We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Preciados
Ranked #19 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in wonderful location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is my third stay in this hotel. The first two were in October 2010.

I had a standard room and it was quite large by European standards. Very nice, well equipped bathroom. Free mini-bar with water, juices, sodas and beer. Plenty of room to store food you might want to keep in your room.

My room overlooked Calle Preciados, which is a pedestrian street with quite a bit of foot traffic. There are two sets of windows, so I heard no noise from the street.

The hotel is one block from Plaza del Sol. One short block from Gran Via. The Prado is about a 20 minute walk. The Palacio Real is about a 15 minute walk. I can't imagine a better location in Madrid.

As a nice touch, the hotel provided a split of Champagne for each room on Christmas Eve.

I've read other reviews talking about "interior rooms" with no windows, but I've always booked the cheapest room and gotten a nice big window. It appears there may be one room on each floor with no exterior view.

Hotel is quite clean.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms overlooking Calle Preciados.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you also to choose again the Hotel Preciados for your accommodation in Madrid.
Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and I am really proud of them.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,354
    1,127
    148
    26
    13
See reviews for
631
1,960
221
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was in the corner of the building, which gave us two sets of windows. When in the room, it was fun to open the windows and hear the life on the street. The room itself was extremely spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed. It also had a funky lighting scheme that even extended into the shower, which was also very big and stylish. We didn't have a lot of interactions with the staff, but those we did talk to seemed friendly.

The location is pretty good, a little ways from the museums, but close to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. It's nice to be on a pedestrian-only street, too, although all the restaurants right there seemed horribly tacky. Central Madrid is incredibly easy to get around with plenty of pedestrian friendly streets and metro stations every few blocks. Hotel Preciados is a short walking distance to a couple of different train stops.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

Your compliments of the Hotel Preciados are greatly appreciated. Thank you also for your mention about the room and location.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warmest regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

With a two night stay in Madrid, this lovely hotel was perfect. Stylish decor, great location, lovely staff. The cafe annexe was relaxed, friendly and healthy measure of amaretto for night cap. Top floor ensured quiet night sleep. Bedroom had lots of mood lighting options as well as the bathroom. Quality of hair dryer was brilliant. Fluffy towels and bathrobe extra comfort. Was hoping for a room with balcony but one without didn't disappoint. Pay for the upgrade if the balcony is important. Didn't book breakfast so no review for this. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and for your recommendations to other travelers.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, staff and bathroom.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Preciados.

Best regards

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
281 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

From other reviews i read that the manager is Mr. Javier. My friends and I would like to thank you and give you our chapeau!!! (Respect in french...)

We arrived at this very well located hotel in a charming street until we found out that we are just right in the middle of Madrid (extra points:)) the front desk was amazing helpful checked us in with a map of the city and with an answer of every single question including a smile. The rooms are nice modern and extremely clean (my girl and I being very picky) the rooms are very clean!! With a street view and sound proof windows. You get to enjoy a free refillable mini bar which i see it a generous act from the hotel. Everything was simply nice descent and pleasant. Wifi is also very good with no extra charges; we even asked for a wakeup call and they were punctual... The hotel is so lovely. We stayed in different hotels during out trip to Spain and preciados remained our best selection. They did it flawlessly. Keep it up :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding the Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and to read that we have exceed your expectations in the location, front desk staff and room.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A great location, with great and polite stuff, very well desinged and equiped rooms.
New upgraded rooms, will all a person need in his stay.
Very nice hotel restaurant with great food served. Hotel stuff are so helpful and polite in any question or request. Hotel located right in the center, walking distance to all Madrid main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhanamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

Truly appreciate your review, it is so pleasing to read that we kept all expectations.We do appreciate all the great comments about our location, room and restaurant.

We hope your visit again.

Sincerely

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Unfortunately I can not share feelings of other reviewers about how wonderful this hotel is.
It was just OK. We had a standard double room - rather small and dark with tiny balcony overlooking the side lane, I assume in the old part of hotel. The beds were comfortable, bed linen and towels were changed almost every day, but I didn't like that instead of normal blanket duvets they use two bed sheets with wool blanket between them - it slipped out all the time and I don't think they were dry-cleaned after every new guest. Breakfast was good with two Nespresso machines, smoked salmon and ham, fresh fruits, lots of home pastry, but to my taste there was a shortage of dairy products. Undeniably, Varela restaurant is hotel's advantage - open through the day to late night with good food and drinks, very convinient. Staff was amicable and efficient, but I was surprised that none of them uttered a word about my Birthday, though they were well aware of it - I asked them about suitable place to celebrate.
And the last thing - location! I didn't like the neighborhood at all. Madrid has places by far better. The Preciados area and Puerta Del Sol were overcrowded by beggars of all sorts, homeless, street sellers of fake Louis Vuitton and pickpockets. Next time I go to Madrid I will stay at Salamanca district or near Paseo del Prado. It took us 15 minutes to walk there by foot, but the scenery was absolutely different.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivetta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest
We'd like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel.Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our Hotel.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were in Madrid for a single (Saturday) night with a 5-month-old baby and the only thing that disturbed the tranquility of our room was the baby. No road noise at all although the hotel is really central, handy for everything, and although our room was just opposite the lift we heard no noise from other guests. Our apologies to any other guests who may have heard us.

We arrived early and we were nicely pointed in the direction of some sightseeing and food while our room was quickly prepared. A cot was provided for the baby. We were always made to feel very welcome.

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom spacious and spotless. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

Thanks for your kind and wonderful comments but I was surprised that his low score is not matched with them.
Thank you for your time and we are looking forward to another chance to host you.

Warmest regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Property: Hotel Preciados
Address: C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing