We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #228 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013. We had read the reviews before we booked so we always felt comfortable about staying there.

The hotel has a good location, a minutes walk from the Noviciado metro station. If you have not been to Madrid before, the metro from the airport is the quickest way to transfer, one change at Nuevos Ministerios and get off at Plaza de Espana. You can then walk (still in the metro) to the Noviciando exit (follow signs for San Bernardo) - You have to change twice to go directly to Noviciado.

The room we were given on the third floor was a little on the small side but had recently been decorated and was very comfortable and very clean. Excellent large bathroom. TV but no English programs. Proper double bed rather than two singles pushed together.

Breakfast was included in the price. This was served in the basement room and consisted of cereals, breads, cold meats and cheese, croissants, and hot and cold drinks. No hot food served.

We found the hotel ideal for a three night stay near the centre of Madrid and did not have to use public transport at all.

Room Tip: Better views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    341
    140
    50
    20
See reviews for
197
259
38
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed here for 4 days end of April. Location is great, easy walking distance to most of the key sights, and easy to reach from the airport (took about 30 mins on metro,€5, to Plaza Espana). Staff friendly & helpful.
Our 6th floor room was great, very clean, plenty big enough, modern styling with full bathroom, good TV (few English channels) & a large terrace/balcony from where we could see the Gran Via. As is common in Europe, there was no kettle, so worth taking a travel one if this is important to you.
Breakfast was fine; coffee, chocolate, range of teas, juices, cereal, fruit, bread, toast, cheese, meats, various pastries.......I don't see what anyone could complain about!
There is no bar or restaurant, but there are plenty of options for both within a short walk. We had a package which included dinner in their sister restaurant, Cafe de Levante near Sol, which was fine.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a terrace/balcony, we had one facing the front which wasn't at all noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarall0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've just ended my holiday to Madrid and I've stayed at Hotel Sterling. Just a word describes this hotel : Perfect ! I don't know where to start...Location : perfect ! Staff : perfect ! Service : perfect ! Rooms : perfect ! Value : perfect ! I love everything about this hotel....
Don't think twice ! Book your room without any doubt !

Room Tip: Top floors & back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My sister and I stayed here with my dog. The only challenge was parking, although there was a typically expensive public underground lot within 5 minutes walking. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location of this hotel is fabulous. We walked from the hotel to Plaza de Espana and then on to the royal palace, Plaza Mayor and Puerto del Sol and back within 30 minutes. The very helpful attendant did not speak much English but was willing to help and with my poor Spanish and gestures we had everything we needed, including an excellent tourist map and metro map.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina_R_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

the hotel has a very good location. clean rooms - if your window looks to the street, not to the inner yard. good english speaking stuff in the rexeption.
but awfull stuff in the restaurant. during breakfast I saw, that stuff -no name man (they don't have badge) wiped with a rag bin and then poured water on it from the kettle wiped the table where the food is!!! we were shocked! I understand - this is 3*** hotel. but we' re not in the poorest country. we're in spain!
and my advice: if you decide to stay here, don't pay for breakfast. it's really poor. there are a lot of caffes outside, on the gran via. go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandragv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Absolutely spoilt for choice for hotels in Madrid so am pleased to say got it right with the Hotel Sterling.Just had a really enjoyable weekend break in the vibrant city that is Madrid.
The hotel is ideally situated for transport and accessibilty to all attractions in the city.
The hotel is particularly clean ,we had a quadruple room which was ideal for a family of four.a very long corner room with four beds in it and they were not small single beds!It was comfortable and warm for our weekend break.Breakfast was fine,more than what I expected reading previous reviews.There's coffee,tea,chocolate,juices,a good selection of pastries,bread rolls,bread for toast,jams and spreads,cold meats and cheese.The staff are professional,polite and helpful in both the breakfast room and reception.
The location is spot on,just off the Gran Via(the equivalent of Oxford St),very close to bars ,restaurants,theatres etc..The area Sol with its main square,the hub of activity,is about five minutes walk away.From there,the roads lead on to many attractions .
Transport wise it very straightforward.There is a choice of using the metro Noviciado line 2 which is on the same road or Santo Domingo(2) or Plaza Espana lines 3,10 on the Gran Via..
From the airport we found it easier to get line 8 to Nuevos Ministerios then transfer to line 10 to Plaza de Espana ,come out the exit Gran via and walk up until you see Calle(street) San Bernardo on the left,then just walk down until you reach the hotel.This should take about 5mins or less.The journey time by metro is 30-40mins.
Even though the location is central,it is better to get a tourist pass,a 3 day one costs 18.00 euros .A one day is 8.40 and 2 day 14.20 eurosAll cover transport to and from the airport If you opt for single trip tickets its 1.50 or a book of 10 is 12euro.You just have to bear in mind that there is a 3 euro supplement each time you go to or from the airport so its best work out the economics.
The pass gives total flexibility for the metro and buses and the signage for both is very clear so its easy to use.Once a bus is going to Gran Via,Callao,Plaza de Espana,Sol,you cant go wrong.
That is how centrally placed the Sterling is!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Being the earliest in the year I've visited Madrid, and the worst weather, It was nice to find the hotel warm and with as friendly staff as usual... heating on w/c 18th March 2013!
Excellent stay, very quiet room at the back... immaculately clean... a great location and price.
Only reflection of this lovely City is that there seem to be more homeless on the streets than I've seen before... though nothing like Lisbon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but everywhere is a/c and double glazed, I would not want to be in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
BEST WESTERN Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#224 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Centro
Espahotel Gran Via
Espahotel Gran Via
#182 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#193 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#192 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Property: Hotel Sterling
Address: Calle San Bernardo 29-31, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sterling 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing