We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Madrid”
Review of 12 Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
12 Rooms
Ranked #219 of 279 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. We had a problem on arrival since we had not been told we needed to collect the key from another hostel but they were very friendly when we did check in. The room looked ok and was very clean but there was no internet despite having a computer in the room. It is very central a few minutes from puerta del sol.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over the weekend and the room rates for weekend were higher than the weekdays. We took a room with a private bathroom, the room is fairly small as others have mentioned in their reviews, but if you are not expecting luxury then it is fine. Given we stayed over weekend, I personally thought the price was steep for what we were offered. The good things about the hotel are : 1) The free walking tour, it gave us a good overview of the city and helped us roam around later. 2) The Mini bar is refilled everyday :) 3) Thee room and bathroom is very clean (we had some issue with the shower and hot water, but it got sorted)


The hotel is fairly well located, within 500 Mts from the Sol station. Though it is difficult to find the hotel on the street, we were on Nunez de Arce, but we couldn't find the hotel. After finding the hotel, we found out that the reception is across the road (JC Hotels). Overall I would have been very happy with this place if I paid ~ 100 Euros for 3 nights instead of the 140 Euros we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohitbalakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from spending 4 nights at the 12 rooms Hostel. We chose it knowing that for £25 a night it would be very basic but we just wanted a bed to crash in while we explored! As many other reviews have stated, it isn't easy to find due to a small sign. If you travel down Nunez de Arce, look for the black door with a small 12 rooms sign above it. The reception is opposite the bottom of that street in a seperate hotel called JC hotels.

Good points about the hostel:

# Very clean, cleaned every day with a spotless bathroom (which is huge!) and fresh sheets and towels daily.

# location is fantastic, 300m from Sol which is the main centre of Madrid and surrounded by fantastic restaurants.

# The room has a mini fridge which is filled daily with pepsi, water and a weak wine- all for free! lovely to have a cold drink to come home to at the end of a long day!

# Free wifi and a computer in the room!

# Private bathroom, seperate to the room is huge and very clean.

# Good value breakfast which you can add to booking for 3 euros a head, definately worth doing! You get a coffee, juice, yoghurt, pain au chocolat\croissant for this. (keep an eye on your bag, my girlfriend had her purse taken during breakfast until I intervened and got it back! Don't let this put you off at all but be aware it goes on around the city).

Bad points:

# The room is very small, if you want a spacious room this isn't for you.

# If you have difficulties with stairs and\or are unsteady on your feet, the staircase is a highly polished slippery old wood and is uneven and in my opinion quite dangerous.

# We had minor issues with the heating not working in the room and the computer monitor not working which we didnt follow up as had no need for these.

Would I stay here again, yes I would. For location alone it is worth it and is comfortable and clean. If I went with family, the rooms are too small and I cannot comment on the other bathrooms as we specified a private bathroom. Definately suited for backpackers and non fussy travellers, not so much for those who want luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Although it was an ensuite room we booked, it was all basic. No air-conditioning really was a problem since we went in the summer and it was super hot that my friends couldn't sleep, they woke up soaked in sweat...We had to keep the windows opened but then my friend worried about out safety during the night...The bathroom was small but the shower was good.

There's a computer in the room, surprisingly. It's a granny computer but it works fine with internet (would rather swap it with an air conditioner though)

Location was its selling point to us, within walking distance to the city center. As we walked down the main street - Gran Via, we saw many hotel on both sides of the streets, all looked very grand. So I suppose for we couldn't find a much better choice given we were in budget.

One thing to note, the reception is about 30 seconds walk from the rooms, on a different street. Just look for the sign "JC rooms" (a small black board hanging out of the building right opposite to the street where the apartment is).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

although the hotel is located right in the middle of city centre, its REALLY hard to find and the sign of the hotel is REALLY small. and the reception is not in the same building, and same, very hard to find.
there is NO air conditioning in the room and Madrid is like boiling when we were there. I couldnt sleep all night cuz it was too hot.
and the floor was SO dirty.
the shower is the only good thing in the room, sadly.

we dont recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: dont choose this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Don't believe the web profile of the hostel. It's situated in a shady location. The rooms are on the second floor of an old building without any lift. The reception is in a different building, around 100 meters from the rooms. If one is planning to take the family, don't even dare to stay in this hostel. It's not even worth the free stay. The review is mainly to dissuade people from getting carried away by the low prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hemant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hostel really gives you value for money. Stayed there for 2 nights, in a room with private bathroom. It was clean and comfortable and you even get some free drinks and yoghurts in the minibar upon arrival. The room is cleaned every day.
The room is slightly small but that doesn't matter for those who are only in the room to sleep.. Perfect location; 2 minute walk from Puerta del Sol.
Only negative point is that the walls are very thin so if people make some noise you will definitely hear it.
I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel. As there is a bar next to the hostel, you could be bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Adriano
Hostal Adriano
#215 of 437 in Madrid
370 reviews
Malasana
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
Woohoo Hostal Madrid
#259 of 437 in Madrid
149 reviews
Centro
JC Rooms Santa Ana
JC Rooms Santa Ana
#16 of 279 in Madrid
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Prado
Hostal Prado
#63 of 279 in Madrid
114 reviews
Centro
Hostal Marlasca
Hostal Marlasca
#31 of 279 in Madrid
597 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Hostal Abel Victoriano
#17 of 279 in Madrid
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 Rooms

Address: Nunez de Arce 9, 30 Ext, 01. Centro | Muy Cerca de la Puerta Del Sol, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 279 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £30 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 12 Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Rooms is a hostal located in the heart of the downtown in Madrid, near of " Las Huertas" a very famous neighborhood, very close to the Gate of the sun, " Puerta del Sol". 12 Rooms offers to you the best rooms price-quality in Madrid, the rooms are pretty and small to keep the closeness of the guests. Double, triple or quadruple rooms with free minibar with daily replacement, a pc in the room with internet in each room.! Courtesy invitation to a free walking tour in the downtown of Madrid, bilingual, 2 hours knowing the best of Madrid! The best hostal in Madrid! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 12 Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing