We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Intur Palacio San Martin
Ranked #77 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is perfect. It's located extremely centrally, in a relatively quiet side street from the very central and busy Callao square, which is also the nearest metro stop. The square in front of the hotel is not too busy and a oasis in between the busier area of the Gran Via to the North and the nightlife and bars around the Opera to the South. Good, affordable restaurants are abundant within walking distance, so its perfect to have dinner and drinks and walk back to the hotel late at night.

The building used to be the USA embassy and was turned into a hotel relatively recently, in the 2000's. The style is classic and sober, with beautiful original wooden stairs among the highlights. A central courtyard was covered to become a wintergarden lounge.

Our bedroom was overlooking the square and very well insulated. The wi-fi worked perfectly, as did the airconditioning, which was easy to adjust. The ceilings are extremely high.

The staff is professional and helpful, like most of the Madrilenians we met.

I can't think of a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the square are amazing. They are very well sound insulated and are absolutely q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFPasternak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear JFPasternak,

We thank you for taking your time to write this five-star review about your last stay in INTUR Palacio San Martin, your motivating words encourage us to keep working even harder to fulfill our guest’s expectations and it is really comforting to hear that you appreciate the details we provided to make your stay more enjoyable. The hotel is indeed ideally located and a perfect base to explore the city.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    548
    96
    31
    8
See reviews for
158
618
53
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Intur Palacio San Martin was a real find. It is situated in the centre of Madrid at walking distance from many of the cultural places we wanted to visit, namely the Opera house, the Prado etc.
It is not a super luxurious hotel but it is very comfortable, very clean and with some lovely old fashioned details (including a very old and gorgeous lift as well as a modern one)!
Breakfast is also excellent. Staff are not very forthcoming except for one very nice guy but they are helpful enough.
The main feature for me was the fact that it was very affordable and very pleasant at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
"Dear Customer,
We appreciate your positive review about your stay at our establishment. We hope we can welcome you again at any of our hotels very soon.
Yours sincerely,"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Couldn't fault it. Perfect location, lovely boutique feel and friendly staff. Comfortable, clean room which was nicely air conditioned and had good quality wi-fi for free. Pretty good price for the standard it is as well. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food and wine were of a good standard (couple of veggie options too…which is rare in Spain). Situated on a quiet square right where you want to be… no night noise (4th floor). 2 metro stations close by. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Madrid now.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor (404) and were really pleased with it. Very quiet with no street noise (j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Google Translation
"Cher Honkycat,
Merci pour vos bons commentaires sur notre hôtel avec tous les utilisateurs de Tripadvisor.
Nous étirer ses mots à l'hôtel de l'équipe parce que les commentaires comme le vôtre nous motiver à continuer à travailler pour vous enfin aller de l'avant de revenir nous voir. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour votre prochaine visite (bientôt je l'espère) dans l'un de nos hôtels.
Jusque-là, Cordialement,"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were in Madrid for 2 nights and this hotel was perfect...excellent location. We took the Metro from the airport for about 4 Euro each and walked two blocks. It was central to everything, quiet, nice room although a bit small, very nice bathroom though and bed was good. The breakfast was excellent and included in our rate. Staff were very nice. We even had lunch there one day and it was good. I would definitely recommend it. Internet in the room was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesIntur, Gerente at Intur Palacio San Martin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
“Dear George,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review about the INTUR Palacio San Martin !! We are glad to hear your positive comments about our staff service, location and room. Your feedback motivates us to continue striving in all that we do!
If you plan to come to Madrid in the future, we will very glad to welcome you again.
Kind regards”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is within easy walk of all attractions in Madrid. We even walked here from the Atocha train station, although this did take us at least 15 minutes, and we weren't towing bags. I had read comments about noise, but the hotel was relatively quiet during our stay, even though it was the night of the Europa Cup final! Our room was great, with a balcony as well. The bathroom appeared spacious upon first inspection but the toilet and bidet were facing each other approximately 30 centimeters apart. No room to put your legs straight at all. We didn't have breakfast there or try the gym and sauna. Staff were pleasant and courteous, although not very informative. Maybe they realised we had visited Madrid before. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandKOntheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back this week after 4 nights in Madrid. Thought the hotel was excellent and fully merited 4 star rating.
Location is central but relatively quiet. Hotel is very elegant and all the staff were friendly. Room size was good and there was sufficient choice for breakfast to suit most tastes.
Ignore any reviews about the hotel being jaded, not true, and any reviewer who complains about lack of the English language should get a grip. Do they think when Spaniards visit the UK that they complain about lack of Spanish.......no, they make the effort to get some English before they come!

Joe and Kate(Glasgow)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then forsake the view from the front of the hotel for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Six of us stayed here in May 2014, our 3 rooms all on the 4th floor, as we had requested. As other reviewers have mentioned, we found the quiet location perfect yet within easy reach of Madrid's main areas of interest such as Plaza Mayor and Puerto del Sol.

The rooms were clean and spacious, the terrace bar a great meeting place, the buffet breakfast provided lots of choice to suit everyone's taste. The staff on Reception and throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful at all times.

We certainly recommend Intur Palacio San Martin for your stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Email the hotel to request rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,974 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,781 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 435 in Madrid
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#58 of 435 in Madrid
1,692 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#41 of 435 in Madrid
2,548 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#42 of 435 in Madrid
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intur Palacio San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intur Palacio San Martin

Property: Intur Palacio San Martin
Address: Plaza San Martin 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#59 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#81 Family Hotel in Madrid
#115 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Intur Palacio San Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Lastminute, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Intur Palacio San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intur Palacio San Martin Hotel Madrid
Intur Palacio San Martin Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing