We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Pavilions Madrid(Madrid)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Centro Colon(Madrid)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveller rating
1,049
155
28
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,049
155
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetfront office managerplaza colonsmall hotelelegant hoteljunior suitewithin walking distancerooms are largea wonderful staymajor museumsside streetthree nightslong weekendthe ritzprado museumcentral locationtapas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Trip advisor on line helped inform my choice of Hotel Orfila which we booked five months in advance of our stay. Located in a quiet neighborhood, close to the Plaza Colon, the hotel could not be better sited-- a short bus ride away from the major museums and shopping. The hotel is elegant, small, well maintained, and the staff most accommodating (making restaurant recommendations and reservations, storing some of our luggage while we visited Ronda and Toledo for a few days, organizing taxis, etc.). Breakfasts were delicious as was the one dinner we had, our final night. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for its charm, elegance, character, convenience, and alert and gracious staff.

Room Tip: We requested and were granted a room with a garden viiew in back. It was quiet and lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChathamA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear guest,

How lovely to learn you've had a wonderful time during your recent stay at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila!. Thank you for having chosen us with five months of anticipation, and for taking a few minutes of your time to share you experience with other fellow travelers.

We are indeed located in a privileged area in Madrid that allows our guests to explore and discover the city in a unique way. Our attentive and friendly staff is always ready to answer any of your questions and suggest some of the must see venues to make your experience unforgettable.

We would love the opportunity to have you back next time you are in town. Please don't hesitate in contacting us in advance, we'll be more than happy to make sure we honor any special requests.

Our best wishes,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I carefully research my hotel choices before I book, so a hotel usually does not surprise me very much, either positively or negatively. The Orfila did surprise me. . . service at this hotel during my 5 day stay has been super. Just the right mix of personal, friendly, formal, but always capable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear guest,

How wonderful to know that we were able to surprise you in a positive way!. And we are extremely thank you took some minutes to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

At the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we believe in excellence and efficiency in our service, without leaving the "human" variable out of the equation.

Madrid is full of exciting experiences ready to offer to our guests. And at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we work to make them unforgettable.

We'd love to welcome you back next time you are visiting Madrid. Please let us know in advance so we can make sure to honor any especial request.

Best regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed one night in this very comfortable hotel which is centrally located in the city of Madrid. Our room was large, comfortable and very quiet. The staff in general were excellent.
Room prices are quite expensive and in general do not include breakfast. I'd suggest taking breakfast in a nearby cafe.

Room Tip: For the best deals, book 30 days in advance at the hotel's website
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarahyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers.

We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our installations as much as our kind and attentive service. Our goal is to help create an exciting and unforgettable experience to each one of our guests, making them feel comfortable and happy while with us.

It will be of our great pleasure to welcome you back next time you are in town, so please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance.

We'll be looking forward to see you again at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila.

Kind regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just spent 4 nights in the Hotel Orfila in Madrid. Apart from its great location within walking distance of the Prado and all the museums in that area, it is also close to the wonderful shopping streets of Calle de Serano and the smaller Spanish boutiques. However, the best thing about it, is its wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble - booking great tables at a moments notice, translating into spanish anything we needed to know, finding obscure shops that we had been told about in England and remembering exactly what each member of our party usually requested for breakfast. Our one free dinner which was part of the package, was the best food he had in Madrid. I could recommend it more highly. Harriet

Room Tip: As it is in such a quiet location with a garden at the rear, I doubt it would make any difference which room you had.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear guest,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your 4 day stay with us!. At the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we channelize our efforts to make of your stay a pleasurable experience, and hopefully, and unforgettable one too.

On behalf of our entire staff, please receive a big thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to share your story with your fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to learn you took advantage of privileged location and went for a shopping spree. Calle Serrano is definitely a wonderful choice. And we are sure you were also able to enjoy some of the most amazing Spanish cuisine at the restaurants and nearby tapas bars.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Madrid. Please don't hesitate in contacting us in advance to make sure we honor any especial request.

Kind regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have been at Orfila Hotel in late december. It is a very nice boutique hotel, located in a quiet street nearby the Plaza de Còlon in a walking distance from the old city and the Bourbon district. The staff is attentive and very polite and they take care of any order quickly. We stayed in a very confortable room with all the facilities. The breakfast (included in the rate) is incredible with "jamòn iberico" and different kinds of cheese. We stayed for 3 nights and have a fantastic dinner in the beautiful restaurant. I suggest you try the perfect cochinillo (crispy pork), even better than the served in the famous Botin, also in Madrid.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcioRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear guest,

How wonderful to read such lovely comment about your experience at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila. We would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Orfila for your 3 nights stay in Madrid.

We have to say, we are very proud of our Restaurant El Jardin de Orfila. We take the art of flavor and aroma very seriously, translating our passion to please our guests into delicious -and quite unforgettable-dishes.

In order to keep up with our ever growing, always -in-movement city, el Jardín de Orfila hosts some of the most wonderful dinner parties, and we'd love you to join us in one of them next time you are in town.

Please don't hesitate in contacting us, so we can make sure to honor any especial request you may have.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews