We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream City , Dream Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #251 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dream City , Dream Hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've just ended my holiday to Madrid and I've stayed at Hotel Sterling. Just a word describes this hotel : Perfect ! I don't know where to start...Location : perfect ! Staff : perfect ! Service : perfect ! Rooms : perfect ! Value : perfect ! I love everything about this hotel....
Don't think twice ! Book your room without any doubt !

Room Tip: Top floors & back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    350
    144
    52
    24
See reviews for
203
267
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My sister and I stayed here with my dog. The only challenge was parking, although there was a typically expensive public underground lot within 5 minutes walking. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location of this hotel is fabulous. We walked from the hotel to Plaza de Espana and then on to the royal palace, Plaza Mayor and Puerto del Sol and back within 30 minutes. The very helpful attendant did not speak much English but was willing to help and with my poor Spanish and gestures we had everything we needed, including an excellent tourist map and metro map.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina_R_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

the hotel has a very good location. clean rooms - if your window looks to the street, not to the inner yard. good english speaking stuff in the rexeption.
but awfull stuff in the restaurant. during breakfast I saw, that stuff -no name man (they don't have badge) wiped with a rag bin and then poured water on it from the kettle wiped the table where the food is!!! we were shocked! I understand - this is 3*** hotel. but we' re not in the poorest country. we're in spain!
and my advice: if you decide to stay here, don't pay for breakfast. it's really poor. there are a lot of caffes outside, on the gran via. go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandragv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Absolutely spoilt for choice for hotels in Madrid so am pleased to say got it right with the Hotel Sterling.Just had a really enjoyable weekend break in the vibrant city that is Madrid.
The hotel is ideally situated for transport and accessibilty to all attractions in the city.
The hotel is particularly clean ,we had a quadruple room which was ideal for a family of four.a very long corner room with four beds in it and they were not small single beds!It was comfortable and warm for our weekend break.Breakfast was fine,more than what I expected reading previous reviews.There's coffee,tea,chocolate,juices,a good selection of pastries,bread rolls,bread for toast,jams and spreads,cold meats and cheese.The staff are professional,polite and helpful in both the breakfast room and reception.
The location is spot on,just off the Gran Via(the equivalent of Oxford St),very close to bars ,restaurants,theatres etc..The area Sol with its main square,the hub of activity,is about five minutes walk away.From there,the roads lead on to many attractions .
Transport wise it very straightforward.There is a choice of using the metro Noviciado line 2 which is on the same road or Santo Domingo(2) or Plaza Espana lines 3,10 on the Gran Via..
From the airport we found it easier to get line 8 to Nuevos Ministerios then transfer to line 10 to Plaza de Espana ,come out the exit Gran via and walk up until you see Calle(street) San Bernardo on the left,then just walk down until you reach the hotel.This should take about 5mins or less.The journey time by metro is 30-40mins.
Even though the location is central,it is better to get a tourist pass,a 3 day one costs 18.00 euros .A one day is 8.40 and 2 day 14.20 eurosAll cover transport to and from the airport If you opt for single trip tickets its 1.50 or a book of 10 is 12euro.You just have to bear in mind that there is a 3 euro supplement each time you go to or from the airport so its best work out the economics.
The pass gives total flexibility for the metro and buses and the signage for both is very clear so its easy to use.Once a bus is going to Gran Via,Callao,Plaza de Espana,Sol,you cant go wrong.
That is how centrally placed the Sterling is!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Being the earliest in the year I've visited Madrid, and the worst weather, It was nice to find the hotel warm and with as friendly staff as usual... heating on w/c 18th March 2013!
Excellent stay, very quiet room at the back... immaculately clean... a great location and price.
Only reflection of this lovely City is that there seem to be more homeless on the streets than I've seen before... though nothing like Lisbon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but everywhere is a/c and double glazed, I would not want to be in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had a short stay here in march 2013 after spending a long time on the internet finding a good location hotel at the right price and we were not disappointed.
Our room was quiet(no view-but no outside noise),the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean and checked daily by the nice housemaids.
Breakfast was basic but adequate and the reception staff were friendly.
There is no bar in the hotel but plenty of eating places and bars nearby,also 2 metro stations very close.
The tapas bars are not to be missed! and a visit to the 'Palacio Real' is a must.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back with no view but it didn't bother us because it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassandraMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Reservation was made thru internet - and based on some reviews. It´s a nice place to stay, close to many shops, restaurants, cafes and most of all - its located just one block from Gran Via - (where life happens in Madrid). Easy access to Metro ( Noviciado stop) and walking distance to cinemas, theatres and good stores. It´s about 25 minutes from Barajas Intl Airport (by taxi).

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi is a must. Breakfast has just a few items, but is Ok.

I recommend and would stay there next time I´m in Madrid.

Room Tip: Best rooms are located on the 6th floor (601 - 602 - 603) as they have a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criscrocce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#186 of 436 in Madrid
614 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#116 of 436 in Madrid
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#268 of 436 in Madrid
944 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#110 of 436 in Madrid
699 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#307 of 436 in Madrid
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Property: Hotel Sterling
Address: Calle San Bernardo 29-31, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sterling 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing