We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ist Class from start to finish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ist Class from start to finish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Orfila in June for 3 nights absolutely wonderful. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is in a quiet location which we always like but close enough to all the shopping and places of interest. Our room was lovely, clean and spacious the best start to the day, having breakfast on the patio outside the restaurant they had everything we wanted and more. Will definitely be visiting again we really enjoyed the hotel and Madrid thank you to all the Staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear guest,

We are truly happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us. At the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we work hard to create a special experience for each one of our guests.

Both of our location and installations are thoughtfully arranged with stylish decor in order to become a perfect starting point to discover Madrid.

It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again on your next visit to the city. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance.

Kind regards,
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    130
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
163
563
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed in a Superior Double for 3 nights in June 2012. The room was spacious and well appointed and most important of all the beds were large and comfortable.
The hotel has an elegant,tasteful feel and is immaculately maintained but small enough for personal service. The staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient.
We did not dine in but breakfast buffets were good and constantly topped up.
The Orfila is situated in a quiet area just north of the main tourist spots but still close enough to walk to without the need to use taxis or public transport.
Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience with us was of your liking.

Our classic decor, spacious rooms, modern installations and hospitable team are put together in order to create a very special memory of your visit to Madrid.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town, for both leisure and business travels, we'll make sure to deliver up to your expectations.

Kind regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed in a deluxe room @ Orfila for a week from April 20-27th. Overall: very cozy, personable, great location, great breakfast, restaurant has wonderful bread & appetizers (all of Madrid likes to use salt, so ask to hold off).
Room: specious, very clean, comfortable bed, nice sheets & pillows, complementary bottle of wine on arrival, nice & quiet @ night w birds chirping in the morning ;), double sink bathroom, bidet!, deep tub ;)
Concierge: Emilio- the best! Overall, very friendly & helpful. One area to improve - local GOOD restaurants suggestions (brought back business cards from the great restaurants we visited).

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a very quiet street, so all rooms are quiet (which can't be said of many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana90077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. At the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we try our best to create exceptional experiences for each one of our guests.

Besides our location and our installations, what makes the Hotel Orfila so special is our wonderful team and we are extremely proud of them. So we'll make sure to deliver your kind words to Emilio.

We look forward to welcome you next time you are visiting Madrid.

Best regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were welcomed with a delicious glass of cold Prosecco before taken to our room. The room itself was spacious and beautifully decorated with a complimentary half bottle of red wine waiting for us. It looked out on to the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The staff were extremely courteous and kind - we couldn't fault them. The restaurant was very quiet, only two other tables were occupied for dinner, but the food was absolutely delicious.
I would imagine this beautiful hotel would attract a more sophisticated, older crowd than somewhere like Hotel Urban (also great).
It was very quiet (no noisy bar, or screaming kids). We asked for a late check out and they were more than happy to oblige. It is on the pricey side compared to other 5 star hotels but the quiet and beautiful setting and kind staff made up for this. It is within easy walking distance to the Prado and Thyssen museums although not that close to the main shopping district.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear guest,

We'd like to thank you for having chosen us for your recent stay in Madrid. We are glad to know we were able to meet you expectations.

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we put our best effort to make you feel welcomed and help you enjoy our city at its best.

We would truly love the opportunity of have you stay with us again next time you visit Madrid.

Warm regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Often, especially in London, no matter how good the hotel escaping traffic may be more of an aspiration than realistic. Not at Hotel Orfila which proved a totally delightful city centre hotel which offered very personal service, excellent room, superb cuisine and peace and quiet.

The staff were all very helpful and we were very grateful to Jose Martin Sanchez, Front Office Manager for defying the web site for a show, which clearly stated sold out, and found us tickets.

Ensure you book at least one evening meal at the hotel restaurant and there will be no disappointment.

The only mistake made was only coming for 2 nights. We hope to rectify that later this year.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DBFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Please receive you sincere gratitude for having chosen the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila for your recent stay in Madrid and for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are sure other travelers will find you inputs very helpful.

We do put our best efforts into creating unique experiences for those who choose us. We want our guest to feel welcome, loved and -why not say it?- pampered.

We are happy to hear that Jose was able to get you tickets for that show!. We'll make sure he gets your kind words of recognition.

We are looking forward to welcome you back later this year. Please don't hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can make sure to honor any special requests.

Best wishes,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights before heading back to the States. So glad we turned in the rental car because it was not needed at all. The room was large with the European "kingsize" bed which was very comfortable. Although we were close to the elevator, we never heard it. My husband had injured his knee and the personnel went out of their way bringing ice and then heat packs for him. We did have our breakfast included which was very good. You could order from the menu if you were wanting more than a continental breakfast. We did order room service one night and it was also good. The Plaza Colon was close and was a stop for the double decker tour bus which we paid the 2-day fare. It was a great way to get introduced to the city.
The hotel staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and reserving for us. Would definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad you decided to stay with us for a few days before heading back home. Madrid is a well worth capital city to visit and at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we work hard to make the sure the experience is unforgettable,

Besides our privilege location and great facilities, our restaurant El Jardin de Orfila offers a delightful gourmet alternative for those looking into enjoying that side of the city.

He hope your husband is all better now and truly wish to see you both again next time you are in town

All the best,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Located on a quiet and charming side street in heart of Madrid, the Orfilia is one of the most beautiful and romantic hotels in all of Europe. From the moment you arrive in the lobby, you are surrounded by elegance and class. The rooms are very large and plush, tastefully decorated with art work and vintage furnishings. The service and attention to detail by the staff is above all expectations.The hotel restaurant is a gourmet delight! For starters we had a delightful watermelon foam appitizer and smoked mussels in sauce, followed by a scrumptous consume. For our main course I had the venison and my husband had the grilled octopus. Each dish was perfectly prepared and served in an elegant style.
The Orfilia has everything you would expect in a world class hotel and much much more. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowBirdInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to hear we were able to meet and surpass your expectation. At the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we take our commitment to our guests very seriously, which is to make sure we deliver the best possible hotel experience ever.

We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant. El Jardin de Orfila is the perfect complement to the stay.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your husband again next time you are in town. Please don't hesitate in contacting us.

Kind regards,

Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#5 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing