We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise”

El Barril de Recoletos
Reserve with
El Barril de Recoletos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,495 of 11,010 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio de Salamanca
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Went to El Barril de Recoletos in Madrid with a business colleague based upon a recommendation from our hotel. Had delicious croquetas de jamón y queso and then the best tuna steak I have ever eaten. My friend had a tuna tartare that I tasted and it was fantastic. Best of all the prices were very reasonable for fine dining in Europe. I heartily recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank rswest59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    58
    12
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Takes Advantage of Americans”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Based on the good reviews and its location, we went to El Barril. The food we actually ordered (grilled hake and lamb chops) were actually delicious. The two stars are given for the nice touch of complementary glass of soup at the beginning and cookies at the end of the meal. Be careful about the bread. They charge 2.20 Euro per person for bread. But the worst part of it all, was at the end of the meal. The maître d' came over with the charge card machine they use and said that the cost of the meal does not include service and would we like to add 10-15% to the bill. We were somewhat taken aback because we understood that tipping such as this in Spain is highly unusual. However, it happens when discourteous restaurant operators seek to take advantage of Americans knowing that adding 15% to the bill is customary for Americans. Being very uncomfortable, we agreed to add 10% so we could get out of there (the bill was less than 75 Euros). I know, 10% doesn't seem like that much in this situation, but it's important to get the message out about this disappointing tactic. Shame on you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yenrotta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, superb service”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This restaurant specializes in seafood and everything we tried was delicious and well-prepared. The service was superb, very attentive and professional without being intrusive. The interior is modern and well laid-out, elegant but not fussy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verseau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Fresh, well executed traditional cuisine with a discrete modern twist. Excellent service. Not cheap although every cent I paid was worth it.
Btw I'm French if you want to know where my standards are...

Helpful?
Thank alephbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant near Puerta de Alcalá and Plaza Cibeles”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We just had a nice dinner at this restaurant, quite conveniently located near Puerta de Alcalá, Plaza Cibeles and Parque del Retiro.

This restaurant serves traditional Spanish dishes, with a modern twist. We started with jamón ibérico, tasty croquetas and tortitas de camarones, a delicious green salad garnished with pomegranate, oranges and radishes and a wonderful ensalada de ventresca de bonito (bonito is very similar to tuna fish, but probably better). Then we had a rice marinera, merluza and tuna tartar, and for dessert we had a warm chocolate cake, an apple tart and filloas (like crepes) filled with pastry cream, all served with vanilla ice cream.

The food was all tasty, there was wifi available and we had a good time there. A good option in this month of August, when many restaurants in Madrid are closed for the holidays. I can recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luciafernandez62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Barril de Recoletos also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Barril de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing