We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise on Earth.”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Paradise on Earth.”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed in this Hotel twice, once in December and once in January- and I must say that both experiences left me with an incredibly good opinion of this little gem in Madrid. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating, the food is delicious, the location of the Hotel couldn't be better and the absolute comfort of it is almost overwhelming. I like to walk to my destinations, and by staying in this hotel I had to walk close to nothing to go everywhere! Located about 20 minutes away from the best Museums in town, as well as not even 5 minutes away to the closest Metro stations this is the one of the best Relais & Chateaux in Spain. Furthermore, the staff was always really helpful with restaurant and Flamenco tablaos recommendations.

If I could give this hotel 10 stars I would without a second thought. It's simply amazing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFostroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_Thomson23, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear client,
Thank you for your special comments regarding our hotel & staff. Also we’re glad that it was your second time in our hotel.
Many many thanks again, we hope to receive you one more time in the next trip to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    136
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
176
596
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Relais & Châteaux Orfila Hotel gets the highest rate possible for the professionalism of its staff (especially the reception staff) - bravo! Y que todo le vaya bien!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_Thomson23, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Nathalie & Nikolas,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel & staff, we are glad that your stay has been like your expectations.
Many thanks again and we wait for your presence in your next trip to Madrid.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Hotel Orfila...fantastic...wonderful...what else can i say?
The service was excellent, the food (my husband is a chef) was very, very good, as good as the waiting staff in the restaurant.
The rooms were nice and big, enough space to feel comfortable.
And last but not least, on the other way...saving the best for last...the recepcionist, Jose Martin, he was exceptional, very helpfull and his english was really good, very nice person.
As i said, i wish o could have a permanent room!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuky2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_Thomson23, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear guest: Thank you very much for your warm comments and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are delighted to learn that we have exceeded your expectations - not only in the hotel but also in the restaurant. We will pass your message on to our receptionist Joseph Martin. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I really can not believe that the review by micaela84 is about the same hotel I am glad that review was not live when I booked the Orfila.
Initially I wanted to stay in the Atlantica because of the reviews in TA but they did not answer two emails So further searches and we opted for the Orfila it was a little more at 210€ than we wanted to pay for a 4 night stay in Madrid but with parking included and a Chateau Relais we decided to book it. After a vey hectic drive into Madrid including getting lost in the new underground road system with no GPS and no idea where to go We eventually got back into daylight and with the GPS working again and after 20 minutes of negotiating heavy traffic and crowded streets we arrived in a very quiet road in front of the Orfila. We were immediately met by a very smart manager who new our names, arranged the unloading and parking of our car. Our spirits lifted as we entered the peaceful graceful reception area, the hotel was all a Relais Chateau should be. Our room was perfect, huge bed large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath; the room faced the inner courtyard and was the quietest city hotel room we have ever had. The staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble excellent directions and advice on where to go, they even booked and collected our train tickets to Toledo. The beds were turned at night with fresh towels and chocolates. On the second night we had a knock on the door and were presented with a bottle of sherry and two glasses with complements of the management.
We did not eat in the restaurant or take the breakfast at 25€ each we felt it was a little pricey but other residents we met said the breakfast was very good. There are plenty of restaurants nearby Enzos, Basilica, Bice. But be aware a lot of them do not open until after 20.30
Madrid is a fantastic city and we found the Orfila was well situated located in a very quiet area but within comfortable walking distance to most of the important places and very close to the excellent Madrid subway. The Orfila is a perfect choice to make your visit to Madrid very special.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Amazing hotel, amazing staff very helpfull and great restaurant.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank schadwick1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

i was shocked by the poor state of furniture, carpets, interior decorations. The feeling of things left in ruins is overwhelming. After complaining we were proposed another superior room wich was even worse than the first one. Carpet is dirty everywere and very poorly maintained. I never came across such a rip off in many years of travelling. We left immediately after paying very expensive price for one night . My wife refused to sleep there. 3 Stars hotel at best......at the price of a 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank micaela84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

After staying in Paris for a week the Orfila was a great treat- excellent value for money and the best service imaginable. Everything is in walking distance from the hotel and the front desk staff were exceptionally helpful. This helped to make a 6 day stay in Mdrid most memoreable. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NielStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ebookers, MyHotelShop, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing