We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights stay at Hotel Preciados”
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Preciados
Ranked #22 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great room, really nice and quiet. Fab shower.
Attentive & helpful staff.
Good breakfast.
Free minibar a nice gesture but no alcohol included.
Fantastic free wifi coverage in bedrooms and communal areas

Room Tip: Chose a high floor, in the refurbished area, looking inwards if you want a good nights sleep
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ClaireNo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your nice review and we are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our room, shower,staff , breakfast buffet and free minibar and wi fi.

Thank you again and we do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,873)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Preciados
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 3,874 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Arrived at 10am after an overnight from the States. Received a warm greeting and allowed early check-in! The staff, especially Ana and Daniel, was always helpful with directions, taxis, suggestions and dinner reservations. The restaurant has a wonderful buffet breakfast as others have described - pastries, fruits, eggs, meats and delicious coffee. The hotel is located a few blocks off the Grand Via and a few blocks off the Puerta Del Sol - great location for sightseeing. An ATM is nearby. Is a 15-20 minute walk to the Palace and Cathedral through the Los Austrias (old) section of Madrid in one direction and the Del Prado Museum in the other direction.

The hotel has an older half and a newer half. I stayed two nights in the newer half in room 418 (a premium/king room) - lovely although not large. This room has the Juliet balcony shown in the pictures with lovely tall French doors. This upper floor provided privacy from the building next door when the windows were open. Bathroom was clean and well appointed with a rain showerhead. This room is great for one person and would be fine for two – has a desk plus a bench for suitcases (but no drawers for unpacking). Has a nice closet and a safe for valuables. Very, very quite - never heard my neighbors. Left for two nights for business and decided to return to the hotel for one last night. Stayed in room 211 (?) in the older half (rooms with the blonde wood you see in the pictures) - not sure if this is a Standard or Superior room but it was lovely, less expensive and bigger. This room was on a somewhat noisy street but quiet with the windows closed. I would be happy to stay in either room and the Hotel Preciados, next time!

I can also recommend a short side trip to Toledo. Spent an afternoon there - left on the 2pm train – inexpensive and only 30 minutes each way. Had enough time for a bus tour around the city (see Rick Steves’ book for info), a little shopping (silver inlaid jewelry and knives), a tour of the breathtaking Cathedral (the audio-tour was well worth it) and dinner before catching the last rain back at 9:30. Would have loved to spend more time here!

Room Tip: If you want to save a little money (20-40 Euros), stay in the older section of the hotel (Rm 211 was...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Preciados and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services and staff.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

Kind regards.

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice surprise for us. We had selected this small hotel for its location off a pedestrian street, proximity to the Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, museums, etc., but the warm, helpful staff we found there and its many in-house amenities, like its restaurant and street-side café, quickly made it a fine home base for our time in Madrid. The room and facilities in general were clean, modern, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet however was a high point every day. The buffet was simply put, the best one could imagine - and all of this for an extremely reasonable price. We would definitely recommend Hotel P. if you are coming through Madrid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Wide_Wally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location, breakfast buffet and staff.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future.

Thank you again.

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is ideally located on a pedestrian street next to an underground station in the centre of Madrid. Despite its central location, very quiet .Rooms spotlessly clean, free use of minibar (refreshments and beer were replenished every day), free wi-fi in rooms. Good room size, modern decoration,comfortable beds, excellent sheets, spacious bathroom, toiletries replenished on a daily basis without request.
Good breakfast choice, although service at breakfast not that friendly (probably due to poor English knowledge). Another negative point was the bad quality of white bread. Very often wholemeal rolls ran out rather early in the morning. Plus point the availability of Nespresso machines and capsules, but unfortunately no possibility to prepare a cappuccino. Front desk service very friendly and efficient especially in the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen ourHhotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. It is glad to know you liked our location, free minibar and wi fi , room and breakfast buffet.
We hope there'll be another chance to host you and our waiters can preper a Capuccino.

Warmest regards,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I just returned from my first visit to Madrid. This was work-related, but the hotel my colleagues selected for the meeting days was outside of the city center, so we opted to stay at the Hotel Preciados the weekend before the meeting so that we could tour the city. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located next to all of the sites and shopping. The front desk staff (especially Ana) and really all of the hotel employees we spoke to were so very kind, helpful and welcoming. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and meticulously appointed. The breakfast buffet is amazing and reasonably priced. We were only scheduled to stay 2 nights, but we love the hotel so much, that we moved back for our last night after our meeting ended. My fabulous experience at the Hotel Preciados is a huge part of why I loved Madrid so much! Thanks Hotel Preciados!

Room Tip: There is a "newer side" and an "older side" of the hotel, but honestly, I stayed...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid.It is glad to hear you enjoyed with our breakfast buffet and front desk staff.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Preciados after an overnight flight from the States. We got to the hotel at about 9 am and were delighted to be told a room was ready for us. We had expected to have to wait until mid-afternoon, as many European hotels stick firmly to a 3 pm check-in time even if rooms are ready. The room was small, as hotel rooms in major cities tend to be, but very nicely furnished, clean and comfortable.
I had purchased breakfast when I reserved the room and it was extensive. Bacon and eggs, cut fruit, breads and pastries, plus cold cuts and many other items. Whatever you want for breakfast you surely could find in this buffet.
We highly recommend the Hotel Preciados.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest

Thank You for choosing Hotel Preciados and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our location,and services provided by our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Location of the Preciados was spot on, brilliant location to tour city from on foot or tube which is location less than 1 munute from the hotel. (turn right at top of tube exit is a helpful tip as you do enter a busy square when arriving)

Our welcome to the hotel itself was very very poor, unhelpful is putting lightly from the guy who checked us in on reception. No "did you have a nice trip, hope you enjoy your stay etc" just "passport .....sign here"!

Underwhelmed by this we were however pleased with how clean our rooms were, modern and with a decent sized bathroom although the bath itself is short in length the over shower was great.

Breakfast fantastic, fruit, cereals, pastries eggs, tomatoes, toast coffee, ham.....endless selection which really sets you up for the day.

Brilliant location for which to view the city on foot or by tube.....loads of bars, restaurants, Royal Palace, Cathedral (even if not religious this is well worth a look) shopping, trip to the Bernabeu.

Enjoyed our trip greatly although the welcome at the hotel was not what we were expecting at all....the girls who booked us in for a meal at the Botin restaurant however was very helpful and was a great ambassador for the hotel...strange how good and bad staff can be in one place!

Room Tip: Couldn't fault our room although if you like a bath and are over 6ft you may struggle.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ady42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid.We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the breakfast buffet and sorry that the staff was not up to your expectations.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again.

With kind regards

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,676 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#23 of 438 in Madrid
3,424 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 438 in Madrid
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 438 in Madrid
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Address: C/ Preciados 37 | ESQUINA CON LA PLAZA DE SANTO DOMINGO, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £97 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing