We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides
Ranked #187 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and were happy with this hotel. The location is good; literally right next to Piramides train and metro station which is helpful for a couple of reasons. Firstly, you can jump on the train (line C-1, terminating at Principe Pio) straight from/to the airport which takes about 35 minutes and costs €2.55 each way, which is simple (can buy tickets from Renfe machines at station/airport). Secondly, the metro can take you pretty much straight into the centre of the city in about 10 minutes. We actually walked into the centre most days and it is about a 20/25 minute walk, although it is mostly uphill all the way (but it does help burn off the tapas and sangria!).

The rooms were fine, fairly standard and clean but we had a good sleep which is the main thing. Decent shower/bath, minibar etc and what you would expect from most 3 star hotels. We had breakfast included and there was a good range of items which were tasty, including a few hot options.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel (excluding breakfast) but the menu looked fine, plus there were some pubs/resturants relatively close to the actual hotel.

Overall, we enjoyed the stay, thought it was good value for money and despite being a little out of the centre the location is actually very good for links to airport/centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denzal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed in the hotel on my way to another part of Spain. It is located just above metro and local railway – so it is perfect if you are using public transport. It is far away from any tourist attraction but they are easy to reach with a metro or if you like you can walk although the area is not especially interesting. There are quite few places around to have dinner or enjoy an evening beer.

The hotel does not exactly remind me of other Holiday Inn building. It was probably and older hotel that has been adapted to the chain standards. There are old wooden doors to the rooms and the lobby area is relatively small. You can see that it dates some time.

My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was ok but the sink, shower and a toilet had faded pink colour which I did not like. There was a television set with a decent selection of channels to watch.

The staff was courteous and efficient. If you are looking for a place to sleep on your way through Madrid it is a good choice. It is not a fancy place but an OK accommodation and well-connected to the rest of the city.

Room Tip: There is no point being messy about rooms at this place - obviously it is better to get a view on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Piotr S,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. I am truly delighted you found our staff efficient and pleased our room accommodation suited you well. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the issues encountered with the toilet, shower and sink. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to management to consider for upgrades needed. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Sincerely,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is right next to a Metro and train stop. Easy access to and from airport on train. A little far to walk to Puerta del Sol, but we did it. When our feet got tired, we took the Metro. Clean, basic rooms, nothing that stands out. Front desk staff during the day were friendly and helpful. I speak bad Spanish, but their English was very good. Evening staff at front desk was aloof and unfriendly - short, stern, impersonal answers to my questions. Seems like the guy wanted to get rid of me. Overall, an OK experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Madrid Piramides. We are happy to learn you liked the convenient locations of our hotel and provided you with attentive service.
Your comments about the front desk staff are very helpful and will be shared with our Management Team for awareness.
Thank you for review and recommendation.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Madrid Piramides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The room was a decent size and the bed wasn't anything special. It's close to the metro station and very easy to get to and from many destinations. I'd stay here again because of the location and the staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiencies in our hotel. We are happy to learn you liked the convenient location of the hotel and provided you with attentive service. Thank you for review and recommendation.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Holiday Inn Madrid Piramides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for a city break in Madrid. The hotel is located right next door to the Piramides Metro and Train station so very good for travelling in to the city centre.
However, the hotel seems dated and the room needs updating with bland furnishings and a very firm bed. Breakfast wasn't included in our stay which was disappointing and we were not told about the Wi-Fi access until we went to check-in for our flight, in 2014 complimentary wi-fi should be provided as standard.
The hotel was ok but had no extra facilities such as a swimming pool, gym etc. I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Alex H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs.

Please accept our sincerest apologies if you were not satisfied with the room condition and if the unavailability of complimentary Internet access was a disappointment. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from Madrid and stayed 3 nights in this hotel and found it to be ideal. Our review is based on the price we paid and what we experienced.

On arrival, we were slightly late and had 15 minutes to get the the Athletico Madrid ground to watch the Champions League final on a big screen, so were concerned we would miss it. However, we received a warm welcome and the receptionist (male) kindly placed our suitcase in his office, whilst we ran off down the road and within 5 minutes were in the middle of a very large crowd of Athletico Madrid fans on their way to the match. The ground is very close by, but does not affect the quality of your stay in anyway at all. We made it!
The room was excellent and the bed was very comfy but our only complaint was if you are next the the lift, you can hear an annoying whirring/braking noise everytime the lift is used. We did not get moved, but that is our own fault for not mentioning it. We were only there a short while and did not use the room much, so after the first night, we were so tired, it did not affect us, but just be aware.
We did not eat in the hotel, but there are plenty of nearby places to get food.
Madrid itself is fantastic and it is only a 20 minute walk to the sights or you can get a metro for only 1.50 each single. My advice is get the metro there and walk back as it is uphill on the way!
All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you want a great location for transfer from the airport (5.10 Euro for two singles on the Renfe train which take 35 minutes!)
Thanks for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the lift as when the lift is used, it creates a whirring/braking noise which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MartininYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We took a 2 night break in Madrid using hotel points. The safe did not work in the room but the guy on the desk went out of his way to help us out and had it working the next day. Meanwhile he let my wife use a hotel safe deposit box, no charge. I wish I had gotten his name so I could write him a personal review to the hotel manager, he deserves it and more. He is a credit to Holiday Inn. The hotel was clean and though we did not use the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast was very nice. We used local bars and places to eat which are all in easy reach and with good food at good prices. The place right across thr road on the corner was a favourite, we went there twice.

Room Tip: We found the a/c did not appear to work but what I discovered was the thermostat was in reverse. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#128 of 438 in Madrid
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#123 of 438 in Madrid
1,700 reviews
Jardin Metropolitano
#62 of 438 in Madrid
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides

Address: Paseo Acacias 40, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Madrid
#150 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £61 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of Piramides subway and train station, the hotel is the best option to visit the Habsburg Madrid: 15 minutes walking from the main touristic attractions of the city and close to Vicente Calderón football stadium, Madrid Río and M-30 ring road access. Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides is a three-star hotel with 93 comfortable rooms, wifi, flat TV and complete bathroom, among other facilities. It also has a lobby bar, a pleasant restaurant with international gastronomy, five meeting rooms (with capacity up to 170 attendees) and a bright hall. It is a cozy, comfortable and familiar hotel that stands out for its peaceful atmosphere and its attractive decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Madrid-Piramides Hotel Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Piramides Madrid
Rafaelhoteles Piramides Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing