We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Preciados
Ranked #21 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Hotel is in a great location. I came for a business meeeting but I managed to squeeze in a quick walk around the city (The hotel is located close to the Grand Via and the Cathedral)

Room is great, wooden floor, bathroom is clean. No view from window. Air conditioning is great. Internet is free, but a little slow.
Breakfast was amazing! The chef worked wonders on the food and presentation.
Staff were always cheerful and friendly. Enjoyed my stay.

Great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpAndUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,546 - 2,552 of 3,933 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

Centrally located, convenient to many interesting neighborhoods and squares. Room was simple but very nice, clean, quiet. Front desk personnel fluent in English and were extremely helpful with a few non-hotel problems we had (including calling a car rental agency for us, since we are not fluent in Spanish). Internet access in a central area worked well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My husband & I spent 6 nights at the Hotel Preciados over a 2 week period. In total, we had 3 different rooms and found the room to be very clean, quiet and spacious enough for 2 (plus our large bags) . The things we liked the most:
* comfortable beds & pillows - after a long day of walking, it was lovely to go back to a comfortable bed. Since this isn't the case for many Spanish hotels (regardless of the number of stars, it is worth stating).
* Even though every one of our three rooms had a balcony to the street, we never heard any street noise - day or night.
* The hotel is located within walking distance to the Plaza de Oriente (5 minutes), the plaza mayor and the palace.
* We LOVED the free minibar. How nice it was to get back to our room after a long day or to wake up in the morning and have free drinks - cold water, juice or a diet coke - available.
* the weather was very hot and humid during our stay. The AC in the hotel worked beautifully.
* lots of cable channels on the TV. We appreciated getting the english news channels so we could check-in with the rest of the world a few minutes a day.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kcbmMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Central, beautifully managed, great breakfast with lots of fresh fruit (breakfast extra but worth it), free Internet and mini bar in every room. Rooms are very clean, newly furbished, with everything you might need - and very quiet because of insulated windows. Air conditioning works to perfection. Found it through tripadviser, I fully agree with the praise of others - and more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabriellaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

So we arrived in Madrid and made a rookie error by getting off at the wrong metro stop which just added a wee bit to our walk but also was a good eye opener to helping us get our bearings.
This hotel is near Grand Via which is one of the longest shopping streets in Madrid. It's near a plethora bars and restaurants too.
We were greeted by the receptionist who had a very polished look and our bags were brought to our room for us. The doorman was very polite and friendly and always had a nice word to say when we passed him.
The room itself was bigger then I imagined, a TV with 40+ channels, mini fridge, sizeable bathroom and AIR-CON were waiting for us on the 3rd floor.
Where our room was there was no daylight at all so it was hard to decide what to wear at times, our window looked out on an internal courtyard type area where the lights were turned on at 7:30 in the morning but our curtains managed to keep our room shaded.
We got a great price on the hotel and it was a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poptart007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My partner and I stayed one night in the hotel en route to Marbella.
The taxi driver left us a few streets away due to a one way system. We attempted to find the hotel on Preciados street but after several failed attempts we spoke to the tourist information at the top of said street. They did not know the hotel but assured us we were on the correct street and just needed to look again.
Following another frustrating lengthy look I rang the hotel who informed me that the street continued on another side of a square.
Ensure you are dropped at the hotel!!

The rooms were modern, airy and clean.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good with a varied selection.

We did a bus tour of Madrid and I would recommend this.
We found it surprising that by 7.30pm the main streets were inundated with prostitutes openly flaunting their 'wares.' I found this gave Madrid a seedy atmosphere that was offputting.

Good hotel and central location

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This location was great, right behind the Gran Via, yet the soundproof windows and dark shades made a restful sleep possible--much needed especially after a night of late fiesta. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Bathrooms and bedrooms were modern, clean, and comfortable--small by American standards but they seemed recently updated. I travel a lot and am very picky about hotels, but this one is a winner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyBadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,697 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 437 in Madrid
3,447 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 437 in Madrid
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Address: C/ Preciados 37 | esquina con Santo Domingo Plaza, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £96 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing