We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #23 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Collingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We booked this trip last minute & had a fabulous time. The hotel is in a lovely area of Madrid, just far away enough from the city centre. Lovely shops and cafes within walking distance (recommend the Mallorca cafe for breakfast, just around the corner). The metro & main bus stops are a short walk away to get into the city or to ride the 'hop-on'hop-off' tour bus. The hotel staff (Samuel in particular!) were very friendly and incredibly helpful & the hotel was clean, room spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank rebecca7675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel at TripAdvisor.
It is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We sent your comments to our staff, especially to Samuel, and they are really happy and motivated now!
If you decide to visit Madrid do not hesitate to come back to VP Jardín de Recoletos or any of the VP Hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    181
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
151
235
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MOSCOW
Level Contributor
270 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed there 3 nights in June 2011.
Location is very good - quiet, short walk to downtown and city's main attractions.
Our room was large, with balcony facing the small street.
We fit comfortably with 2 our children. It was fully equipped with modern amenities, also we got WiFi for free.
We complained about Air Conditioning, but it was fixed right away (needed to be cleaned)
Breakfast served in a charming inner yard, food was well varied and delicious.
The restaurant seems to be very famous one - we tried to reserve the table for dinner, but all 3 evenings it was fully booked.
Really reccomended, especially for families

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
We are happy to read that you were comfortable in our large rooms with your children. Hopefully, the next time you visit Madrid you would taste our Mediterranean food Restaurant.
Thanks again for sharing your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed there in mid-January 2012. The hotel fully lived up to my expectations: efficient, clean and very well located.
In fact, couldn’t find anything to complain about. Breakfast was well varied, coffee delicious. Free wi-fi in the room was a nice and unexpected bonus (get login info from the reception). The bed was very firm (though this doesn’t have to be a disadvantage). Rooms were cleaned promptly every morning. Drinks (water and Schweps) in the minibar were replaced free of charge every day. The bathroom had all the amenities a traveler can possibly need.
The hotel is just a 5 minute walk (downhill) to the airport bus stop at Plaza de Cibeles. The Retiro metro station is 3 minutes away, and so is the Retiro park (a must on a sunny morning!)
Reception staff were courteous (although quite formal, which, again, is not a disadvantage in my view).
Some noise from the other rooms could be heard though I have yet to stay in a fully sound-proof hotel and the noise does not outweigh the positives.
Overall, if I were to stay in Madrid again, I would most likely book Jardin (with the same garden view)!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Tessa,
We just wanted to thank you for the excellent opinion you have stated at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardin de Recoletos hotel. It is such a pleasure to read opinions like yours which with no doubt, help all our staff to keep being motivated and happy to for giving their best to all our clientes.
You are always welcome at all our hotels, and hope to see you very soon again.
Best wishes,
Sandra Serrano
Sales Manager VP hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed in the Jardin de Recoletos mid December 2011 due to Tripadvisor contributions. Every single person is amazed by this hotel. Well, I am not amazed. I am happy with the hotel. Yes, it is a quiet hotel which is great. I am unimpressed with the staff. They did what they needed to do. check in and give keys. I work in the hospitality industry and I know what a smile can do. Anyway, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden as there is a nightclub around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Traveljoost,
Many thanks for the time you spent writting your opinions at Trip Advisor.
We are very happy that our hotel itself covered your expectations, however, we are worried about the comment about our staff. We always try to give our best smile and best disposal to all our clientes, and if you had the impression that our staff did not cover your hospitality standars then we have a problem. In order to sort this out, we would really appreciate if you could please directly contact me at: comercial@vphoteles.com and give me more details about the period of your stay so that we can talk to the staff that were on duty at the reception on those days and will talk to them to try to avoid this actitude for future clientes. However, the reception manager already has this opinion in his hands and will do the besto to always guarantee a smile for all our VP hotels clients.
Many thanks for your time and we hope to see you soon at VP hotels
Sandra Serrano: comercial@vphoteles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We were very pleased with our 2 night stay. The room was very large and exceptionally clean. We had a garden room and there was no street/city noise, however, there was a bit from the adjoining rooms. The staff were wonderful. The free minibar was a nice touch and having a kitchenette was great. We plan to make this our new home base in Madrid. I would consider this hotel perfect - if only it was all non-smoking...

Room Tip: ask for a non-smoking room (if available?) or a corner room to avoid smoke from other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We chose this hotel for a 2 night stay from reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It certainly lived up to the hype and did proved to be a little gem (or "a hidden jewel" as another reviewer said), tucked away in a quiet street not far from Puerta de Alcalá and Retiro park and the metro station.

The lobby is beautifully appointed, with a large chandelier; the staff are extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly - we got lots of advice on how to find certain landmarks and restaurants and the day porter even enquired about the photographs I had taken during my stay.

The standard room we booked for €99 for the first night and €119 for the second night, was spacious and well equipped with a kitchenette, although I would have liked to have been given a few coffee bags to go with the coffee making machine. Soft drinks were supplied free, but only on our first night.

Although it offered a wide selection, we felt that the breakfast was slightly over-priced at €13 per person (but the coffee is excellent), and although we had it on the first morning, we went to a cafe across the road on Serrano street on the second day and paid a total of €7 for coffee and ham and cheese rolls for two and felt full in the stomach and not so light in the pocket.

The slight "downside" was that when we arrived at the hotel at 11am in the morning, we had been travelling since 4am, but couldn't check into our room until almost 3pm. But the hotel had been fully booked the night before, which is understandable.

And, on our last day, we asked if we could keep the room on until 5pm (check out is 12 noon) as we didn't have to leave for the airport until 6pm. That was arranged for us - at a cost of €15 per hour, and we paid an extra €75 for keeping the room on for the afternoon (only €24 less than for a full night).

I would also say that if you can, try and book a room over the garden as it's much quieter than the one facing the (seemingly) very quiet street on which the front entrance stands. We overlooked it, and on the first night we were woken at 4am by noise from a night club around the corner.

All-in-all though, we would visit this hotel again and recommend it whole heartedly.

Room Tip: Choose a room over the garden to avoid being woken by night club revellers on the street. Perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephenP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,455 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#67 of 436 in Madrid
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing