We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect: location, room, staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #28 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed 7 days in this wonderful boutique hotel (43 rooms) in late March. Its location on a quiet side street in the centre of Madrid was perfect for our visit.

Our room, 401, was a suite with a sitting area, hidden kitchenette (some complimentary drinks were included), writing table, a huge balcony (unfortunately the weather was such that sitting outside on the chairs was not tempting), large comfortable beds and good lighting. There is a safe in one of the closets and plenty of space for clothes, shoes and bags. The bathroom (bath with shower in it) was large and modern with nice amenities (tissue pack, not box). The only minor improvement we could suggest would be to replace amenities more frequently (twice during our stay for shampoo, and bath salts were not replaced). Wifi is complimentary and worked flawlessly throughout our stay. We had an issue with the hairdryer and were quickly let in to another room to dry hair and by nightfall, the issue in our room had been resolved. The decoration was clean and good quality, making it very comfortable to spend time in the room.

The staff were a credit to the hotel: warm, welcoming and quickly remembered us. Reception staff always had a greeting and more, as well the restaurant staff ensured our breakfasts, lunches and nightcaps were most pleasant. Breakfast is a buffet with a wide choice, with eggs, etc. cooked to order. The cafe menu (lunch and dinner) is restricted but what we tried was tasty. The restaurant was tempting, but in the evenings we were not up to a meal and we were out and about during the day: next time we must try it. Michael (Miguel?) ensured that our nightcaps were always special. We had a 6:00pm pick up from the hotel and a late checkout was not a problem.

The hotel is perfectly located if you wish to enjoy Salamanca and yet still be within easy strolling distance of the museums and more touristic areas in the centre of Madrid. The reception staff gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants in the area and the three we tried were outstanding.

The streets of Salamanca are uplifting: galleries, shops (luxury world brands and Spanish brands), restaurants and even being among the locals strolling. We had not planned major purchases but could not resist shoes, clothing and paintings!

Excellent hotel, great location, superb staff and very good value for money: we will be back!

Room Tip: The additional space of the suite is great for a longer stay
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this excellent opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are celebrating that you had a wonderful stay in our suite which has been completely refurbished, like the entire hotel, during summer 2013. It is a great pleasure for us that you have mentioned all the facilities of our suites like the private terrace, their comfortable beds with Egyptian linens or the free Wifi connection for all our guests. We would like to apologize the inconveniences you may had with the hairdryer and are happy at the same time that our staff could solve it efficiently. Thanks for highlighting our delicious breakfast buffet with its wide choice of fresh products and the possibility to order hot plates like ham and eggs to your liking. We are glad to read that you liked the great situation of our establishment in the heart of Salamanca neighborhood and very close to main tourist attractions or the fantastic label shops on Serrano Street.
We like to thank you again for your outstanding commentary and the congratulations to our staff. Hopefully we can welcome you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos or in one of our other hotels in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Jardin de Recoletos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my wife and our 8 month baby.

Rooms are big and have a small kitchen, which we wanted for baby meals. Some free courtesy drinks. Good cleaning. Free wifi.

Location is great, close do Puerta de Alcala and plenty restaurants nearby. Also it is in a side street from Serrano with no noise at all.

Price is OK, a bit upscale than other hotels in the area, but considering that I get a better room than a typical NH Hotel it's fair.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear customer,
We like to thank you for sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with your family in our in August 2013 refurbished rooms including an American kitchen, very useful for couples with small children or longer stays. We are happy to read that you have highlighted the unbeatable situation of our hotel, in a side street of Serrano, the “Golden Mile” of Madrid, and very close to the historical center of the city.
We hope to welcome you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights, husband there for business at IFEMA and I tagged along and went sightseeing etc. We had booked room only and got offered special rate for breakfast when we checked in about 10 euro each which was excellent value. Rooms were spacious, clean, fab shower/wet room and the hidden kitchenette was handy,. Reliable WIFI. Laundry service efficient and reasonable price. We did not get to sit in courtyard garden as weather just picking up but it looked nice.
We caught train direct from terminal at airport to Recoletos station which is a 2 minute easy walk from hotel but did not see an elevator at station so be mindful if you have cases to carry up steps. Nearest metro was Recoletos or Colon depending on where you wnated to go.
5 minute walk to Retiro park great for a jog or walk, 1 minute from mutliple bus routes ( caught one direct Real Madrid stadium) but we walked around Madrid far more than we had anticpated as it was easy, flat and safe. I would happy recommend as this is a nice area and I felt very comfortable on my own. Mini market, fantastic patisserie and plenty of places to eat nearby too.

Room Tip: We had 101 which meant our heads were next to marble staircase so occasional clip clop from high hee...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your excellent opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay in Madrid and our hotel. Thanks for highlighting the unbeatable situation of our establishment in the heart of the city, very close to the main tourist attractions and well connected by public transport. We are glad to read that you liked our recently refurbished rooms including its small hidden kitchen and that you tried our delicious breakfast buffet with a big variety of fresh products and the possibility to order hot plates to your taste.
We hope to welcome you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for one week and loved so many aspects of this charming 40 room hotel. The rooms have recently been re-done and it is all modern and clean. Marble floors, comfortable beds, doors that open to small balcony, great shower with powerful and modern showerheads, functional (but hidden) kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator, sink and 2 stove top burners. Fully supplied with dishes and pots to cook. Located in an excellent part of town -- the "Fifth Avenue" of Madrid, very close to several Metro stops and within walking distance of most major places of interest. The employees at the front desk also were very friendly and helpful, although some did not know as much as they probably should have. For example, we asked for a place to eat breakfast and were given one option. Days later, when walking around, we found 5 more places that were not mentioned.
Finally, and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that the WiFi in the room was terrible. Access was frequently unavailable for 20-30 minutes at a time. We had to go to the lobby to handle business emails and phone calls. We mentioned it several times while there, but nothing was done. Hopefully, the hotel will improve WiFi in all rooms. The hotel has so much going for it, the WiFi service should be significantly more reliable.

Room Tip: In the warm months, probably should avoid low floor rooms that face the outdoor bar/restaurant as I...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yenrotta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear costumer,
Thank you very much for your outstanding opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that you liked our in summer 2013 renovated rooms with all its facilities like the small American kitchen or the modern bathroom and that you had a wonderful stay. Thanks for highlighting the great situation of our hotel, very close to the most important museums of Madrid, the Retiro Park or Serrano Street, the “Golden Mile” of the city.
We like to apologize the problems you had with the WiFi connection during your stay and at the same time we are very grateful for your commentary so we have the possibility to solve this inconvenient as soon as possible.
Hopefully we can welcome you back at VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you are in Madrid on business this is a super hotel in a very safe and secure enviroment. Just off Serrano it is very easy to get a taxi to anywhere in Madrid. There are plenty of restaurant and shops nearby and the hotel has a new menu that serves a light evening meal - perfect after a typical Madrid lunch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuinnerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you are pointing out the great situation in Salamanca neighborhood with a lot of restaurants and shopping facilities. It is also a great pleasure for us that you tried our delicious menu with its traditional Mediterranean Cuisine.
We hope to welcome you back at VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We really liked this hotel for its location, service and comfort. Everything was very good except for the shower room which, although stylish and spacious with a great shower, leaked water all over the floor. Not a great experience! We were told that the hotel is aware and steps are in hand to deal with the problem. My advice would be to check.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a bath!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarahbevanfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us that you liked our service and the location of the hotel, very close to the most important monuments of Madrid. We like to apologize for the experience you had with the shower during your stay and appreciate at the same time your comment to improve our facilities for future clients.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again at VP Hoteles.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our room is for three people. It is big, comfortable and new, including the matresses and the pillows. There is a balcony with big glasses doors. The bathroom is very good, with excellent shower. The room's illumination is perfect at night and there are a lot of light sockets.
Very well located. Near Retiro Park.
The staffs are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your opinion at Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our spacious rooms which have been completely refurbished during summer 2013. We have used the best qualities in materials to make our rooms even more comfortable. Thanks for pointing out the great situation of our hotel, just a few steps from the Retiro Park, and the professional service of our staff.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our VP Hotels in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#22 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £107 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing