We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Preciados
Ranked #20 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had no expectations and was delightfully happy with the clean and tasteful room. My husband's bag was lost by the airline and the woman at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful talking to Iberia. She also detailed a map for a walking tour - very convenient location! Very nice breakfast buffet as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and for your high score, it is appreciated.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, breakfast and staff and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,351
    1,126
    148
    26
    13
See reviews for
630
1,957
221
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Overall a very positive experience: hotel is very centrally located and offers great value. Rooms are clean and modern, but not overly large.
Staff all very helpful and mostly speak English. Very nice breakfast offering, but evening meal was disappointing. Mind you there are many restauarants within immediate walking distance although most are aimed primarily at tourists.
Although the hotel's located in a busy bar/restaurant area, the rooms have amazingly effective double-glazing, which completely eliminates any external noise. Allied with an effective air-conditioning system, this means there shouldn't be any problems with getting an undisturbed sleep.
Being a central location, driving probably isn't a great option. The car-park is in a "hidden" side street: hotel staff will have to park your car for you - which they do free of charge, but as there's no stopping outside the hotel, you have to find somewhere to stop close by, so they can park your car for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kameruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Preciados and for your recommendation. I'd like to tell you the next time that you can park the car just in front of the Hotel without any problem.

Thank you again and hopefully we shall be able to welcome your return.

Yours sincerely,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the preciados for 2 nights in mid Dec. 2013 and it was in an ideal location...close to the subway and near shopping, restaurants..walkable distance to many of the places we wanted to go. Our room was of normal size and had no real view..but it was quiet and the bed was one huge king size very comfortable bed instead of the usual of two twi beds pushed together! The room was elegant and newly furnished... it was a little bit awkward that the bathroom door was glass with just the middle part of the door being frosted..so you did feel like there was no privacy in the bathroom...but the shower was great and nice toiletries, plush robes and even slippers were provided. We absolutely loved the free minibar which was replenished everyday..sodas, juices, beer, water...We did not eat the hotel breakfast as there were plenty of local places nearby. We enjoyed the hotel's outdoor portion of the restaurant in front of the hotel on both nights...it had heaters so we could comfortably sit outside and enjoy the sangria and tapas and the prices were reasonable. All of the staff we dealt with were extremely professional, helpful, knowledgeble and spoke great English. I was very very pleased with the value of this hotel and the entire experience. I would stay here again and highly recommend it. I selected this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews I read and they were very accurate. First class hotel at value prices.

Room Tip: My room was quiet , it did not look out onto the front street...it looked out into a light well wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and for your high score, it is appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed about our Hotel included the central location ., free minibar, restaurant and firendly staff.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is my third stay in this hotel. The first two were in October 2010.

I had a standard room and it was quite large by European standards. Very nice, well equipped bathroom. Free mini-bar with water, juices, sodas and beer. Plenty of room to store food you might want to keep in your room.

My room overlooked Calle Preciados, which is a pedestrian street with quite a bit of foot traffic. There are two sets of windows, so I heard no noise from the street.

The hotel is one block from Plaza del Sol. One short block from Gran Via. The Prado is about a 20 minute walk. The Palacio Real is about a 15 minute walk. I can't imagine a better location in Madrid.

As a nice touch, the hotel provided a split of Champagne for each room on Christmas Eve.

I've read other reviews talking about "interior rooms" with no windows, but I've always booked the cheapest room and gotten a nice big window. It appears there may be one room on each floor with no exterior view.

Hotel is quite clean.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms overlooking Calle Preciados.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you also to choose again the Hotel Preciados for your accommodation in Madrid.
Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and I am really proud of them.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

With best regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was in the corner of the building, which gave us two sets of windows. When in the room, it was fun to open the windows and hear the life on the street. The room itself was extremely spacious, with a huge, comfortable bed. It also had a funky lighting scheme that even extended into the shower, which was also very big and stylish. We didn't have a lot of interactions with the staff, but those we did talk to seemed friendly.

The location is pretty good, a little ways from the museums, but close to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. It's nice to be on a pedestrian-only street, too, although all the restaurants right there seemed horribly tacky. Central Madrid is incredibly easy to get around with plenty of pedestrian friendly streets and metro stations every few blocks. Hotel Preciados is a short walking distance to a couple of different train stops.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

Your compliments of the Hotel Preciados are greatly appreciated. Thank you also for your mention about the room and location.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warmest regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

With a two night stay in Madrid, this lovely hotel was perfect. Stylish decor, great location, lovely staff. The cafe annexe was relaxed, friendly and healthy measure of amaretto for night cap. Top floor ensured quiet night sleep. Bedroom had lots of mood lighting options as well as the bathroom. Quality of hair dryer was brilliant. Fluffy towels and bathrobe extra comfort. Was hoping for a room with balcony but one without didn't disappoint. Pay for the upgrade if the balcony is important. Didn't book breakfast so no review for this. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and for your recommendations to other travelers.
We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, staff and bathroom.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Preciados.

Best regards

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
281 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

From other reviews i read that the manager is Mr. Javier. My friends and I would like to thank you and give you our chapeau!!! (Respect in french...)

We arrived at this very well located hotel in a charming street until we found out that we are just right in the middle of Madrid (extra points:)) the front desk was amazing helpful checked us in with a map of the city and with an answer of every single question including a smile. The rooms are nice modern and extremely clean (my girl and I being very picky) the rooms are very clean!! With a street view and sound proof windows. You get to enjoy a free refillable mini bar which i see it a generous act from the hotel. Everything was simply nice descent and pleasant. Wifi is also very good with no extra charges; we even asked for a wakeup call and they were punctual... The hotel is so lovely. We stayed in different hotels during out trip to Spain and preciados remained our best selection. They did it flawlessly. Keep it up :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments regarding the Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and to read that we have exceed your expectations in the location, front desk staff and room.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 438 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Property: Hotel Preciados
Address: C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing