We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Liabeny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Liabeny
Ranked #49 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great location”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This is a small hotel that doesn't feel small. It's located walking distance from all the major sites, including a very short walk from the Puerto del Sol. The staff is friendly and was helpful with dinner recommendations. Rooms are small, but immaculate and feel new. It was quiet at night. Maid service was super-efficient. I'd be out of my room for 10 minutes, and I'd come back and find it made up. I liked having a room safe. Very close to all kinds of breakfast choices and shopping. Free WiFi was slow but usable. This is a quiet adult hotel. Very good value. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    1,174
    201
    33
    25
See reviews for
625
1,268
293
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of Sept. The location is excellent, half way between the palace and the Prada and close to the shops and cafes. Staff were very helpful recommending local restaurants etc. Rooms were of standard quality but a good size with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. Air con worked well and was quiet and there always seemed to be plenty of hot water. We had a room only rate and the cafe diagonally opposite in the square did a good breakfast for about 6 euro. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This hotel is very central. It is very close to Gran Via and Plaza del Sol. Also pretty close to the two metro stations located in these areas. Plenty of cafes and shops around. The room was pretty clean. The room for a single guest was interesting considering that the bathroom was actually as large as the sleeping chamber. However, it was very clean. Another great thing was the availability of free wireless service even in the rooms. However, it takes several attempts to get connected. The attitude of the staff was OK but not so friendly. They were a bit not so interested. One downfall with the staff is the fact that housekeeping does not even give you a chance to respond after knocking on the door and immediately barge in which might lead to embarrassing situations. Therefore, definitely keep the "do not disturb" sign on the door at all times! Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csunata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

After a long day of Travel walking into our room was great. Being walked in on by the maid shortly after for the turn down service wasn't as great. The desk staff seemed like they didn't care to help and also seemed to think we were a burden to them (I consider myself a polite & patient person).

Aside from these things I still think the hotel was great. I don't think it was a great value, but considering older reviews it looks like I just didn't shop around well enough. Everything was clean. The room was comfortable the included breakfast was wonderful.

The location was phenominal, being so close to Sol was great for Metro travel as well as tourist activities. If you can't find a good place to eat nearby you didn't try at all.

Despite our few problems I would recommend this to anyone looking to spend a few nights in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

one would expect for a 4 star hotel as this , that one would expect a decent level of respect for its paying customers . unfortunately, i found the reception staff very unfriendly and they were not very willing to assist with enqueries of any kind. it was as though it was more than their jobs'worth. i was subject to increased VAT prices despite an already fixed price on my bill and for my room service. it caused a great confrontation which they were not willing to compromise. i also tried to call from my room a club sandwich which took 5 phone calls, as no one understood whai wanted. the phone was put down on me twice and when i did get the sandwich, it was bad quality; with bits of hard meat, grissle- and it was greasy. very expensive too for 7 euros with not even a garnish or chips . no one said sorry for any of their mistakes or bad service. the window in my room was broken too. the maids kept walking into my room when not invited. i was very angry after being treated so badly with no respect or consideration. after all, i was on holiday to relax and ended up being ripped and stressed out. never again.DO NOT GO THERE!!! 2 STAR , NOT 4 STAR!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianlabeija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here in August and paid 80Euros including breakfast so I thought this was fabulous value.
The rooms were cosy, service very professional and the breakfast was by far the best we had in our travels all over spain. Also the location is great, very convenient to sightseeing, shopping and good food.
Parking was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_nomad_pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hotel Liabeny is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. Really clean and perfect area for going out and close to the metro. Breakfast was superb, lots of choice! We payed 300 eu. / 4 days with breakfast, and I find that cheap considering the good standard!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,784 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#41 of 435 in Madrid
2,550 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 435 in Madrid
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,609 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 435 in Madrid
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liabeny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liabeny

Property: Hotel Liabeny
Address: Calle Salud, 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Liabeny 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being positioned in the centre of Madrid makes visiting the city even more appealing. Everything is just minutes' walk from Hotel Liabeny; Puerta del Sol, Madrid's Gran Vía, museums, monuments, historical sites, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Liabeny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liabeny Sercotel
Liabeny Sercotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing