - an all-around great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Lawrence_Sasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear John L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with other travellers your opinion.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our breakfast and other services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Kind regards,

Manrique Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#23 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madrid

Property: InterContinental Madrid
Address: Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Madrid
#9 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Family Hotel in Madrid
#16 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th-century palace was the inspiration for this emblematic hotel in Madrid, situated on one of the city's most famed thoroughfares. Culinary delights include El Jardin with an exquisite menu overseen by renowned head chef Miguel de la Fuente. Bar 49 serves fine local wines and the city's signature tapas. Ideally located in the cultural and business district, the hotel is minutes from the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum, Real Madrid Museum and elegant Serrano shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing