We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Rooms, and Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Intur Palacio San Martin
Ranked #76 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, Rooms, and Convenience”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After scoping out the center city location on a map, then reviews on TripAdvisor, we went with this hotel getting a double and single room. Don't select, or at least check out a single room. The room was much smaller than the double and had a small window. However, our double with king bed was spacious and had double opening door/windows with a small balcony and view over the square. Double glazed storm doors and the old windows kept out all noise, but the square is not a noisy location. The bed was very comfortable, and the hotel AC kept our room very cool for sleeping.

Besides being in a very central location with close-by subway stops Callao, Sol. and Opera, the large plazas are nearby, there are restaurants on every nearby street, and the hotel has the convenience of an underground car park immediately adjacent to the small square the hotel sits on. We parked our car for two days just steps away from the hotel. The hotel is an easy walk to the Royal Palace to the west, art museums to the east, and the Gran Via to the north. We found the breakfast to be a worthwhile extra when we booked, saving time and hassles. The front desk staff were helpful, but less than effusive. Never-the-less, we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a front of the hotel double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jzippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    540
    96
    31
    8
See reviews for
158
611
52
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband, our grown up daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights. Perfect location in quiet square 2mins walk from Sol and very close to Plaza Mayor, Palace etc. We had 2 rooms, one a very large, more traditional room with 2 double doors onto small balconies, the second a more modern, ground floor smaller room (but cheaper!) with high level window. Good clean bathrooms. Lovely building, very clean, nice staff. Breakfast looked very nice although we tended to go to a nearby cafe for a quick coffee and pastry. We did have the excellent set lunch in the terrace cafe out front one day which was great value at £13 euros for 3 courses with wine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a long overdue review from trip taken back in 2007; Hotel was in central walking distance to everything but in a quiet small square, if you can call it one; we had a comfortable and large size room and I recall being generally pleased; the only part that annoyed me each and every morning was stepping out the front door and the area even close to the hotel would have lots of gifts from the doggies, while I love dogs, it was too much and I felt the hotel could of taken steps to extend to the area right outside its front door to ensure pleasant entry and exit from the hotel; other than that, I recall the hotel to be just fine and work well, well priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel last week for 3 nights, it was a trip for my 50th Birthday, the hotel itself is well situated, very clean.However we were allocated a basement room with only a small 2 foot window at ceiling level with bars on the outside. There was a safe that was not attached to anything, The room itself was fresh, however it was not what I expected when I booked and from what I remembered from the website. I asked to be moved but was told in no uncertain terms that this was the room booked by the website I used. I checked my documents and don't see any reference to this room what so ever. They declined to move us. I have come home and checked the Hotel website again and there is is no picture of the type of room I was given. There is nothing like the room. It was the only disappointing aspect of our trip. I would recommend that anyone who books checks what room they are to be allocated in advance and ask for one above the ground floor.

Room Tip: Any room bar the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
"Dear Customer,
First of all thank you for recording on Tripadvisor your experience at our hotel. We regret not having succeeded in meeting your needs in relation to your room booked, I would like to inform you that we have taken appropriate actions and this situation will not happen again. We would kindly ask you to get in touch with us so we could give you a deeper explanation of what happened.
Yours sincerely,"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at this hotel located in the city center.
Ask for a room with a window looking to the street/place as some look at the yard which is closed by a glass ceiling and you may miss some fresh air during the night. One of the room we got was like that and at a simple request the staff arranged another one. The plaza San Martin is quiet at night and we didn't suffer from any traffic noise.
Breakfast is divers and rich in fruit, the whole family liked it.
Many restaurants in the surroundings and close to Gran Via for shopping.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OlivierTrelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in April. THis is a very quiet place, hotel faces a small square, no loud traffic around.

Everything is walking distance - Place Mayor, Museums, Parks. This is a main advantage for us, we like to reach all destinations on foot. Area is safe and clean, a lot restaurants around the corner.

We liked the place, it is city hotel, so room was not spacious, but bed was large and comfortable, shower spacious, safe in the room, and enough room in the closet. Good breakfast with variety of cold and hot foods, juices, coffee, pastries.

The very interesting place: Convent of the Royal Barefoot Nuns (Monasterios de las Descalzas Reales) - is located on the same square steps from the hotel. You have to stand line in the morning to get a times entry ticket - tickets are very limited. Being close allowed us to get entry to this very interesting place with a lot of history and art.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Loved the feel of this hotel which balanced old and new world charm. An oasis of calm in central Madrid. The old elevator in the centre of the hotel is beautifully maintained and provides a feeling of travelling back in time when used. The hotel also has a modern elevator. We stayed in a suite which had the luxury of a balcony which had a lovely view of the city rooftops. The room itself was extremely spacious and had a separate bathroom and living/dining area. The hotel is beautifully maintained and the staff are very helpful and accomodating. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
"Dear AM Lucas,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other travelers. It's nice to read those positive comments about us since this is what all employees work for at the Intur Family.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon at any of our hotels, please do not hesitate and contact us if you need to make your booking. Yours sincerely,"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,941 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,728 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 435 in Madrid
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 435 in Madrid
1,677 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#45 of 435 in Madrid
666 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 435 in Madrid
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intur Palacio San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intur Palacio San Martin

Property: Intur Palacio San Martin
Address: Plaza San Martin 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#57 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Family Hotel in Madrid
#115 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Intur Palacio San Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Intur Palacio San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intur Palacio San Martin Hotel Madrid
Intur Palacio San Martin Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing