We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose another hostel/ hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aparthotel Tribunal
Ranked #408 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Choose another hostel/ hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Two things that completely put me off were 1) bad customer service 2) no wifi in the rooms
negatives
1)When I checked-in the room we realized the room did not have A/C on. It was a hot day in mid may and with my 1yr old baby I wanted a room with a working A/C. So, when I inquired they replied that "May is spring time here and A/C does not have to be on. You can look for other hotel." they know with a baby we can't look for another hotel at the lat minute. absolutely regret my stay there
2) they advertise free wifi but its range is limited to the lobby.
3) Rooms are old
4) they charge extra for using stove in the kitchenette
Positives:
location is nice

Overall opinion : never will recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rut-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    64
    92
    57
    44
See reviews for
50
95
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I would put this aparthotel in the category of 'dignity on a budget'. You pay a modest price and you get the best that they can give you for it.
I was actually in a rather large room for myself, with 2 beds, a sofa, two tables, and and isolated kitchenette - with a very functional microwave oven. I wasn't too happy with the mattress, which was too hard for me to sleep on, and I'm not a picky sleeper! I took 2 blankets that were in the room and I put them under my bottom sheet for extra padding and it seemed to be a bit better.
I love, love, love the neighborhood. It's lively, showing the best of Madrid city life (not too hard-core, but not too bland). The metro stop was just meters away, as well as great places to eat every kind of food, for every budget. The area is well-visited by young adults, especially on the weekend, so that's what you can expect and I was luckily on the 'attic floor' - the 5th floor - with windows in the slanted ceiling which kept the noise from the street from entering into my room. Perhaps if one requests and room away from the street, you can also avoid the extra noise.
Too bad you don't have a category of just 'good'.)
There is no bar or cafeteria (though there used to be one) and a tray, with the basic necessities of a continental breakfast, is left in the kitchen every day. The coffee, however, is instant coffee in a packet, which should motivate you to hit the street and experience the multitude of coffee places just a stone's throw away.
Water pressure in the shower is a bit weak (because I'm on the 5th floor?), though it didn't really put me off.
The hotel is used by business people, families, and when I was there, also by college students in groups. This hotel has very large rooms for groups up to 10 and I think that is why it was popular with the groups, but they were very well-behaved and this permitted everyone to enjoy their own space.
Unlike other aparthotels, there is a 24-hour male staff which made me feel safe, as a solo female traveller.
No matter what the minus points of this hotel are, I will be lodging there again, because I felt completely at home.

Room Tip: Choose as high as possible, up from the street or on the opposite side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZEBORAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This aparthotel is located in the middle of the action near Fuencarral and within walking distance to major Madrid's attraction , Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, and shopping areas. There are plenty of places around to eat and the subway (tribunal station) is just a block away. The only thing is that it is very old, and the rooms need to be refurnished ASAP, the front desk were very kind, we had an inside rooms, so there were no noise at all and room were cleaned everyday If you do not mind to stay in an old building, but do mind to be closer to action, this is it. Great Price also.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemakili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As a regular customer of this hotel I feel somehow annoyed for some reviews that call this place "a dirty backpackers shelter". There are backpackers, specially I've seen them when i have been there in summer. But there are professionals and families. Furniture is old, that true, but rooms are cleaned everyday carefully. Location and a helpful staff are pluses as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RecepcionTribunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I like this hotel..... Ok if you want a fancy wall high headboard in just the right Pantone for this season it's not for you. But if like me you spend weeks going between hotel rooms that are to small to open your case AND walk to the toilet then book in here. The reception have always been helpfully and polite (even when I'm arriving back at 4am) the rooms are not modern but they are clean and BIG - sofa, coffee table, small kitchen all at your disposal. It could do with a paint job but really the walls are unimportant im more intrested in being comfortable for a week when staying here. Maybe not the hotel for a romantic break, but perfect if your on business or traveling solo.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the internal courtyard, this is a very busy area and Madrid does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingRougvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This aparthotel is located in the middle of the action near Fuencarral and within walking distance to major Madrid's attraction , Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, and shopping areas. There are plenty of places around to eat and the subway (tribunal station) is just a block away. The only thing is that it is very old, and the rooms need to be refurnished ASAP, the front desk were very kind, we had an inside rooms, so there were no noise at all and room were cleaned everyday If you do not mind to stay in an old building, but do mind to be closer to action, this is it. Great Price also.

Room Tip: Inside rooms do not have any noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel is very basic in all its aspects.

Pros: spacious room, plus a "living corner" with TV and sofas and the small kitchen and the bathroom.
Excellent location, very close to the metro station Tribunal and close enough to the Gran Via to reach it on foot. Even without going too far, the area is lively enough with bars, restaurants, pubs, disco bars...It was easy to find places to eat or drink, and on the other side the Calle de Fuencarral was a good spot for shopping during the day.


Cons: very very basic room, without "common" windows: it was the last floor and only had one small opening on the roof which I wouldn't call window, with a broken coverage which let the (few) light in. It didn't help to let the room air.
The air conditioning had strange timings, one night it stopped working and the staff was not very helpful about it (despite Madrid in August is very very similar to an oven).
For breakfast, we found some packaged brioches and instant coffee and tea in the kitchen. We never used the kitchen.
Staff was not very sociable, but they were kind enough.
The street was quite noisy at night but, for us, this wasn't the major problem.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay. Let's say the hotel is not one of the best in the world and doesn't offer much, but if you consider not spending much, then this is a decent budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try avoiding the last floor (fifth)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoBrtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Aparthotel Serrano Recoletos
Sercotel Hotel Togumar
#233 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#151 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hostal Sil & Serranos
Hostal Sil & Serranos
#238 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Arguelles
Aparto Suites Muralto
Aparto Suites Muralto
#98 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Aparthotel Quo Eraso
#312 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Tribunal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Tribunal

Property: Aparthotel Tribunal
Address: Calle San Vicente Ferrer 1, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Tribunal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aparthotel Tribunal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Tribunal Madrid
Aparthotel Tribunal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing