We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Dulcinea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mediodia(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Suites Madrid(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
55
69
26
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
69
26
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifigreat locationplenty of hot waterminute walkplaza santa anaatocha train stationair conditioningwithin walking distanceelevatorretirofurnituremuseoneighborhoodpalace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Save yourself time and energy searching for hostels. This one ticks all the boxes: don't expect too many frills, but with its Excellent location, nice room with private bathroom, lots of light, quiet street and extremely clean, it's great value for money and at least 3 star hotel equivalent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fiachra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Don't expect frills, but, then, ask yourself, do you really need them? If you want a grand hotel with lots of facilities and are prepared to pay for them, then, fine, but we stayed here last week and found that the hotel room was clean, the bed very comfortable, the shower powerful with plenty of hot water. there was a nice friendly cafe right next door for breakfast and not far round the corner a tapas bar where we ate every night, which I will write a seperate review for. The Prado and the Thyssen-Bornamisza museums were within easy walking distance, even for me, who is slightly disabled with MS. All in all, what more could we want. If were were ever to visit Madrid again, we would stay here and we will definitely recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This is a great value for the traveler who is more interested in the amazing city of Madrid than staying inside the hotel room. Old wood and wrought iron. The elevator alone is worth the price of admission!

Simple, clean and neat, the staff at La Dulcinea are helpful, friendly and pretty much entirely Spanish speaking. I spent half as much at this Hostal compared to the hotel room I had on Paseo del Prado, a few blocks away, and I would gladly return... in short, if you are are Madrid to get out in the streets and see the city, the sites and the museums, then return to a simple, clean and efficient room to crash -- this is your place. The surrounding streets are full of restaurants, cervezerias and tapas bars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is really straight forward, cheap and no frills. It can be a but noisy first thing in the morning, so if you like sleeping in, ear plugs are essential. It was clean, the owners were friendly and there's free wifi. For me, the noise in the morning was definitely worth it for the price and location. We also had breakfast at the cafe that's right next door and that was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlBrissie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Positives:
Great location, in walking distance of museums, subway and lots of restaurants and bars.
Owner does not speak English but was friendly.
Room were cleaned daily.
Elevator.

Negatives:
Wifi did not work.
Heating did not work.
Very noisy at night.
Short beds.
Very small bathroom, not recommended for people with mobility issues or people over 5'7 (I am and could not sit on the toilet without my knees bumping the wall).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews