We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mayorazgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mayorazgo
Ranked #180 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent location, in the middle of all the tourist attractions. For example the Royal Palace, Puerta de Alcala, Plaza de Espana, Plaza Mayor, Museo del Prado, and all the shopping stores, bars, and restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    661
    367
    136
    72
See reviews for
471
664
74
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

When we first arrived, our room booking, which was definitely confirmed by email and made two days prior to arrival in Madrid, was not showing up in their system. I was sent a confirmation twice (I had asked for another one after hearing that we weren't in their system). After trying to figure out how to get this remedied for half hour, the front desk clerk phoned his boss; it turned out our reservation HAD, in fact, been made: it had not updated in their system yet (after 2 days??).

I had booked a queen size bed, our room was two twins slammed together.

Shower/bathtub water nozzle was broken and bathtub drain piping was plugged (gross). So, because it took all night for the tub to drain, we put our towels on the floor next to the tub (because they only replace towels only if you put them in the tub, and we did not want to put our towels in the bath water), and they took our towels away but did not replace them with clean ones.

People were smoking right outside the front entrance.

Elevator worked sometimes.
By the end of the stay I was extremely displeased with the lack of quality in just about everything, save one of the front desk clerks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sethro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here and found the location to be perfect...walkable to many restaurants, shopping, and shows. When we came, they're in the middle of remodeling the front of the hotel, which is cool. We paid an extra 15€/night and felt that it wasn't worth it. They pretty much painted the rooms...it would've been nice if they changed the green carpet to match the paint/theme. We just came back from dinner and noticed that it's right next to a casino or nudie bar lol...very interesting...other than that the staff were extra friendly and the location was awesome! I think that after the remodeling is done, it'll look a lot better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyx0n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

An excellent location close to all major attractions and bus stops and metro all closeby even taxis are at easy reach. However hotel could do with a makeover. Rooms look dated and dark, lighting not bright enough in the rooms, but at least cleaned every day by staff and clean towels daily. Only negative thing i would say is the fact it is not a power shower and if you've walked all day and want a hot soak in bath allow time to fill tub as hot water trickles out - Staff helpful and willing to help you0

Helpful?
1 Thank SparklesHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good location this hotel is right in the middle of it all, and easy access to metro stations. Didnt have any food in the hotel found lovely cafe's out and about to eat in.
the rooms are quite spacious and clean with big bathrooms. Warm enough in the rooms at all times especially for February,
The hotel did provide a small fridge (with some items already in which are not free so be careful) but there was no kettle facilities in the rooms.
We took a travel kettle with us anyway,
The only down side to this hotel is what everyone has been complaining about the sound proofing you really can hear everything, We could hear one morning the person in the room next to us on the phone as if we were in the same room.
We actually did resort to sleeping with tissue in our ears to try and get a good nights sleep. So ear plugs are a must,
It is ashame as apart from that the hotel was lovely and adequate enough for a 3 night break,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyruncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

GOOD: location between 2 Metro stations
AVERAGE: breakfast, lots of it but so-so
BAD: sound proofing is very bad. Can hear next room coughing, talking, phone buzzing. Can hear piano 3 floors down playing until after midnight. Not a good nights sleep had

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here in October. Nice hotel, clean, good rooms and helpful staff. The location is good too, just behind the Gran Via. Most places easily walkable. Would use it again. Madrid is a beautiful city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#188 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#107 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#306 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayorazgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayorazgo

Property: Hotel Mayorazgo
Address: Calle Flor Baja 3, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayorazgo)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mayorazgo 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mayorazgo's elegant rooms have a flat-screen TV, safe and minibar. The hotel is next to Madrid's Gran Via, a short walk from Plaza Espana and the Royal Palace. Plaza de Espana and Santo Domingo Metro Stations are both 150 metres away. They provide easy access to the Art Triangle, the Retiro Park and Madrid Barajas Airport. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a Mediterranean restaurant and a bar, with classic design and a relaxing fountain. There is an elegant piano bar with live music. Each room at the hotel is air-conditioned and spacious. Rooms come with a trouser press and a full private bathroom with a hairdryer. The Hotel Mayorazgo has a gift shop and a tour desk. The hotel can also arrange airport transfers, car rental and packed lunches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mayorazgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayorazgo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing