We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hotel Orfila”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Hotel Orfila”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed April 12 - 16 2013 and found the hotel to be a version of heaven. It is an oasis of peace and calm in a very busy city. We slept with the window open and the loudest sound was the fountain in the lovely terraced garden. Breakfast was excellent and included tortilla, smoked salmon and sparkling wine.. Staff were friendly and attentive so we were more than happy with all aspects of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for haven chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Madrid. We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your time with us.

We work hard to deliver the best possible experience to each one of our guests, we are happy to know you have enjoyed our friendly and efficient service.
Next time you find yourself planning a trip to Madrid, please let us know in advance, we would love to be the ones to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    139
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
185
614
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

An elegant superbly professional yet cosy hotel in the heart of Madrid. We spent three nights in Madrid this April with the Orfila as our "home" base. I say home because the staff were so welcoming, the atmosphere serene, the cuisine of the in house restaurant superb and the comfort of the rooms above par. We will definitely stay at the Orfila again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStormbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear guest,

We are very much pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Madrid. At the Hotel Orfila we work hard to balance luxury with the warm and personalized service, we believe, every single guest of ours deserves.

In addition we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We´ll make sure to share your kind words with our staff.

Please know that your home in Madrid will always be ready to welcome you back. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us.

We look forward to have you stay with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleorton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Classic R&C hotel - full of quaint Louis XV style furniture and polished marble, with lots of charm. Not stuffy but fairly formal service, with very attentive reception. Weather was appalling and we can only imagine it is a beautiful place to spend a few days when the courtyard is open for breakfast, dining or relaxing. Very quiet location but only a 15 minute walk to good dining and nightlife options. Would recommend this beautiful hotel for those that like quaint traditional feeling places.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Finney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for your stay at hotel Orfila and for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities.

As you described in your comment we are located near numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs. And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually any other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.

When you find yourself planning your next visit to Madrid, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you as our guest once more.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 Nights- great service - great location and very romantic old design. The friendliness and service level is among The highest ever Experienced ón Any 5 Star hotel . The attitude of The Staff is just brillant !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jteilmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service. At hotel Orfila we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

So thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Some of the best food in Madrid and so quiet, elegant and enchanting. Loved it! In a city of bustle and noise, this quiet restaurant overlooking a sweet patio where I imagine in Summer you can eat outdoors, is most relaxing. We have been there three times and on each occasion have felt that it is truly a haven of luxury and culinary delight in the midst of a bustling capital city. The baby suckling pig is perfect and the service without flaw. The lobby pretty, location interesting and attention to detail outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila one more time if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

After our stay in December I said we would return and we did. Presumably by accident we had the same room which was useful as it gave me the chance to check the only two things I could find to criticise on our last visit, the room temperature and the wifi. This time we were shown the heating controls (slightly concealed behind a lamp), so that was sorted and no problems at all with the wifi this time using the same equipment.

So a nearly faultless stay, the only thing that wasn't perfect was the lack of turn down one night but hardly a problem and I'm sure it won't happen on our next visit. You will certainly find some considerably cheaper five star hotels in Madrid but paying the extra here is just about worth it for the staff and calm (one of the things you are asked to rate them on, wonderful).

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantwaitforspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Madrid. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Orfila. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they managed to get us 2 tickets to El Classcio, the hotel is in a good location near bars, restaurants and the metro. A greta place to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMMY_PAGELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at the Orfila Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in town. So please, feel free to contact us anytime.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 435 in Madrid
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#19 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing