We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really loved our stay at Orfila - a charming small, quiet and relaxed hotel with excellent staff and lovely food and drinks. The Gin and Tonics alone are worth the stay! Lovely terrace and wonderful breakfasts (mmmm almond tart) - a real gem. Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: All good rooms - we took two on the fourth floor and they were nice and quiet, the bed was MASSIVE a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your days with us and you liked the hotel and our services. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,

Verónica García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I just enjoyed a total of 13 nights at the Hoel Orfila and what a pleasure it was! Small, friendly, homey and sooo lovely! Right on the edge of the Serrano on a quiet street. Short walks away from charming restaurants and cafes, boutiques and embassy mansions. Not part of the noisy city but easily accessible to all the sights and attractions. We loved it everyday of our stay. The excellent hotel staff was always there to help, to offer suggestions, to arrange for drivers, and to get us the best reservations available. And our room was so very comfortable and relaxing. Our bed was the greatest! We had Wifi available inside and out. I would be remiss to not mention the beautiful garden patio, the excellent indoor/ outdoor restaurant and the Spanish breakfast Buffet. We will never stay anywhere else in Madrid. Hotel Orfila is the epitome of class, comfort, pleasure and style!

Room Tip: We loved our fourth floor suite overlooking Calle Orfila with the large ceiling to floor windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne7Losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Best wishes,

Verónica García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel Orfila is a marvel, with no small thanks due to José and the other excellent front desk staff. The hotel's location is superb, the rooms charming, the public areas elegant and quiet, and the restaurant understated and professionally served. We stayed at the Orfila twice, at the beginning and at the end of our visit to Spain, and both experiences were consistently positive. Many thanks - and thanks to Ernesto, as well, for taking good care of us and being so kind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFCA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid.

For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel. Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an excellent small hotel in a perfect location in Madrid that will allow you to walk to almost all attractions. We stayed there from June 10 to June 13th. The hotel is charming and the staff is excellent. The service level is very high and all coincierge recommendations were spot-on. Also, we experienced a 24 taxi strike while we were there. We had a dinner reservation at a restaurant too far to walk. They provided a driver to take us and pick us up at no charge. Also, I met a friend from Madrid and he was impressed that we had selected the hotel...he said he always selected it for his business clients. He commented"you must have done your homework" in selecting the hotel. Yes we did...thank you trip advisor.

Room Tip: A rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.
We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We look forward to see you again!
Best regards.

Verónica García,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We chose the Hotel Orfila in Madrid because we had stayed at previous Relais & Chateaux properties in other cities and countries and had been consistently impressed with their intimacy and unique style. The Hotel Orfila did not disappoint. From the moment we stepped in the door the service was open, warm and friendly. We could not fault our room - spotless, beautifully quiet and charmingly decorated. From the welcome glass of cava on arrival to the complimentary bottle of cream sherry in our room and the romantic evening meal in the courtyard, everything seemed to be done to make our stay a delight. All we can say is thank you - we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience in our hotel courtyard was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.
We will make sure to deliver up to your expectations.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

With our car wisked off by valet to their parking lot, and welcomed by a friendly staff with a glass of cava, we immediately liked the Orfila. We were originally given a beautiful top floor room overlooking the courtyard with King bed, but had to switch because the room next door had children and noisy occupants. We were given the same room on floor below, slightly smaller and no King bed! But Nicoletta, the chambermaid, fixed our bed to make it a king and all was well. The staff is actually the best feature of the Orfila; they are welcoming, friendly, very helpful and anxious to please. Our favorite was Marcos, who was very knowledgeable about the area and where to find restaurants and food (such as Madrid's famous roast crackling pork) we were interested in.

Orfila is a small boutique Relais and Chateau property, with only 20 rooms on a relatively quiet street. The location is very convenient, safe, close to major sites such as the Prado Museum, with a metro conveniently nearby for more distant attractions. The hotel offers the services one would expect of such a property: nightly turndown, robes (oddly we only got one), nice toiletries (but no conditioner!), very comfortable bed(s) and crisp linens. Comfort at the Orfila gets an A+. A very nice touch is the mint foot massage cream left at turndown service which feels lovely on tired tourist feet!

The hotel restaurant is reputed to be very good (the basis for this property getting a Relais and Chateau designation) but we did not try it. On our first night there was a large party in the courtyard so it was crowded and noisy, and the second night there was also a group cocktail party. Breakfast seemed to offer a very nice buffet at 25E. It would have been nice had there been a coffee pot either in our room or in the lobby for those who don't want breakfast. (There are a number of places in neighborhood that offer quite inexpensive coffee and croissants in the mornings).

The one disappointment for us was the noise level. Since we were directly facing the courtyard, we could hear the two evening parties until the last guest left - so no sleep before 11:30PM/midnight even with the windows closed! Also, the guest rooms are not particularly well insulated so you can hear water running, people talking, etc. from other rooms around you. A last minor detail is there was no makeup mirror in the bathroom.

One hotel oddity is that while there is a little bar off the reception area, you have to go to the front desk/reception staff to ask for a drink as there is no bar tender. Drinks are not inexpensive.....I had a regular, undistinguished brandy for 20E.

It should be noted that parking is 30E a day but it is Madrid, and who wants to drive in a big city!

All in all, a very nice hotel in a great location with some minor flaws, but offering lots of comfort and amenities. Our only real issue was the noise from the courtyard that might prevent a return visit.

Room Tip: Hard to tell if the street side would be quieter as this is not a bustling avenue. Get a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your comments about the, service and our staff. We are please to help our guest to know exactly what they need to have a perfect stay in Madrid.

We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!

Best regards,

Verónica García.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved this place..... Great staff..... Marcos Kos was great.... Very helpful and lovely on the eye!! ALL staff were excellent and I am really sorry I lost the paper with the other names..... It was my husbands birthday weekend...... (27th..... Well really 53rd)! Was treated with complimentary champagne and then a bottle of champagne in the room.... Then chocolates and then fruit..... Was a brilliant weekend......thought it maybe a little far out but metro really easy and Alonzo Martinez the metro yo use...... Madrid very friendly and very clean city.... Loved it all and thanks to you all for a fantastic weekend........... Xxxx

Room Tip: We had room 56 on 5th floor and it was excellent....... Took me ages to work out shower but that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hills66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for your comments about our Hotel Orfila and our service and staff.
We are pleased that your stay with us were perfect.

Do not hesitate to come back to us in your next stay in Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 441 in Madrid
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 441 in Madrid
1,112 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#22 of 441 in Madrid
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £156 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing