We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Intur Palacio San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Intur Palacio San Martin
Ranked #71 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, central location, clean but dated rooms, and a quiet hotel considering only 1 block from Sol. Only issue for me was no external view, our hotel room looked over the hotel foyer. However value for money was spot on. We never ate or drank a thing in the hotel, so cannot comment on that, I would have no issues recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    527
    90
    29
    7
See reviews for
152
587
51
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. The hotel is in a great location, close to lots of things to see and do, and yet is on a small, quiet square which is surrounded by restaurant tables and umbrellas providing a nice reprieve from all of the pedestrian traffic a block away.
We got our room by walking in one morning and asking if anything was available. We were shown 2 rooms, both facing the inner courtyard which is now the hotel lobby. The room we chose was on the 5th floor, spacious, beautifully appointed and fairly light even though our window was not facing the square outside. The room was quiet and reasonable priced.
The staff was always helpful. The free internet always worked ( unlike the wi fi in other hotels).
We did not try the breakfast as it was too expensive. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The location around Pueto del Sol is terrific but this hotel room was just too small for two people and not a lot of luggage (lucky we didn't bring the cat) and the inside room looking into the light well made me and the room feel claustraphobic. The decoration of the room was very dated but in good condition and very well maintained. Showers great. Breakast too expensive at 14e per heaD. Overall not good value.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Novableu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of our trip. Our room was on the top floor so the only noise we heard was the clanging of the church bells at the convent next door, which we liked but might bother some. The location is excellent, close to the Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente, and even closer to Plaza Mayor and major pedestrian streets and shops. The staff was pleasant but minimal. The room was fine and comfortable, yet little details (e.g. bits of molding) were broken and laying on the floor though repaired the next day. We had a terrace but it had no furniture or seating. We did not have the breakfast buffet. We would still stay here again - but best is to request a room on upper floors with a window to the street.

Room Tip: upper floor, with window to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Ok, so I spent just one day and night at this hotel just a few days ago. It's a nice little hotel and a nice, safe area that is close to major attractions in Madrid. From the airport to the hotel I was charged $36 euros by taxi and returning to the airport I was charged $45 euros, which I thought was a lot...but the hotel arranged the return taxi so I don't know if they got a commission from the fare. My point is that keep in mind that it takes 30 minutes from the airport to the hotel, so it is a bit pricey if you take a taxi. Maybe you should look into public transportation to save some money.

Well now more about the hotel itself. The room is kind of on the small side, but clean and neat. The room I had didn't have much of a view, not sure about the other rooms. My biggest gripe is that there was no iron in the room. Fine. But no iron at all in the entire hotel that I could borrow??? That is a major disappointment. I don't know about anyone else, but I like to go out with neat, unwrinkled clothes. How in the world can a hotel not have an iron? As travelers, we fold our clothes and place them in our luggages, and by doing this it naturally gets wrinkled...I just can't believe that this hotel doesn't take this into consideration for their guests. I have stayed at hotels in all 6 continents (where there are hotels!), and have never encountered this before. Just the fact that there is not a single iron in the hotel will dissuade me from booking a room here in the future.

Room Tip: Bring your own iron!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexTheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and loved it. The location, we thought was perfect - quiet enough away from busy roads and traffic yet only a 5/10 minute walk to all the main tourist areas. The staff were very polite and helpful and we would stay here again if we visited Madrid again. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the square with a little balcony - I had took advice from recent travellers and e-mailed the hotel before we arrived to request this as I didn't fancy an 'internal' room, although I cannot comment on these....As for people saying the rooms are outdated - you have got to remember that this is a traditional spanish hotel and this appealed to us - I don't want to go to Madrid and stay in a Premier Inn hotel that could be anywhere! We really liked the decor, and the room was very clean and quiet - the only thing you could hear were the church bells every morning, but rather that than traffic noise! We had a very enjoyable stay - thank you Hotel San Martin!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou17Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located with a short walk away from the metro stops, royal palace and shops. It is certainly not the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at; the room was murky and old-fashioned with a horrid carpet and mint-green wallpaper, complete with gold-framed paintings. However, the bed was as big as anywhere, comfortable and clean, and while the bathroom was on the small side it was clean and the shower was very powerful.

Our 'view' was towards the glass-ceilinged courtyard so we chose to keep our curtains closed. On the plus side though, this meant that our room was very quiet with no noise from the street to disturb us.

Special mention to the restaurant staff who were all very helpful and chatty, after a long day walking around madrid it was nice to get back to the hotel and enjoy a glass of wine outside.

Carefully recommended; I would put down a special request to not get a room located like ours was.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rontti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,542 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#19 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intur Palacio San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intur Palacio San Martin

Property: Intur Palacio San Martin
Address: Plaza San Martin, 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#53 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Family Hotel in Madrid
#114 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Intur Palacio San Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Intur Palacio San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intur Palacio San Martin Hotel Madrid
Intur Palacio San Martin Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing