We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #25 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible value and great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I had to check the room rate once we checked in as this hotel was way above our expectations for the money. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent room with kitchenette and lounge furniture, and a wonderful courtyard where we ate a very good meal.

The location is in the modern shopping part of Madrid, some distance from the old town but very close to the gardens which include the Crystal palace etc. Had no trouble finding very good food wherever we went, there are 10 or more good restaurants within 10 minutes walk of the hotel.

Would certainly stay again, no hesitation. Madrid is a great city..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BackAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    179
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
148
233
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Could not fault this hotel for comfort, location or service. Situated in the trendy and relaxed Salamanca district, down a quiet side street and only 5 mins walk to the beautiful Retiro park, and metro stop, it gave us the best of both worlds as we were only 3 stops (or a pleasant 20min walk) from Sol and the noise and bustle of the old town.
(Also only a 2 min walk to the train station which takes you to/from airport in 30mins for €2 !)
The room was fantastic - big, bright and airy, overlooking the delightful terraced garden where we enjoyed a great buffet breakfast every morning. The staff were faultless, with good English and extremely helpful.
Several excellent tapas bars and restaurants within 10min walk, and although you are rubbing shoulders with the elite of Madrid, it is not expensive ... Would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with terrace view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fionnuala_0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The terrrace was great for breakfast. The room was clean and very comfortable, and I loved the use of the kitchenette. The only issue I had was I could hear what I think was the elevator until about 3 in the morning (at first I thought there was construction going on in the hotel) I could even hear it over the sound of the tv. Other than that I had a great stay at Jardin de Recoletos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc111872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had wanted a quiet hotel close to the centre. This hotel was perfect for us.
The room was lovely and everything worked. We did not want to pay the €14 breakfast charge, but there is an excellent cafe a short walk away on the Plaza de Independencia where breakfast is around €4. It was nice to have a small bar on site for the pre dinner drinks. For high grade shopping, it is perfectly placed for the shops all along and behind Calle Serrano. You can catch the tour buses outside the park gate on the nearby Plaza de Independencia. Be patient and be prepared to start your journey downstairs. You can then go upstairs when someone gets off. Serrano metro is two blocks away. The metro is very easy to use with a single fare that covers any length of trip and changes. A book of 10 works out much cheaper.
The receptionists were all extremely helpful with luggage, arranging taxis etc.
It is a bit expensive, but I think you will struggle to get a quiet, nice hotel so close to the centre. I would definitely use this hotel again.
Some taxi drivers did not recognise the street name. They needed to enter Santibanes in their SatNav rather than Gil de San..... Luckily, I had taken a print of the Google map which helped them to find it.

Room Tip: The back rooms look onto the garden terrace (only accessible to diners) but also get a bit of Air Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Our rooms were huge, included a kitchenette and a free mini bar with soft drinks. The staff were very helpful and polite, loved the breakfast and had an evening meal which was delicious! Great location, very quiet but not far from all the main areas. Probably a nice 25 min walk to the Mayor Plaza. The city tour bus picks up from just outside. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately stay there again. It was great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stay in Madrid regularly and have tried many options. El Jardin de Recoletos is without doubt the best value for money in my favourite area of town. Room is somewhat quirky (mini kitchen hidden behind wardrobe doors - why?) but very comfortable and well equipped. Good breakfast - location, food and service and all staff were friendly and helpful. For quality, I would stay at the Gran Fenix but it isn't nearly half as good value as the Jardin. Well done VP!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cibeles33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We found this hotel through a broker and were very glad we did. We had two rooms for two people, each with a full kitchen and small balcony. The rooms were clean, roomy, comfortable and in good repair, i.e., no mechanical or housekeeping complaints at all. The hotel is on a small street, actually one block long, which most taxi drivers had never heard of so I needed to tell them what main road it is off of. The front desk is manned 24/7 and the staff function as very helpful concierges as well as front desk staff. The hotel is two blocks from the archeology musuem, walking distance from the Prado and a 10 minute taxi ride from the Palace. I am definitely going to look for this hotel next time I go to Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank use_2_love_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing