We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #27 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We spent here a weekend in January and would love to come back. The hotel is very nicely decorated, spotless clean,with a lovely outdoor garden, the rooms are very spacious, modern and silent, they have a small kitchenette that turns quite useful sometimes. Is centrally located (5 min walking from Parco del Retiro and 10 -15min from El Prado).The staff is nice and helpful- I was sick and asked for a late check out and there were no problems.Its cafe serves a wonderful breakfast. I also consider it very good value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kassiopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear customer,
We like to thank you for sharing your outstanding opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you had a lovely stay in our recently renovated and modern rooms with a small kitchenette and free Wifi. Thank you very much for pointing out the great location of our establishment, very close to the Retiro Park and the main museums of Madrid, and also the professional service you received from our staff.
We hope to welcome you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

It is located in the Madrid center, in a very nice area, close to museums, shops, restaurants, and the Retiro park. Large rooms. Recently refurbished to an excellent standard. Very helpful staff. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your excellent opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay in our recently refurbished rooms and that you enjoyed the great situation of the hotel in the center of Madrid and close to the main tourist attractions.
We hope to welcome you back again at VP Hoteles
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Centre of the city, good staff, great buffett breakfast and good comfortable rooms. Overall the experience was great and there are also a number of good eating places around. It is near one of the porsche areas in Madrid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear customer,
We like to thank you for your opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in our recently refurbished rooms and our breakfast buffet with homemade products. We are also very happy that you are pointing out the situation of the hotel, close to all main attractions of Madrid.
We hope to welcome you again at VP Hoteles.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you want to be walking distance from everything and still get a good night's sleep, this is the hotel for you. The people are helpful and courteous. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the location is perfect. You can't miss by staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear customer,
We are very thankful for your opinion at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you are pointing out the location of the hotel, close to the city center and the main tourist attractions. We are happy to read that you had a wonderful and quiet stay in our hotel and hopefully we can welcome you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The rooms have no atmosphere, kind of motel like, but large, clean and very comfortable with a kitchenette. Staff was very good and helpful and the breakfasts were also very good with lots of freshly prepared foods. One of the best things about the hotel is the location: convenient to the museums and the great Retiro park, also easy walk to Plaza Mayor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolinecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your opinion at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you liked the location of our hotel in the center of Madrid and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet with homemade products during your stay.
On other hand we are sorry that the room decoration did not fulfill your expectations but we hope to welcome you again in one of our other VP Hotels.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We added Madrid to our itinerary with some reluctance, as we were mainly doing smaller cities. But we ended up absolutely loving the city! The Jardin de Recoletos is ideally located halfway between the Atocha and Chamartin train stations in Madrid, and just a block off the Renfe stop at the Recoletos station. This hotel is located on a quiet street, making for one of the best night's sleep we had in almost a month-long European tour! And the close proximity to Calle Serranos, to Recoletos Parc and Jardin de Retiros Parc makes it the perfect place to stay. Be sure to set aside at least a couple of hours at Jardin de Retiros. It is Madrid's version of Central Park, and is beautiful.

Room Tip: Room 203 was really nice, quiet. In a corner, and there is an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilsonCat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are really happy to read that you liked our beautiful hotel close to the Retiro Park and also the beautiful city of Madrid. These surprises will always be the best memories of your trip to Europe. Thanks again for pointing out the central and quiet situation of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back during another journey to Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A very elegant hotel, tastefully decorated both in room and lobby/dining area. The room was very spacious, including a sitting area and even a subtly hidden kitchenette. The beds were huge and very comfortable, and there is a pillow menu with 6 different types to choose from (which we didn't use because the pillows provided were perfect). The bathroom was also beautiful, wonderful shower. The hotel's location is great: smack bang in the middle of the very chic Retiro district, but on a side street, which meant that at night we were able to sleep with the window open and no noise whatsoever (a rarity in Madrid)! I had not pre-booked breakfast but at check-in we were offered a discounted rate, which we took. This would be worth checking as it was a very elaborate, delicious breakfast buffet. Upon arrival the receptionist told us wifi in the room would be weak because they recently added extra insulation to the walls, but we actually had no problems connecting at all, maybe because we were on the 1st floor. Booked it via a hotel website and got a good deal, and great value for the quality the hotel offers. Overall, I can't really think of any points for improvement. A 5 star experience for us and we will definitely go here again next time we are in Madrid.

Room Tip: Wifi may be better on lower floors (closer to reception/lobby area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear customer,
We like to thank you for writing your outstanding opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice stay in our spacious rooms, newly decorated and completely refurbished in August 2013. Comments like yours help us to keep offering the best service to our guests every day.
Thank you very much for pointing out the quiet situation of our hotel, very close to the Retiro Park and the main tourist sites and our delicious breakfast buffet with homemade products.
We are celebrating that you made your reservation through our website, always with the best rates for your stay in Madrid.
We hope to welcome you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Directora de Relaciones con Clientes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 442 in Madrid
657 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 442 in Madrid
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Madrid
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £118 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing