We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect in every way!”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We travel a great deal and cannot praise Hotel Orfila and it's staff enough. In short, Hotel Orfila is one of those special places that manage to be professional and intimate at the same time. We stayed twice in the past few weeks, and both stays were just perfect. The staff was so friendly and helpful - and so knowledgeable - that they made us truly feel as if we were at the home of friends. The restaurant would be a destination for us in any city - in fact, we cancelled our reservations at Botin so we could eat at Orfila's restaurant a second time - do not miss the lobster salad. Do not miss Hotel Orfila.

Room Tip: Even the basic rooms are spacious. We loved facing the street on a higher floor - swallows flew past...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyJDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Dear guest

We thank you for having chosen the Hotel Orfila for your recent stay in Madrid. For us is a pleasure to know that your stay at the hotel were perfect and it met with your expectations.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your days with us and you liked the hotel and our services.

We always want to provide the best services to our clients.

For the next time that you come to Madrid, we'll be waiting for you at Hotel Orfila

Best regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orfila
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

In planning our first trip to Spain to celebrate our 44th anniversary, we consulted Tripadvisor in hopes of finding a special hotel in Madrid. There we read glowing reviews of the wonderful Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, which included mention of an exceptional front desk person named Emilio. His professionalism, kindness and helpfulness were highly praised. So I e-mailed Emilio to ask if the lovely luxury/boutique Hotel Orfila might have a senior rate for our quiet, private little anniversary stay. Emilio's response, after consulting with his front desk manager, was truly exceptional. The accommodations far exceeded our fondest dreams, and the chilled champagne and fresh fruit ("for our special celebration") were most welcome after our six hour drive from Bilbao. Emilio even volunteered to help my husband negotiate Madrid traffic to return our rental car on his way home after work! His friendly helpfulness continued every day of our stay.
Genuine kindness and consideration abound throughout the lovely Hotel Orfila from the impeccable dinner service of waiter Jose Maria in the Hotel's intimate garden restaurant
to the personal attention of front desk manager Jose. Upon our departure.
Jose saved us a great deal of time and stress by personally checking on our departure terminal at the airport and instructing the taxi driver accordingly.
Location on a quiet, tree-lined street, 19th century historic elegance, walking distance to major museums, fine restaurants, and chic shopping combined to make the Hotel Orfila our perfect choice--but it is Emilio and the wonderful staff that will bring us back to the Hotel Orfila whenever we are fortunate enough to return to beautiful Madrid--hopefully, before our 50th (also-sure-to-be-memorable) anniversary! It is surely no coincidence that Relais & Chateaux is now our favorite hotel group!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJLaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear guest:

We are pleased to learn that you selected the Hotel Orfila for your 44th wedding anniversary and are sincerely grateful for your words full of praise regarding our hotel's installations and services. Our team spares no effort to ensure our guests memorable stays with us, making them feel at home the very moment they arrive.

We will share your words with our entire team, especially with Emilio and José María.

We would be delighted to accommodate you and your husband again to celebrate your 45th anniversary.

Sincerely,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Steyed for 3 nights,we had one of their nice rooms and it was very roomy,airy and all in all very pleasant,room had a tv,bathroom with shower,very clean and comfortable,we had a good nights sleep,we would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcospere_perera93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Marcos,

Thank you very much indeed for your loyal custom. We are delighted to learn that both our property's facilities and our services live up to your high expectations and sincerely hope that also in future you will wish to stay with us when your ways lead you to Madrid.

See you again soon!

Sincerely,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This was our third stay at Hotel Orfila in the past 10 months, this time for 13 nights. We will be back again in Sept/Oct 2011.

We don't like big International Hotels. Boutique, comfort and service oriented hotels are always our preference. We use Relais & Chateaux affiliated hotels extensively and in Hotel Orfila we have found a gem in the heart of a big, bustling city.

The cosiness really makes this a home from home for us. The staff from the front desk to the restaurant to house keeping are incredible. Nothing is too much trouble! Besides the world renowned museums, the front desk plans our stay with us; great restaurants, great day trip excursions, entertainment, theatres, flamenco, ballet and much more. It all runs seamlessly!

We really enjoy our relaxed breakfasts and coffee on the secluded terrace, weather permitting. More often than not we dine in the restaurant whose chef is very good, as is the impecable table service, always a good wine recommendation, Spanish of course, to compliment the meal.

Our room, we always stay in the same room, is spacious and comfortable.

Orfila is situated in a quiet side street very close, couple of minutes walking, to Plaza de Colon and Plaza Alonso Martinez, both with Metro stops. A short stroll, a must, down Paseo de Recoletos from Plaza de Colon brings you to the famous museums. The Serrano shopping area, everything a woman could want, is a block from Plaza de Colon. The Parque Del Buen Retiro is a block off Paseo de Recoletos. We love strolling in this park.

In all a GEM of an Hotel.

Malcolm and Janine Royal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Dear Customers:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Orfila. It fills us with pride to hear that you consider it by far the best hotel you have ever stayed at and that you were very satisfied with our level of service.

It is a real pleasure to receive positive feedback; we will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.

See you again in September! In the meantime, we remain at your disposal for anything you may require.

Sincerely,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Orfila is elegant; centrally located close to Embassy Row; small & intimate with a fabulous kitchen and dining room. Part of the exclusive R&C association of five-star small hotels, the Orfila won't disappoint. The staff is attentive, the rooms are comfortable and well provisioned; and, every client need is anticipated. A wonderful alternative to the big, old and sometimes stuffy regulars. The Orfila is not a modern boutique, it's a classic and elegant Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Orfila. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are delighted to learn that we have exceeded your expectations, not only in the hotel but also in the restaurant. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next trip to Madrid.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We enjoyed our 5 nights at the hotel as a highlight of our 2 week trip to Spain and France. The staff are friendly, professional, and ready to do whatever it takes to make guests feel welcome and cared for. The location, though a bit off the beaten tourist path, is perfect as a start-the-day and end-the-evening haven, quiet and elegant. By the second night, we were referring to the Orfila as "home"!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXTraveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Dear guest:

We thank you for having chosen the Hotel Orfila for your recent stay in Madrid and for sharing your point of view with other travellers. The bottom line for all our efforts is our guests' satisfaction. We are therefore delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations.

We very much look forward to accommodating you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This year I stayed at Hotel Orfila the third time.
I brought a firend and his wife from Chicago, USA.
I think they both were very impressed with the services and the
accommodations of Hotel Orfila.
This hotel is conveniently positioned to access to various tourist spots,
i.e. the Prado, downtown area, subway stations, bus stops,etc.
Their services are really exemplary and courteous.
The restaurant serves the finest Frenchized Spanish cuisines.,
since this place is a part of Relais & Chateau chain anyway.
If you would like to stay and taste the fine Spanish flavor,
I highly recommend this hotel is the place you should stay when
you are in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask the room with the view of back court yard.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleetraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comments and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are delighted to learn that we have exceeded your expectations - not only in the hotel but also in the restaurant. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next trip to Madrid.

best regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 438 in Madrid
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
1,976 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £216 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing