We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific staff, beautiful room, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jardin de Recoletos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #25 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrific staff, beautiful room, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Could not be happier that we picked this hotel for our week in Madrid. Large, very attractive room with kitchenette, love seat, sleek bathroom. 3 minute walk to Madrid's excellent subway. Located within easy reach of top sites. We walked to most of the museums. Gorgeous, tree-lined streets. The breakfast buffet was top notch with friendly servers if you need anything at all. Outdoor restaurant area looked beautiful, but weather was unseasonably cool while we were there in early May. Staff was delightful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinchbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful week in our recently renovated rooms with its comfortable sitting and kitchen area. Moreover it is a great pleasure for us to read that you have highlighted our great location in the heart of Salamanca Neighborhood and our restaurant with its outside terrace where you can enjoy delicious meals in a green surrounding.
We are looking forward to see you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    173
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
143
220
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Centrally located on a quiet side street, near Retiro Park and a short 15 minute walk from the Prado, you can't beat this hotel for price, service and location. The hotel has an attractive outdoor garden restaurant in the rear which is a wonderful respite from the hustle and bustle of the street cafes at the Puerta de Alcala which is just a few blocks away.

The front desk staff speak excellent English and they are especially accommodating. A terrific value for the money. No pomp and circumstance. Just a good place to spend the night. I've never stayed at a hotel with a better shower. The shower alone is worth booking this hotel!

Room Tip: Book a high floor rooml facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for your outstanding opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated the excellent situation of our hotel, very close to the main tourist attractions and Serrano Street, the Golden Mile of Madrid. Moreover we want to thank you for your detailed review on our hotel like the attractive terrace in our garden or our new and modern walk-in showers. On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our staff, their great attitude and full commitment to ensure that all guests are fully enjoying their stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Jardin des Recoletos. Tomas and Luis at reception were very, very friendly and helpful with recommendations, dinner reservations and directions. They made us feel very welcome.

The recently refurbished room (212) was clean and nicely decorated. There was a nice sitting area with sofa and the kitchen area was perfect for a cup of tea after a day of sightseeing. Beds were very comfortable. Nice walk in shower with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was served in the airy dinning room – cereal, fruit, ham, cheese, bread, pastry and omelets cooked to order when requested. A very nice way to start the day.

The wi-fi was good.

The hotel exceeded our expectations. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Standard room was a nice size for two. We were facing the courtyard but heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerryskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for taking your time in writing an opinion about our VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that we could exceed your expectations. It is a pleasure to read that you liked our spacious rooms including its sitting and kitchen area, very useful for longer stays and to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for highlighting our professional staff at reception because this shows us the effort me make day by day to offer a better service to our guests. We are happy that you tried our delicious breakfast buffet and that you have mentioned our free wi-fi service in all the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Originally I was holding a short term apartment in Madrid for 4-nights, changed mind and got this hotel room with kitchenette, we wanted buy some food (jamon, cheese, wine, sweets, you name it) and eat in the room, bite some bread and make some coffee, tea in morning time, so the room with kitchenette is big plus. Location is not in the center but in nice area, we really enjoyed some shopping in the neighborhood. Again, the room is big enough, had a coffee table with sofa next to bed, bathroom is clean and nice too. Negative things were, a coffee machine was broken, asked replace to another one, next day, minimum kitchenware, we missed some stuff like wine opener.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for writing your experience at our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you have chosen our hotel because of its spacious rooms with kitchen facilities like microwave and fridge with free soft drinks for the first night. We also appreciate your comment about the nice and quiet area where our hotel is located. On the other hand we regret the inconvenience we may have caused with the broken coffee machine and like to inform our future guests that additional kitchenware can be ordered at reception or restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at VP Hoteles.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The location of the hotel is great especially for tourists. its a ten minute walk from the Prado, almost next to the Archaeological Museum and a 5 euro taxi from the railway station and the Plaza Major and Grand Palace. The metro station and open top tourist bus also stops five minutes away. From the very first moment we entered the hotel the staff made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble either in the hotel or the restaurant. On our first night we ate in the hotel and as an apology for not having a garden table available the waitress surprised us with a fabulous platter of fruits to finish our meal. The rooms and bathroom are very good and exceptionally quiet and together with a pillow menu are conducive to a good nights sleep. Overall it was an excellent hotel and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hothellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear customer,
We like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you liked our unbeatable situation, close to the most important museums of Madrid and well connected by metro, bus and train. We appreciate mentioning our professional staff at reception and restaurant who is always trying to offer the best service to our guests. Thanks for highlighting our recently refurbished and quiet rooms where all our customers can choose their favorite pillow for a good sleep.
We hope to welcome you back again at VP Jardín de Recoletos during your next stay in Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Within walking distance of all the attractions in heart of Madrid. Exceptional rooms at a great price. Recommended by a Spanish businessman who was right on! Rooms were very nice. THe lobby and bar/cafe were not lavish, but not necessary. Would defintely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard (jardin) are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0wnhillSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,
We like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you discovered our hotel through a recommendation and that we could improve your expectations with our spacious and comfortable rooms. We are looking forward to see you at our VP Jardín de Recoletos, your hotel in the center of Madrid.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

To be honest, I did not want to recommend this Hotel at all. Not because I did not like it. I just wanted to keep this jewel secret. An enthusiastic comment tends to attract grumblers and killjoys. Jardin de Recoletos is one of those fantastic hotels, where you can feel completely at home, if you are able to overlook the nothingness of missing pancakes and sausages at breakfast.
The hotel is situated in the Recoletos quarter of Madrid, which is one of the wealthier parts of town. It is a little off center, and you find many boutiques, bars, cafes and restaurants, where the locals always are the mayority. An indication of good quality and low prices. The famous "Jardin de Recoletos" is only five minutes away. There a two Metro- and one train stations in short walking distance as well as cheap buses serving all directions.
The rooms are very comfortable and the bed is huge. The is an extra sofa and a big flat screen tv with international stations.The bathroom is spacious and tidy, Although this is a mid-town hotel, you are able to leave the window open at night (except when Real Madrid has won another championship).
The breakfast is fantastic. Fresh fruit, cheese, muesli, eggs and good coffee. The service is fast and very friendly. This applies to the restaurant as well. From 8 to 11 the y serve delicate dinner for reasonable prices.
Very cleary a five-star quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kormoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpcalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for writing your excellent opinion about our hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos at Tripadvisor. It is a great honor for us to read that you qualify our hotel as a jewel in Madrid and that you had a wonderful stay in our spacious and in summer 2013 completely refurbished rooms. We appreciate your comment about the comfort of our beds with Egyptian sheets and facilities of our rooms like the big flat screen TV with international channels or a pillow menu for your better sleep. Thanks for highlighting our great location in the Recoletos quarter where you can find a big variety of shops, cafes and restaurants. Famous places like Retiro Park or Prado Museum are just a few steps away. We are also celebrating that our breakfast buffet with fresh and homemade products fulfilled your expectations and that you also taste dinner in our restaurant including a beautiful terrace to enjoy a relaxing meal in a green surrounding.
We like to thank you again for you five-star comment and are looking forward to welcome you again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos.
With kind regards
Sandra Serrano
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Jardin Metropolitano
#52 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#34 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing