We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel
Ranked #268 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Judging by the other reviews I guess we got the one small room in the hotel. It also overlooked offices less than 20 meters away so little natural light and quite intrusive. The room was nevertheless clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The buffet bar in the attached cafe was small but offered a good choice and the staff were great. The real problem is the nightclub underneath which banged away with heavy bass on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday we were there. So easy to get into the centre and Chamberi district is so interesting. Try the Joaquin Sorolla museum within 10 minutes walk, such a delightful experience. The cafe/restaurant across the junction is also brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María A, Guest Experience at TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience in the Tryp Madrid Chamberí.

We are sorry if your experience with us was not as pleasant as we wish and if our service did not reached all your expectations. But we hope to see you again the next time you come to Madrid. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
María alonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was walked by the BW Trafalgar and ended up at this hotel. I think I got the better deal here. For about 90 Euros a night, I had a nice large room. The location was actually closer to the office where I had to work all week. There were nice cafes close by and much less expensive than those in the centre of the city. The people nice at the fron tdesk. They have a little cafe attached which is open for breakfast. Don't bother paying for the breakfast buffet - you can get a croissant and a nice coffee for about 3 euros each morning. The Cafe Patillas on the opposite corner serves wonderful meals. Biggest downside: Insulation is lacking in the walls and it can be noisy when people come back from dinner at midnight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María A, Responsable de Calidad at TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Nancy,

Firstly, I would like to thank you on behalf of all the Tryp Chamberí staff for your kind feedback.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your trip to Madrid and it is very nice to know that you have found all the services that you needed in our hotel and surroundings.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
María Alonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

the hotel is a 4 minutes walk to the next metro station canal- then a 10 minute ride to station sol -
so quiet easy to reach by public transport .
The rooms are spacious , new remodeled and clean .
The sleep comfirt is good too
only the aircondition could be a little bit stronger due to outside temperatures of 100 degree fahrenheit .
Breakfast is not really cheap in the hotel - but in the area are a lot of restaurants to eat .

Room Tip: the rooms in the higher floor have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khzuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
María A, Responsable de Calidad at TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Tryp Chamberí for your stay in Madrid.

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because we constantly strive to exceed our guest's expectactions of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future!

Kind Regards,
María Alonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is very nice with clean and modern rooms. The wifi is ok. Breakfast is very good with fresh juice, good coffee, fresh fruit and hot dishes.

There are several metro stations within walking distance and good restaurants and night life near by.

But be aware, that a very large night club is located in the building. I was staying in the hotel for a week and several nights there were large gatherings of young happy people located in the street next to the hotel. They are smoking, laughing and mingling. We are talking about maybe 50 people shouting at 5AM in the morning. Sometimes police came by. I would not have been able to sleep without ear-plugs. If you get a room facing the street it may be a problem if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, get a room that is not facing the street where the nightclub is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tausick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here for one night with four people. We asked for a room on an upper floor to avoid street noise and were given two rooms on the 5th floor. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious, with two single beds pushed together in each. Staff was pleasant and those who checked us in and out spoke English. There is a metro stop within a two blocks, and if you walk a few more, you can catch another that runs to the main plazas, as well as both Renfe stations. For 82 euros per room, we felt this was a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to avoid city traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We came to Madrid for a seminar I gave not far from the hotel. While I gave my seminar, my wife went out to visit museums.

We arrived late, yet that posed no problem. There is a small entrance welcome desk, yet not a true large hotel welcome.

Efficient enough, luckily we had someone speak Spanish as even in English it wasn't easy to communicate.

The room we were in, 202 was very well decorated, large, and a lot better than I've seen in Spain in a big city. Cleanliness was very good, nothing at all to report.

Sound insulation from the hallways was very good too, yet the street side was not. Surprising though as it has double paned glass windows. The window was very large, perhaps adding to the noise.

Street noise on a busy street takes a while to get used to. The bigger problem is on the ground floor on the adjacent wing, there is a sort of night club. That in itself is not a problem, yet both nights we were there we were woken by drunken patrons screaming away outside of the nightclub, at all hours up until almost dawn. Not cool.

There is a lovely breakfast and tapas bar on the street level, with huge windows. The breakfast offered was really good, staff friendly, delightful bright room with Edward Hopper ( paintings) style windows.
For the price it was beyond average, the room was truly at a higher level, yet the noise takes it back down.

Perhaps on weekdays for business it may be better as the party happy clubbers will stay at home.

Room Tip: Higher floors and on the small street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have had a great experience at the hotel, especially for the deal we got! The room was very spaceous, the bed was very comfy and so were the duvert covers, usually you just get a sheet with an old blanket in the three star hotels!

We had a standard room, but was very big, the friendly lady from the check-in gave us a room on the top floor which was great as we read about the discoteca on the corner. We have not heard anythng.

We have always walked to the city center, but you can also take the underground (metro) which is only a 5 minute walk.

The bathroom was OK, the only problem we had was that the pressure was not great from the shower.

Just make sure you get the MAS card (the loyalty card from the MELIA group, which is for free!) of the hotel, this will give you a 50 % discount on the breakfast and a free late check-out! The breakfast is in the bar nextdoor, we reallly liked it! Especially for 6 Eur per person!!

Room Tip: We had room 808, which was a very spacious twin corner room! The room had a nice view too..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaapkees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
NH Madrid Chamberi
#172 of 437 in Madrid
395 reviews
Chamberi
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Trafalgar
Hotel Trafalgar
#279 of 437 in Madrid
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Zurbano
#105 of 437 in Madrid
644 reviews
Jardin Metropolitano
#63 of 437 in Madrid
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel

Address: Calle Jose Abascal 8, 28003 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Alondras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £64 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Alondras Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing