We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, reasonable price, decent location....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #29 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Three of us stayed here in April (sometimes it's hard to find a hotel room for 3 adults). Room included a kitchenette, nearby access to public transportation, walking distance to Prada, etc. Found good restaurants nearby via TA. Can't go wrong if you want to enjoy Madrid. Everything was spotless and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anya672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed our room. We give priority to the comfort of our guests overall. Many thanks for sharing your recommendations about location, things to see that other possible clients from Trip Advisor may find useful if they finally choose our hotel for their stay in Madrid.
Once again, thank you for the comment and we hope to see you again at VP Hoteles.

Sandra Serrano
Public relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Jardin de Recoletos in September and were very pleased. Most European hotel rooms we've stayed in are very small, but ours was huge. We asked for and were fortunate to get a room overlooking the garden courtyard. Flights from the US always come with an early next morning arrival; hotel rooms are never available. This was the case here, but they had it ready an hour later. The breakfast buffet was quite nice although sometimes a bit disorganized. The location was perfect on a quiet side street off Calle Serano. The staff were most professional and very cordial as well. We were within walking distance of the Prado Museum and Retiro Park. Also within walking distance were a number of nice restaurants. While the hotel was quite reasonably priced, it is in an upscale neighborhood. Be aware that local bars and restaurants are on the pricey side (as in $13 US for a cocktail). All in all, we'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Facing the interior courtyard is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed our room and that you found it huge. Our standard rooms have an average of 35 squared meters to guarantee 100% space and comfort to our clients although this goal meant less rooms to sell when we built the building. We give priority to the comfort of our guests overall. Many thanks for sharing your recommendations about location, things to do and see that other possible clients from Trip Advisor may find if they finally choose our hotel for their stay in Madrid.
Once again, thank you for the comment and we hope to see you again at VP Hoteles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We spent six night at the Jardin de Recoletos and loved it. Our room wasn't overly fancy, but it was clean and huge by European standards (had a little kitchen area w/ a fridge, stove-top, microwave). Location was great! Right off the main Calle Serano but on a small side street, making it nice and peaceful. Easy to get to via the metro and great access to numerous metro stops and the Parque del Buen Retiro (fantatic place). One block over was a street filled with various restaurants. I'm not a shopper, but Calle Serrano is similar to 5th Ave/Park Ave in NYC. Amazing, high-end shopping. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel offered a wonderful breakfast (much to our surprise). While we loved visiting Mallorca Cafe around the corner, the hotel breakfast had everything you could want for a great price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. Loved it b/c we could avoid the elevator and just walk up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear guest
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Thanks also for sharing your opinions about our location and the useful facilities you found in our rooms. Our staff works very hard to please you and we really thank you for recognizing our effort. We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast and that you found it reasonably pricy. We make a very big effort to offer a wide varied homemade buffet breakfast at a good price and we are happy to read that our guests appreciate it. Many thanks.
It will be nice to see you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of October and really chose the hotel based on consistent reviews here. I have no regrets in choice but it would have been useful to know certain things, like there is a kitchen with no kettle, no major drama but a nuisance to boil a pan. Also there is no coffee/tea provided, but soft drinks and water are in the fridge for your first night which is handy. The rooms are pleasant, spotlessly clean and comfortable. For once the sofa bed my son slept on was a proper sprung mattress and was comfortable - my gripe is always paying extra for a 3rd person to be in a room and they may as well sleep on the floor the extra beds are so rubbish, but this is not the case here. The sound proofing is rubbish, our next door neighbours liked to watch tv at a rate off the scale at times but we coped as we were so shattered from being so busy we didn't always notice. Check in/out was straight forward and efficient with no issues. We didn't have breakfast included in our rate and were offered a deal of 9.95 euros per adult/6.95 per child if we took it at check in. We took this for one day and then went elsewhere. Breakfast staff were rude and unhelpful, and the dining room has the atmosphere of a morgue. The coffee and tea are from a machine and are not great at all and the fruit/cold meats etc were dry and unappetising. We ordered omelettes that were over cooked, rubbery and bland. Overall breakfast was worth missing. Just 2 minutes walk to the end of Serrano are cafes that make great breakfast for a fraction of the price and are good and so much better than the hotel. I found most of the staff rather unpleasant apart from the concierge Luis who is a star and so so helpful with all of your stupid questions. I may have sounded negative at times here but we had a very positive stay and the issues we had were not unsurmountable. The hotel is in a super position, within walking distance of lots of sites but also 2 minutes to metro stations and the Madrid city bus tour two routes. It is a safe area with lovely shops, restaurants and bars on your doorstep. I would recommend it for a stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJ37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear guest,
We are grateful for your response towards our Hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered during your visit. We are currently working on upgrading the sound proofing details.
We are sincerely grateful for all your comments regarding our check in/out system. Nevertheless, we still want to apologize for all the bartenders that have made you feel uncomfortable along with the food that was not up to your standards.
Thank you for acknowledging the benefits that come along due to the location of our hotel.
We have sent your comment to Luis, and he is thankful for your response.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in any of our VP Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Jardin de Recoletos is perfectly located, in Salamanca area. Very close to main avenues, and metros. Its position in a one block inner street makes for a peaceful place, half a short block from main street. Rooms are great, have all you may need for short and long stay, kitchen, micro, fridge, all!. Bets very comfortable, Clean and well kept. Lobby areas very good, restaurant, great breakfast. Staff is veeeery helpful. Stay there!

Room Tip: Any room is fine, ask for a big one in upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agugye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear guest.
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Thanks also for sharing your tips about location and our rooms. Our staff works very hard to please you and we thank you for recognizing their effort. We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast.
It will be nice to see you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel last September and was really surprised by its location.
The neighbourhood is up-scale, with plenty of boutiques and restaurants.The beautiful park Retiros is a walking distance and it is also very close to Gran Via and tourist atractions such as Museo del Prado. Although the rooms are old fashioned, they are comfortable and klean. They also offer a nice breakfast buffet, but there are several options nearby. I highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Dear guest.
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel; many thanks for sharing your recommendations about location, things to do and see, proximity to the major city attractions and our complete buffet breakfast.
We hope to see you again in VP hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed in Jardin de Recoletos for 5 nights in October 2012 after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor. It's wonderfully located in the upscale Salamanca area, 5 min from a Retiro metro station and 3 min from the Recoletos train station (convenient for taking train to and from airport or to connect to Atocha, one stop away and then to Toledo etc), around the corner from the main shopping area and easy walking distance to both the Prado and the Thyssen Bornemiszra museums. It's also a lovely walk to the important sights such as Plaza Mayor, Real Palace etc from the hotel (between 20-30 min depending on how often you stop) but you could also choose to take the metro. It's also within walking distance to the Retiro park and many wonderful restaurants which are to the east of the park.
The room is large and comfortable with a lounge area and kitchenette on one side. The only complaint I have is that they should have provided a kettle or else you have to use the pot to boil water. We would have gladly washed our own dishes except they was no soap/sponge provided but the housekeeping washed and stored the crockery everyday for us
The concierge staff were all very helpful and professional, making reservations for restaurants for us, recommending day trips out of Madrid and patiently answering any query you may have. The breakfast buffet is amazing value at less than 10 euro if you confirm on checking in. You get a wonderful spread of fruit, juices, cereals, hams, lovely crusty breads, tortilla...much more food than you ever need. You can even order a cooked breakfast of scrambled/fried eggs with ham, bacon and sausages.
Overall we were extremely happy with our stay as it was not only great value but extremely pleasant. It suited us fine as we are not into partying and enjoyed the peaceful and safe location

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JALIRgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear guest
First of all thank you for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that comments that other clients made at Trip advisor have been useful to you. Many thanks for sharing your tips about location, metro, museums and other cities close to Madrid. We are sure this advises will be very useful for other Trip advisor customers as they were to you.
We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast and that in general you had a positive experience.
Once again thanks for choosing VP hotels and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#71 of 437 in Madrid
649 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £112 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing