We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #29 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Jardin de Recoletos is a comfortable, nicely furbished hotel( beautiful lobby) in a great (very upmarket) neighborhood, very close to the metro and near to the stop of the hop on hop off bus, and the beautiful, peaceful Retiro Park.
Many nice tearooms, restaurants and tapas in the close vicinity of the hotel.
Easy walk to the Prado, Thijssen and the Plaza Major. But luckily away from the touristy, overcrowded centre. Also the feel of a safe neighbourhood.

The people, who work at the hotel are very friendly and hospitable. The room is spacious and clean.
The fountain in the garden ,mentioned by another guest, is switched off at 11 pm and you can easily sleep with the doors open, and it is very quiet.Could not believe being in a big city.
The breakfast is great with an enormous selection of fresh fruit, cheeses,hams, eggs,sweets,etc.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Sandra Serrano, who does her work as Guest Relations Manager with great dedication and interest.

All in all, choosing the Jardin de Recoletos was an excellent choice and we can really recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Linda,

Many thanks for sharing your opinion at Trip advisor, this travel opinion website which made possible that we personally met. I am happy to read that you had such positive experience at our VP Jardin de Recoletos hotel, and many thanks for sharing your tips about location, things to do and see, proximity to the major city attractions and quality of the breakfast which with no doubt will be very helpful for other possible Trip advisor guests.

Many thanks also for your remarks about the quietness of our hotel nice attitude of our staff.
We also enjoyed having guests like you. Do not doubt that this is your home in Madrid.
Hope to see you both very soon Linda.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This has been my 6 th stay at Jardin de Recoletos! I love this hotel is so convenient located, and the staff and Facilities are wonderful. The staff is very helpful and it always make you feel as you are family, my father needed to have a special request at the airport and they called the airport facility and helped us locate where we had to go more easily, they would always go out of their duty to help you, the waiters were very nice and always had a smile.

I would definitely look forward to stay again at Jardin de Recoletos soon with my family!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank GabrielaNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
It is great to read opinions such as yours were you point out the good disposition and efficiency of our staff. We are a small hotel chain and consider ourselves a family; when that family spirit is also perceived by our guests we can confirm that we have succeeded in our job.
We celebrate you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We have sent your comments to our staf and we are all very happy to see that you have been visiting us for six times already.
We cannot wait to see you and your family for the seventh time at our VP Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
Many thanks for feeling a part of our VP family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

For us, an excellent hotel in an excellent location. We were upgraded to a 'superior' double room without asking, which was on the top floor and had a shaded north-facing patio with chairs and a table. There was also a kitchenette hidden behind folding doors,which we will make use of next time. It had a rather old-fashioned air of luxury about it, with marble everywhere, heavy curtains and gilded headboards, but it didn't feel oppressive because of the generous size of the room, the many mirrors and the pale colours of the decor. Massively fluffy dressing gowns and minibar with free soft drinks added to general impression of being looked after by an efficient and effective management. All the staff in fact were friendly and helpful and extremely polite.

The neighbourhood is on the edge of the main historic centre of Madrid. Most of the main places of interest are within walking distance - for example we walked across town one day as far as the Royal Palace.

Breakfasts were wonderful and on return I keep remembering them and wishing I had eaten more! The only criticism one might have is that there is only one coffee machine to service the entire dining room. We ate lunch in the garden once and enjoyed the experience. Pretty surroundings, fountains playing and well-paced service gave a general air of relaxation. The starters were generous enough for a lunchtime meal. Although we only had the salmon and avocado salad and the plate of grilled vegetables, we're were served with the customary dignity and friendliness, and presented with additional tasties that were being given to the other diners who were out for a much bigger lunch. The tangerine and cava sorbet was fantastic.

Room Tip: Top floor = no noise from above, and rooms have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanleamington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear guest
First of all, many thanks for sharing your comment at Tripadvisor about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
Your positive opinion about the upgrading to a superior double room makes us happy. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our kitchen area, our location and the generous size of our rooms. It is great to see that you found our breakfast wonderful and varied. Regarding the time you had to wait at the coffee machine, we remind you that we also offer served coffee to all our clients, so next time, if you prefer a served coffee feel free to ask for it and our waiters will bring it directly to you. We celebrate that you found that our fountains were relaxing. Thanks for highlighting the good quality of our food.
We look forward to see you soon in one of our VP hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Fabulous location close to the Prado Museum, beautiful parks and in a smart part of town. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds and excellent service from friendly staff.
Can get a little noisy at times with marble tiled floors in bedrooms and public areas - footsteps and scraping of chairs on floor above has the potential to disturb lighter sleepers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank BMSsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your time giving us your opinion about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff has also read your comment and they are all very happy to see that we had done a good job.
We are sorry if we did not cover your expectations regarding the soundproofing of your room.
We are willing to solve this problem as soon as possible, and in the following months we will renew all our rooms in order to avoid this problem for future clients.

We hope to see you very soon again at our VP hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Quiet location within 10 minutes walk of the Retiro Park , 5 minutes from the Madrid City Tour bus stop for both routes and Royal Theatre in 25 minutes. Staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDP150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear guest.
We would like to thank you for your time giving us you opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Our staff works very hard to achieve all our client´s expectations.
Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again at our hotel or at any other of our VP hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from staying 7 nights at the JARDINE DE RECOLETOS, wich we

thoroughly enjoyed.The staff were very helpfull & friendly.The rooms were spotless & roomey.The breakfasts were good & varied, fried breakfast could also be had iff you asked the waiter at no extra charge. The hotel is situated in a very quiet side street so that a good nights sleep can be achieved. The hotel is situated in a very central position for all the sights & museums & there are two metro stations quite close by.This hotel is ideal for anybody who wants a quality hotel & value for money.
The only thing that I could fault it on would be the coffee machine which is inadequate for the amount of people it serves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your time giving us you opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and the attractions you can find around it. In addition, it is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel.
Regarding the coffee machine Please note that all our clients can order a served coffee if they wish at no extra charge. All our waiters are available to offer served coffee if the clients request it. We will remark this service more clearly for our next clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 437 in Madrid
647 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £111 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing