We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Intur Palacio San Martin
Nearby Hotels
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
544
578
98
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
578
98
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squarechurch bellsgreat locationroom overlooking the squareroyal palacewithin walking distancefrench doorsshort walkcentral locationquiet hotelsmall balconyspacious roombreakfast was excellenttop floornatural lightexcellent hotelquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Centrally situated and in easy reach of major tourist areas and plenty of good restaurants. Rooms and beds very comfortable, only complaint was the difficulty of getting out of the bath as the toilet & bidet were too close to the bathtub (this could be a problem for elderly or disabled travellers). Breakfasts varied & plentiful with particularly outstanding coffee. Service equally good, friendly and helpful. Inner glass-roofed courtyard & internal sitting area gave this hotel a charming Spanish touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces outside over the square as the rooms facing the inner courtyard could be claustrophic
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troilus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

"Dear Customer,
We appreciate your positive review about your stay at our establishment. We are many the employees who work hard everyday to try and exceed the expectations of all our customers and it makes us very happy and proud when we read comments like yours. We hope we can welcome you again at any of our hotels very soon.
Yours sincerely,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

In a stark contrast with my typical experience reading TripAdvisor reviews, I must strongly disagree with everyone here. My wife and I checked in last night and we're greeted by two fairly rude and unhelpful gentlemen. We were given Room 2, on the ground floor, which was actually below street level.

Cold
Austere
Barren
Desolate
Inhospitable

Think of a room made to resemble the Berlin Wall. The floors are cold stone (dirty with someone else's hair). The walls, gray. One window with bar that let's in little light, dept for the shadows of strangers passing by. The size of the room is not enough to impact your desire to escape. Every time the door closed, there was a slam as if I was escaping or being locked in my cell.

The hotel is in a great location with a good enough restaurant out front, but none of that lessens the fact that thinking about the room depresses me. It makes me think of the life of as an ascetic monk. I would never dare book a room here again for fear of having this room again. It is so bad and there are so many hotels in Madrid, it isn't worth the risk.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Traveling4BiznFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

"Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We regret that your experience wasn´t as good as expected. It is thanks to comments like yours that we can keep improving and strive for excellence in our services which is what we aim for. We hope you can give us another chance. Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you may need. Yours sincerely,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent four days here, reception staff were excellent and helped us book restaurants. The location is ideal, within walking distance of the Palacio Real, Plaza Mayor and, if you have a coffee on the way, the galleries and museums around the Prado area. The location is on a quiet square but with frequent taxis passing on the side road. Nice outside seating area for snacks, and very good breakfasts. Also very close to a branch of the El Corte Inglés department store.

Room Tip: Inside rooms on the higher floors are probably best
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinSpeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A nice hotel with somewhat more than basic amenities (in-room wifi, room fridge, on-site restaurant). Desk staff are helpful and responsive. The rooms have been remodeled and upgraded since we stayed here 2 years ago, and are nicely appointed with a quiet HVAC system. Interior rooms open into a closed courtyard - lots of light but hermetically sealed. If you need fresh air ask for an outside room. Beds are comfortable. Didn't try the restaurant cuz prices were high. MANY excellent food choices in the neighborhood. You are half way between Gran Via and Arenal, 3 blocks from Puerta del Sol, and a 10 E taxi from Atocha train station.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air, ask for room on outside, not facing enclosed courtyard
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuho45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

"Dear Customer,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other travelers. It's nice to read those positive comments about us since this is what all employees work for at the Intur Family.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon at any of our hotels, please do not hesitate and contact us if you need to make your booking. Yours sincerely,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Arriving at intur palacio we were greeted by a nice woman at reception who gave us keys to our room. Good start.
The room was located on the ground floor however it was beneath street level. It was situated immediately next to an office and the common toilets for guests in the foyer & restaurant. This created considerable noise.
The room was like a dungeon as the only natural light that shone in was through an air vent style window. Otherwise, it was 4 concrete walls, dark and cold.
We were obviously disappointed about this, as the hotel's website and the external booking website we booked through didn't indicate any rooms such as the one we were assigned.
We went to the reception where we were met with protest. The manager said photos were on the website. We asked her to look. To her surprise we were correct and were then offered a nicer room as per pics on the website at an additional fee. She did offer free breakfast. We took her up on the offer, however, unhappy to have to pay extra, we obliged.
Later we called reception to book us a restaurant. Instead the man on the phone started debating the legitimacy of our room situation. As it turns out, restaurant reservation was NEVER made!
Finally at check out, we were charged for breakfast which we of course debated.

Pro: our room 414 was lovely in the end. The location is great.
Cons: we were treated like garbage. The staff speak in a disgusting manner. You can't leave anything valuable in the room that doesn't fit in the safe (as per TA reviews). They didn't follow up on reservation requests.
Check out, no apology, more debate, and an awful feel leaving what is an absolutely beautiful city!
Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 414 was a great room, however, the beds were joined together to make a king size and they separated. ie: didn't have a fitted sheet keeping them together.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bg_ALoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Customer,
First of all thank you for recording on Tripadvisor your experience at our hotel. We regret not having succeeded in meeting your needs in relation to your booking, I would like to inform you that we have taken appropriate actions and this situation will not happen again. We would kindly ask you to get in touch with us so we could give you a deeper explanation of what happened.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews