We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveller rating
1,072
157
28
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,072
157
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetfront office managerplaza colonsmall hotelelegant hoteljunior suitewithin walking distancerooms are largea wonderful staymajor museumsside streetthree nightslong weekendthe ritzprado museumcentral locationtapas
Filter
Updating list...
853 - 858 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed just 1 night in this elegant hotel. At first, the Orfila is not obviously superb, but in short measure one notices the small details: linen sheets, great mattresses, free WiFi, original art, etc. The staff provide excellent service as well. Dinner was very good, as was the breakfast, which provides a combination of buffet with eggs to order.

The location is unsurpassed, on a quiet side street, but within walking distance of the Prado.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We came to Madrid to spend the three days before Christmas at the Orfila which had very few guests. This meant that although the room was adequate, services were much reduced. We selected this hotel from other boutique hotels in Madrid because of it's highly recommended breakfasts. Instead, we were treated to a meager offering for which we were charged 30 euros a piece. Outrageous!

The hotel receptionist was extremely helpful in booking our rail trips to Granada and Cordoba which we were unable to do from the States. The rest of the staff was also really friendly. The only problem we had with the room was temperature control. Although it was December, the heat was excessive and we were not able to regulate it from the room. We also noted that the bathtub whirl pool was not clean, and spewed dirt into the bath water.

The Orfila is located in an upscale urban neighborhood, convenient to all the museums, on a quiet street of art galleries and restaurants. We had Christmas Eve dinner there as the only guests at the hotel, and selected from the à la carte menu which was very well prepared and professionally served. Earlier comments regarding the hallways and carpeting show that the hotel management has yet to acknowledge travelers complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rdannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at the Orfila for a few days recently. We had a very comfortable jumior suite. The hotel wasquite lovely6, very comfortable. The jurnio suite was not really a suit. It was one large room rather than a bedroom and small sitting room. The room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel is sufficiently small that the front desk personnel double as concierges. While they were friendly and tried to be helpful, there were wide gaps in their knowledge of thngs. For example, we wanted to go to El Escorial and the front desk person told us the trains left every few minutes from Recoletos station. While it is true that trians left from there every few minutes, the train to El Ecorial left every hour, so we had to wait 50 minutes. Also, we arrived on a Monday and robes and slippers did not arrive in our suit until Wednesday, which is typical of service in Spain. We had started our vacation (with two separate stays in Madrid) at the Ritz. Frankly, combining the comfort of the Orfila with the service at he Ritz wouls result in a perfect hotel. As ot wwas, we would stay in either hotel again, but all things being equal, for the exstra 100 euro a night would choose the Ritz because of the service. Nonethelesss, the room at he Orfila was superior and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

A charming small hotel, centrally located and well appointed. The restaurant was going through a menu change and was disappointing. However, the front desk service was the best we have experienced. A delightful stay

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffytowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Our stay in Hotel Orfila, Madrid from 22/09-2009 until 25/09-2009 was our worst 5-star-hotel experience ever! Compared with the official standard the hotel does not meet our expatiations at all.
Examples:

1. We could not use the spa in the bathroom due to lack of cleaning. Every time we try to use the spa, the basin was filled with black mould coming out from the tubes – disgusting! And the cleaning standard in the room was not sufficient either.
2. During the check-in procedure the receptionist presented a letter with dinner offerings. But in the restaurant later the same evening we were not able to get any of the menu-suggestions – the waiter and the cook simply did not know the suggestions! Then we try to order dishes from the “a la carte menu”, but several of the dishes could not be served (although there were only a few guests in the restaurant). “Sold out” was the answer. And the wine from the wine list we decided to drink was unfortunately also “sold out”. The table-cloth was not ironed and the table-cloth was with several spots of dirt – Uh!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Arne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews