We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as supposed”
Review of Nuria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nuria Hotel
Ranked #370 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Birkerød
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as bad as supposed”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you're expecting a hotel, I get why you're disappointed. It's a hostel, and not a bad one of it's kind.
There are 2 buildings, the right one definitely more modern, and hotel like, the left one is old and a hostel, this is the one where the restaurant is located.

We were three guys who shared the smallest room in the entire hostel, and it wasn't bad at all! - Granted, the shower was small, but supplied hot water! The toilet was in the hall, and it's really not that bad when there is a lock on it. We had a bidet in the room though.

All rooms come equipped with a TV, which was quite a surprise to me.

The location is incredibly central. It is in the middle of the gay district of Madrid, which is very visible when you walk around. Close to several metro stations and bus stops.

Don't eat the food in the hotel restaurant, it's really not that nutritious, and very dull. It's not poisonous though. There is a Starbucks and a Dunkin' Donuts 30 meters away, eat there instead if you please...at least breakfast.

There is a lot of street noise, but not any that kept me from sleeping like a rock!

The reception does not speak English, but if you're just a little bit friendly and interested, and learn to say your room number in Spanish, they are incredibly friendly and helpful!

The cleaning is really good! They actually make your beds every day, despite it being a hostel and not a hotel. They give you fresh towels, and the cleaning personel event went as far as to fold my clothes that was on the bed, one day!

The hostel is really not as bad as it is being portrayed in these reviews. It's a hostel, so don't expect much, but don't discard it completely, it's cheap and really good value for money!

Room Tip: Get a room in the right building of the hostel, they are more modern, and all have toilets. Corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilPetersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    19
    12
    15
See reviews for
4
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Founex, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After reading all the reviews I was a little skeptical about the place.
I went with my school and found it very nice.
The people were nice and the service was good.
Breakfast wasn't great so my friends and I ate at Starbucks at only (literally) 10 meters away.
It is easily accessible by bus, only 10 minutes away from the bus stop.
The rooms were clean, and the bathroom was too.
We got EXCELLENT value for money.
Sleep quality was fine, we didn't have trouble getting to sleep even if we were on the side of city.
The location was amazing. Shops and food at only 1 or 2 minutes away!
It was perfect for teenagers!
It is also a very safe area.. except for pick pockets, you just have to be careful!
You should really come here-!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Letty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel is the absolute worst experience i have ever had in a hotel. I do not know where to begin.

The breakfast was a lousy sucker bread. was there on a school trip and must say it is not a very nutritious meal when you have to walk all day... We all ate breakfast another place... there was mold in our room, and there is noise all the time. we barley got any sleep.

There is a little bath in some of the rooms, but NO TOILETS!! very very bad... We had a bath but no toilet?? I still wonder why....
People in the reception only speaks Spanish.
There was air con in our room. but guess what.. It did not work.

the only plus is that it is close to the metro and to center of the city...

horrible horrible experience... I would never go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Samarate, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

In 5 days we've found:
a sticking plaster in the steak; hairs in nearly all the meals; dried snot on the pillow; dirty pants in the room (I'm not going to tell what that "dirt" was...); dirty bathtub.

And when I asked if I could have my dirty pillow changed, they told me that they didn't want to and to go away.

The only good thing is the position, as it's in the centre of Madrid. But all the rest is awful. The food was often uneatable. Thank god there are many bars and a Starbucks near there, so you don't die of starvation.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale5875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Went with large group for weekend away to see sights of Madrid. We try to do things as cheaply as possible. Shared a room with 3 others, for £19 - inc breakfast. All wants were good beds, clean, Hot water and Breakfast- All achieved easily. The location is good, central, but hence noisy at night - but thats partly due to Spain coming alive at night. Amazing value

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsjdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Very cheap for the location where it is, right in the city center in Madrid. Room was big enough. Just a regular hostel, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The Nuria is very centrally located which was a plus. It is on a main street so not recommended if you're a light sleeper. The reception staff speak very little English so you will need a Spanish phrasebook. The rooms are small and the decor is not the newest, but at this price that is what you expect. A good bonus of this hotel is that there is a shower in the room, not down the hall as with most hotels of this class. The shower is pretty small though - be warned! One annoying thing was that when I was paying, the reception desk put the card through in UK pound sterling (i.e. using dynamic currency conversion). I asked to pay in Euro instead and the woman allegedly couldn't work the machine to make this happen, which I didn't really believe; DCC is a well-known tourist rip off. So pay in cash if you can. Generally recommended for the single traveller as a step up from a youth hostel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
NH Madrid Zurbano
#113 of 435 in Madrid
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#168 of 435 in Madrid
1,038 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#86 of 435 in Madrid
981 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#53 of 435 in Madrid
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuria Hotel

Property: Nuria Hotel
Address: Calle Fuencarral 52, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Nuria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuria Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing