We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we stayed at Orfila recently and had an amazing time, the staff could not do enough to help and made our stay wonderful. The location is great and easy for walking to many art galleries ect also wonderful restaurants nearby, would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Madrid. Thanks again to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june9673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience in our hotel was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    141
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
624
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pros: Cozy little hotel in a quite neighborhood. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms. Clean & tidy housekeeping. Nice garden at the back, for that at-home feeling.

Cons: Sound insulation a bit on the meager side. Limited selection of items in the menu. Prices on the steep side. Practically no service(not even bread) before 8 a.m., so not for those who need to get out early. Might work for those on the honeymoon, though.

Room Tip: There's no traffic to speak of on the street so both back- and forward- facing rooms have the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuareg1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, Director General at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here with my teen daughter for two nights about a month ago. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We liked the location as well. Near many of the things we wanted to see, but on a quiet street. The breakfast buffet was a favorite as well! The rooms we stayed in were spacious and lovely. The bathrooms were of a generous size which you don't often find in Europe! I consider this one of the rare "make you feel at home" hotels that I know I will go back to every chance I get!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, Director General at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid. We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We look forward to see you again!
Best regards.

Verónica García,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really loved our stay at Orfila - a charming small, quiet and relaxed hotel with excellent staff and lovely food and drinks. The Gin and Tonics alone are worth the stay! Lovely terrace and wonderful breakfasts (mmmm almond tart) - a real gem. Thanks to all the staff

Room Tip: All good rooms - we took two on the fourth floor and they were nice and quiet, the bed was MASSIVE a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your days with us and you liked the hotel and our services. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I just enjoyed a total of 13 nights at the Hoel Orfila and what a pleasure it was! Small, friendly, homey and sooo lovely! Right on the edge of the Serrano on a quiet street. Short walks away from charming restaurants and cafes, boutiques and embassy mansions. Not part of the noisy city but easily accessible to all the sights and attractions. We loved it everyday of our stay. The excellent hotel staff was always there to help, to offer suggestions, to arrange for drivers, and to get us the best reservations available. And our room was so very comfortable and relaxing. Our bed was the greatest! We had Wifi available inside and out. I would be remiss to not mention the beautiful garden patio, the excellent indoor/ outdoor restaurant and the Spanish breakfast Buffet. We will never stay anywhere else in Madrid. Hotel Orfila is the epitome of class, comfort, pleasure and style!

Room Tip: We loved our fourth floor suite overlooking Calle Orfila with the large ceiling to floor windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne7Losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Best wishes,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel Orfila is a marvel, with no small thanks due to José and the other excellent front desk staff. The hotel's location is superb, the rooms charming, the public areas elegant and quiet, and the restaurant understated and professionally served. We stayed at the Orfila twice, at the beginning and at the end of our visit to Spain, and both experiences were consistently positive. Many thanks - and thanks to Ernesto, as well, for taking good care of us and being so kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFCA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid.

For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel. Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an excellent small hotel in a perfect location in Madrid that will allow you to walk to almost all attractions. We stayed there from June 10 to June 13th. The hotel is charming and the staff is excellent. The service level is very high and all coincierge recommendations were spot-on. Also, we experienced a 24 taxi strike while we were there. We had a dinner reservation at a restaurant too far to walk. They provided a driver to take us and pick us up at no charge. Also, I met a friend from Madrid and he was impressed that we had selected the hotel...he said he always selected it for his business clients. He commented"you must have done your homework" in selecting the hotel. Yes we did...thank you trip advisor.

Room Tip: A rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.
We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We look forward to see you again!
Best regards.

Verónica García,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,947 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing