We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$132
Melia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
SLEEP'N Atocha(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$85
ibis
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveller rating
1,049
155
28
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,049
155
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetfront office managerplaza colonsmall hotelelegant hoteljunior suitewithin walking distancerooms are largea wonderful staymajor museumsside streetthree nightslong weekendthe ritzprado museumcentral locationtapas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent five nights in thiis Relais Châteaux, 28 October to November 2nd, 2011. For vacation and discovery of Madrid. We have to say that both of us travel worldwide in our jobs, and we spend more than 100 nights per year in differnt hotels!
Orfila Madrid was a revelation. Very central location, quiet street, walking distance to Salamanca and to the Prado...
The room (we has the simplest room 46) was huge compared to what we know in Madrid. Furnished with taste, in classical style, as we expected from a Relais Châteaux. Very functional amenities. Certainly, what got us absolutely stunned is tha absolute charming and attentionate, personalized service from each person of the staff! And their attention did not seem invasive, nor commercial, but genuinly friendly and extremely professional!
Orfila is not the type of large business hotels... It is a small charming and cosy place, where you feel "at home"...
Thank you, all Orfila staff! From now on, this is our "home" in Madrid!

Room Tip: We know room 46 (4th Floor). It was quiet, very spacious, with very large window and well furnished.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear guest,

We are very much pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Madrid. At the Hotel Orfila we work hard to balance luxury with the warm and personalized service, we believe, every single guest of ours deserves.

In addition we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers, since there probably are many other business men and women that will find your review extremely helpful.

We´ll make sure to share your kind words with our staff.

Please know that your home in Madrid will always be ready to welcome you back for another set of adventures to begging. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us.

We look forward to have you stay with us again sometime soon.

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We spent 3 nights at hotel Orfila, very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast, quiet. Hotel is a little tired and needs refurbishment but It is not run down. Well located.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, and your family, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is not the place for those that like Impersonal Big International Chain Hotels!

We are old sticklers and always stayed in the same room on the 1st floor.

This stay the front desk manager, Jose, suggested we stay in a room on the 4th floor directly above our first floor room. My wife reluctantly went to see the room. We found out for the first time, on our fourth stay in the past 12 months, that a "matrimonial bed" is what we call a double bed. What a plus! We had incorrectly assumed that only twin beds were available. Henceforth the room on the fourth floor will become our regular room in our home from home in Madrid.

The Hospitality and Ambiance of Hotel Orfila is exceptional. Weather permitting try the terrace for a meal, a drink or even just your morning coffee.

Meals in the restaurant are a must! The chef is excellent and the table service impeccable. But you would expect nothing less from a Relais & Chateaux establisment.

We look forward to our next stay which unfortunately will only be in mid 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,

From the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your fourth stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.

Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.

We are happy to know that even after four visits in 12 months we can still pleasantly surprise you and make each stay unique!. Please let us know when you are planning your next visit!

Mid 2012 cannot come soon enough!, until then, please receive our kindest regards.

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Hotel Orfila is an charming, old-fashioned sort of hotel. It's in a good location in the quiet embassy district of Madrid and close to the shops, Prado, Thyssen museum etc.

Lots of nice touches. There's a good breakfast (about 25 euros unless it's included in the room rate) and a lovely little terrace bar/restaurant. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. There was free wi-fi in the room and throughout the hotel, which is very helpful.

The service was attentive but occasionally a bit idiosyncratic. For example, there was a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived but we couldn't persuade the staff to send up any ice when we actually wanted to drink it. Our 'romance package' promised candles by the bath but this consistented of four tea-lights, which cheap rather than romantic, in my view. Getting information about the hotel and making a restaurant reservation took a bit more effort than you'd expect in a luxury hotel. But this may have been a bit of a language issue.

Our suite was spacious, quiet and comfortable but I agree with other commenters that the decor, especially in the common parts, needs a bit of a refresh. New carpets wouldn't hurt.

But overall, a very nice stay and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your generous words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s alway room for improvement.

We have taken note of the recomendations and coments you mentioned above, and passed them along to the departments in charge so they can take proper action in the matter.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Madrid. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance, so we can arrange and honor any special request.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What a stay. From the staff to the service and rooms. Can fault anything. This place is a go

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your words of praise which we have extended to our entire team. We do our best to provide personal but unobtrusive service and are delighted to know that our guests acknowledge our efforts.

We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general.

Before your next visit to Madrid, we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Orfila.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews